We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Elephant Stables is an excellent place to chill out and be treated as you are part of the royal family.Their service is personalised and they cater for your every single wish.The rooms and bathrooms are spacious with a great view over the hill.the swimming pool is impeccably clean and it's great to eat outside.The food is beyond magic.The best curry that I've ever had.The chef made everything mild and was so tasty.The were 10 dishes and plenty of two different rices.Very affordable considering the quantity and excellent quality.The breakfast is delicious especially the coconut pancakes.Everybody is really nice.The manager was brilliant,greeting us as soon as we arrived there. Nothing is trouble.Nihal,the gentleman who is the headwaiter and also the one who looked after us is very amicable,professional and has a lovely smile.This is one of the best boutique hotel that we've ever been,considering that we have visited 58 countries so far.We'll be back.

Room Tip: Vanilla room is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the highly encouraging feedback. Indika and Nihal along with other staff are very happy to see your feedback and we all look forward to seeing you again in Elephant Stables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April 2014. The driver called the hotel when we were close to get directions. He got it first time! As the other reviews mention we were greeted by the manager. Easy relaxed check in. We had the Vanilla Suite which is the biggest room! They were one year old on 10th April. Everything still seems brand new. There is lots of attention to detail here! Fast free Wi-Fi all over the hotel. Opt for the evening meal. Pricy by Sri Lankan standards but not by OK standards. You do get value for money!
All the staff go out of their way to help. Didn't want to leave. Shame other hotels don't have the same standards. Would come back any time!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allan050651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Allan,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback. We certainly will look forward to receiving you soon in order to serve you better..take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We (Family of 4 with young kids) stayed 4 nights. Beautiful hotel a peaceful and calm antidote to the bustle of kandy. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly (one, Nihal, invited us to his house next time we are in town) and the food is the best we have had in Sri Lanka. Loved staying there, it was a wrench to leave.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank barnesey_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback and we are happy to know you had a great time in' Elephant Stables'. We hope you will come back to us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel had only recently opened when we arrived, and we had a lovely few days here, helpful staff, if a little over bearing - perhaps trying to perfect things, but great location, pool and views made it all worthwhile. Definitely would recommend it, and the price was right too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Louise,

Many thanks for your feedback and it's a pleasure to know you had a fabulous time in Elephant Stables. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent four nights at this wonderful, small boutique hotel. This was our third visit to Kandy and found Elephant Stables to be a superb choice to enjoy a relaxing, peaceful stay. On arrival we were greeted by the manager and given a nice cold drink. We found the manager and all the staff, friendly and helpful at all times. Our accommodation in the Saffron room, was spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. The chef produced the best curry we've tasted, not too hot and spicy but just delicious and full of flavour. It was so good that we had curry for three consecutive nights. Breakfast was very good too, consisting of tea/coffee, fresh fruit juice, fruit platter, yogurt, English or Sri Lankan hot choices and toast............quite a feast! This we could have had any time during the morning. We felt completely relaxed after our stay here and would recommend early booking if you are considering staying at Elephant Stables because it gets booked up very quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your lovely comments which encourages us greatly. We would love to see you at the Elephant Stables the next time you visit Kandy. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This small boutique hotel has been open less than a year. It is set at the highest point on one of the many hills in Kandy & overlooks a large white Buddha. It is quiet being up a narrow road though was rather hard to find. The decor is local but interesting & not too fussy. The rooms are all air conditioned & very spacious with white walls & large comfortable beds. There is a small pool that overlooks Kandy & a large garden with lots of spots to sit & ponder the view. It has Large flatscreen TVs in the rooms with cable & wi-fi internet. We had dinner & breakfast- the Sri Lankan egg hopper breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Diane,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted to know that you liked all the aspects of the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you at the Elephant Stables soon. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tucked away on a quiet hillside road about 3 km from the centre of Kandy, the Elephant Stables is a gorgeous small modern boutique hotel full of character and tasteful decor. We arrived buoyed by the previous reviews and Trip Advisor once again did not let us down. The ES is in a beautifully quiet spot overlooking Kandy and although you can hear some traffic noise, it does not intrude on your stay. We stayed in a lovely large and extremely comfortable 4 poster (complete with mosquito netting) deluxe bedroom (number 104) over looking the pool with views beyond to the surrounding hills. The staff were special in their attention to detail and were extremely comfortable with Westerners including our Brittish ways and sense of humour. I can't emphasise enough how much the staff in the ES added to the whole experience. There was ample lounge space in the hotel if you wanted some peace and quiet but to be honest even if full the ES has loads of space for all.
There was a spotless medium sized pool with enough sun deck area and umbrella's for all the hotel occupants. There was a restaurant within the hotel with the option of eating there or on the veranda by the pool side. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was large and wholesome with a selection ranging from traditional English to a selection of Sri Lankan dishes. The supper dish we had was more of a Sri Lankan banquet with around 10 meat and vegetable dishes followed by a Sri Lankan or a British style sweet course and coffee. It was a superb tasting meal but if I had one small and only a very small issue, I felt it was expensive certainly not by English standards but it was certainly it was the most expensive meal of the trip. That evening we were not given an option of an a La Carte menu only the set menu option.
Overall, the stay at the ES was a memorable experience and I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anybody staying in Kandy.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brodie1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £111 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing