We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant and peaceful hotel overlooking Kandy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Elegant and peaceful hotel overlooking Kandy”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Although we only stayed one night, we would have loved to have stayed longer. Lovely room, friendly staff, excellent service and great food. The staff were extremely helpful in helping us with onward travel arrangements. Would definitely recommend if visiting Kandy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    98
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
130
288
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife booked us in here during low season. The room and location was very nice and staff were very friendly. Dinner was a bit expensive for what was presented but still very nice. I loved the pepper room and the overall location just out of Kandy. 400 rupees for the trip into town it was just far enough to feel relaxed and yet not trapped.
Overall a very nice place and will return when we come to Kandy next.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 33Balzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Elephant Stables and hope to welcome you again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Elephant Stables was a wonderful retreat in the busy Kandy area. Our room (Pepper) was very comfortable and had a large "L" shaped terrace. The views were great from our room and from the back garden of the hotel AND from the small terrace across the road from the hotel. There were lots of areas to have a drink before dinner and they all provided beautiful views down the valleys around Kandy. The staff was kind, considerate, helpful and friendly. They took care of us as were were packing our rather large, wooden elephant by providing scissors and packing tape. They arranged to have our breakfast and dinner prepared at a time convenient for us. The food was outstanding. We had egg hoppers with seeni sambol each morning and dinner was always a special treat. I can only say that I wish our stay would have been longer. We were there for only two nights. Nethal was especially accommodating and made sure that we were happy. If you get an opportunity to stay here - take it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave us your lovely feedback. Our chefs, Indika and his team will be very glad to hear your comments about the meals. They always strive to produce an amazing array of food. I think it was Nihal, our barman that you were referring to, and I will make sure to let him know of your review.

Hope you will visit us again very soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoyed Elephant Stables. From the beautiful room that was both modern yet retaining it's old charm to the amazing service staff, every little detail was taken care of by Elephant Stables. The views are great which makes up for the fact that Elephant Stables is slightly outside of the city centre. The food here is also very excellent and one night we had an 8 curry dinner which was very sumptuous. Definitely try that if you are staying there!

If you're looking for a big impersonal hotel, this isn't it. In fact it is like what one of the reviewers before said - a sanctuary. We were glad that we chose Elephant Stables instead of where we originally planned to go because it hugely exceeded our expectations and we hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerrybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We most humbly appreciate your feedback about us exceeding your expectations as that is what we always aim for.

We hope that you will visit us again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We went straight from the airport to Elephant Stables and it was just the most perfect way to start our trip. The location is up and out of the hustle and bustle of Kandy. We ate dinner there every evening and the food was incredible. The rice and curry was delicious. Breakfast was particularly good.

The hotel is small and friendly. The staff are so helpful and kind. Everything is very clean and well kept. I can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lellis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Elephant stables was our base in Kandy as part of our honeymoon tour. We travelled everywhere in the world and stayed in some amazing five star properties- this hotel is right up there with the best of them.
1) Location is amazing- view of all the Kandy from the rooms.
2) Hotel has tasteful styling in all the public areas
3) Rooms are some of the best- we had Vanilla suite with an awesome four poster bed and views from both sides of the room
4) Service is impecable. The team will do whatever you require straight away.
5) We did not have dinner, but breakfast on a terrace was the best in Sri Lanka thus far.
If you are in Kandy- stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have been all over the world, but I've never had a more peaceful sanctuary awaiting me than Elephant Stables. Every single detail has been thought through. The design is a beautiful mix of modern and authentic.

The room is gorgeous (I stayed in the Lemongrass) with an amazing view. The rain shower was beyond with teak wood slats as its flooring. The bed, one of the most comfortable I've slept in, had mosquito netting surrounding it.

The food was impeccable and they custom fit into my peculiar diet needs.

But it as the staff that made everything just perfect. The resident manager, Nalaka, was incredibly accommodating and friendly. Nihal, the best bar man in Kandy, had great humor and couldn't have gone more out of his way to please. They have a (very affordable) shuttle service back and forth to Kandy center and the driver is super great.

I loved every moment of being there. You will, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.6 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 53 in Kandy
322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,890 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
912 reviews
8.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing