We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite Hotel In Sri Lanka!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite Hotel In Sri Lanka!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I am an expat based in Colombo and went to Kandy to stay at The Elephant Stables last weekend with my partner and 2 kids. I must say that the experience was pretty fantastic. From the moment of arrival we are truly well looked after by Manjula and the rest of the team at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them and our special requests for the little ones were were always catered for without question.

Yes the hotel is beautifully designed and the views outstanding, but the highlight for me was the amazing cuisine that we had over 2 days at The Elephant Stables. Since I live in Sri Lanka, I obviously know what good Sri Lankan food tastes like, and the meals provided here were top-notch and really of a very high standard indeed.

Thank you again to the team for making my stay at The Elephant Stables an outstanding one. I shall definitely return as soon as my hectic schedule allows me to come again to Kandy.

Room Tip: The Cottage Suite has 4 beds and a private partitioned area for the master bed, so is an ideal optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Shaunagh,

Many thanks for the comments you have made on Trip Advisor and we look forward to receive you again in the property to serve you better.. cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    93
    19
    14
    3
See reviews for
126
281
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We wished we could have stayed longer. This boutique hotel has only 6 rooms it feels like you have privately rented a swimming pool villa. The staff is great, full of delicate attention. The room is extremely nice. The hotel has a very nice view. The highlight of our stay was the foreign menu (fusion) we went for, it was worth a Michelin star!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melindadeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Melinda,

Many thanks for the beautiful comment. We hope you will choose Elephant Stables to celebrate your first wedding anniversary too..take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Has wifi, food was average and the orders were never totally correct. The building is nice with a good modern looking extension added on to the older building. We quite liked the use of concrete to form the furniture and the double aspect living areas. Loved having mosquito nets over the 4-poster bed. The room was the family suite which had a small room connected to the main room with a bunk bed in it. No nets over this bed though and the blinds never shut out the sunlight for those who have kids who need to get to bed before sunset. The staff were nice. The pool was unheated (we never found a heated pool in Sri Lanka though). There was a high chair for smaller kids too which the staff positioned at our favourite table before we came down for food. There were 3 tortoises wandering around the garden that the kids loved. The main downside of the place is that the property is perched on top of a cliff overlooking the countryside (awesome) but the fencing in parts is about 2 feet high. This meant we spent any time in the garden stressing about the kids tripping and falling into the jungle below.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-n-Heth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Elephant Stables. The hotel claims to be a colonial bungalow, but it's really just a modern build, fitted without any great sense of style. The location is way out of town. The food was ludicrously overpriced. They claim to be a boutique hotel but it felt like a glorified bed & breakfast. The staff were very nice, but the real issue is how much this place costs: we made the reservation on Booking.com at a price of $333 per room per night plus tax. This comes out to be almost $389 per room per night. For Sri Lanka, that's a complete rip off. The hotel should have cost not more than half what they charged.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Director at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Clients,

This is the wife of the guest who has left the bad comments below. Obviously they are upset that we have uncovered the lies and incorrect statements they have recently put on Trip Advisor.

We have since found out that they did not even eat a single dinner at our hotel, yet they have the audacity to complain about the price of our food!!!

Shameful and shame on you.

I think the other 128 reviewers that have left fantastic comments about our hotel and hotel staff will be able to make up their own minds about our hotel, its facilities and level of luxury offered.

Just to make others aware, out of 138 reviews, 128 clients who stayed at our hotel rated it as Excellent or Very Good.

This is an approval rating of 92.7% - an exceptional ratio for any hotel worldwide.

Potential guests are also welcome to note that we were in fact awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence 3 months ago in March 2014!

Director
The Elephant Stables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our stay was comfortable and memorable for the thoughtfulness and standard of the amenities and facilities provided but also for the ever-helpful and friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious and beautifully presented meals; breakfast and dinner prepared by the in-house chef, a man with international hotel experience. The décor was tasteful with spacious rooms, quality furniture and delightful touches of Sri Lankan culture. It is a picturesque and quiet location on top of a hill with views over Kandy. Wi-Fi was also spot on.

We wish we could have stayed longer than one night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This place has aspirations of being a luxury boutique hotel, but it is little more than a hugely overpriced guesthouse. The location is way out of town, the design and finishes are alright rather than amazing, the food is insanely expensive - and overall you really get the impression that you're getting poor value for money here. The staff are friendly and try their best, but it doesn't make up for the fact that it should cost half of what it does. At nearly $400 per room per night you can expect to get a great deal more in Sri Lanka. Shame.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ernestoteles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

The cost of our top suite, even if you booked with us direct during July is USD 280 per suite on BB.

Please let us know how you claim that you were charged USD 400 per night. The only possible way would be if you turned up as a family of 4 as an extra bed costs USD 60 per person per night – which in our view is quite reasonable.

Our hotel is easily the closest luxury boutique property to Kandy City Centre and the Temple Of The Tooth. Depending on traffic, it takes between 10-15 minutes to get from our hotel to the gate of the Temple Of The Tooth. Can you kindly let us know how you claim that it is ‘out of the way’?

Our hotel is unique in Sri Lanka as a small luxury boutique hotel that offers clients a choice of 2 separate set meals per night. We always offer Rice And Curry (with around 10-12 dishes of authentic Sri Lankan cuisine prepared to a high standard). We also offer an alternative fusion set meal in case clients want a change from Sri Lankan traditional food. It is all about offering as much choice as possible for our guests. We charge Rs 3900 per person for dinner. Our main competitor at Kandy offers only one set menu per night for and charges Rs 4500 per person for dinner.

Negative reviews are things we can all take on board, we can all learn and improve things, but it is really very important for guests to do their research properly before leaving incorrect statements on Trip Advisor.

Just to re-iterate. Our rooms cost in USD is as follows until 31/10/14:

Deluxe Room – USD 250 per room per night BB
Colonial Suite – USD 280 per room per night BB

Extra Bed – USD 60 per extra bed per night

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at one of the agreeable hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in, in Sri Lanka. The Elephant Stables has a homely feel to it and the new(ish) owner has managed to achieve the right balance between maintaining the original whilst adding some modern. Not a ‘luxurious’ hotel – but very fine touches throughout.

The food is excellent – I had the ‘8 course curry’ option both nights. There was of course some repetition of dishes (perhaps three?) but not of the main curries. However, when chef serves aubergine the way he does, I was more than happy to sample it again. Incidentally, the 8 courses doesn’t count the rice (2 types) and poppadum’s which make up the full table. It was a full assault on the taste buds – in the most enjoyable way possible.

For those who cannot travel without wifi (and I'm one) there was excellent connectivity - I believe there was a choice of 3 servers available - and no 'drop-out'!

Finally, all the staff are excellent. Attentive and friendly without being obsequious. Manjula was particularly helpful, properly checking our room before we departed - and discovering a pair of trousers still hanging in the cupboard!

I have already recommended this little jewel to friends who are visiting later this year … I just wish we could have stayed longer …

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMtoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
2.7 mi away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
8.2 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
3.3 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#4 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Property: Elephant Stables
Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing