We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Elephant Stables

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Stables
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in the Pepper Room (highly recommended) and the staff could not have done more to make our stay a memorable one. I had been in touch with the hotel in advance as I was planning to propose to my girlfriend on the first day of our stay and wanted all the stops to be pulled out. We were looked after impeccably and added extras like flowers, private dinners and bubbly were all thrown into the mix. Besides the service, the hotel is well located, stylish and has fantastic views across the city beneath it. You'll be hard pushed to stay in a more comfortable, welcoming and luxurious hotel in Kandy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear James,

We understand that you had a great time in Elephant Stables. We hope you will visit us again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Elephant Stables
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Elephant Stables is a lovely boutique hotel just outside of Kandy. It was lovely to return to this calm oasis after the hustle and bustle of Kandy. The hotel was so welcoming and calm. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff, especially Nihall, not do enough for us and had a great sense of humour. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Natalie,

Many thanks for the beautiful review. Nihal is extremely happy to see your comment and the whole staff is looking forward to receive you in Elephant Stables to serve you better..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A fantastic hotel with exceptional service. We were warmly greeted from the moment that we arrived and it set the level for the rest of the stay. Real luxury with delicious food and glorious surroundings. The staff were exceedingly helpful and the accomadation beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank G_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic comments about the Elephant Stables. We are very pleased to hear that you've had a wonderful stay at our beloved property.

Hope you will stay with us again.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I am an expat based in Colombo and went to Kandy to stay at The Elephant Stables last weekend with my partner and 2 kids. I must say that the experience was pretty fantastic. From the moment of arrival we are truly well looked after by Manjula and the rest of the team at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for them and our special requests for the little ones were were always catered for without question.

Yes the hotel is beautifully designed and the views outstanding, but the highlight for me was the amazing cuisine that we had over 2 days at The Elephant Stables. Since I live in Sri Lanka, I obviously know what good Sri Lankan food tastes like, and the meals provided here were top-notch and really of a very high standard indeed.

Thank you again to the team for making my stay at The Elephant Stables an outstanding one. I shall definitely return as soon as my hectic schedule allows me to come again to Kandy.

Room Tip: The Cottage Suite has 4 beds and a private partitioned area for the master bed, so is an ideal optio...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Shaunagh,

Many thanks for the comments you have made on Trip Advisor and we look forward to receive you again in the property to serve you better.. cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We wished we could have stayed longer. This boutique hotel has only 6 rooms it feels like you have privately rented a swimming pool villa. The staff is great, full of delicate attention. The room is extremely nice. The hotel has a very nice view. The highlight of our stay was the foreign menu (fusion) we went for, it was worth a Michelin star!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melindadeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Guest Relations Manager at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Melinda,

Many thanks for the beautiful comment. We hope you will choose Elephant Stables to celebrate your first wedding anniversary too..take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Has wifi, food was average and the orders were never totally correct. The building is nice with a good modern looking extension added on to the older building. We quite liked the use of concrete to form the furniture and the double aspect living areas. Loved having mosquito nets over the 4-poster bed. The room was the family suite which had a small room connected to the main room with a bunk bed in it. No nets over this bed though and the blinds never shut out the sunlight for those who have kids who need to get to bed before sunset. The staff were nice. The pool was unheated (we never found a heated pool in Sri Lanka though). There was a high chair for smaller kids too which the staff positioned at our favourite table before we came down for food. There were 3 tortoises wandering around the garden that the kids loved. The main downside of the place is that the property is perched on top of a cliff overlooking the countryside (awesome) but the fencing in parts is about 2 feet high. This meant we spent any time in the garden stressing about the kids tripping and falling into the jungle below.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nick-n-Heth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Elephant Stables. The hotel claims to be a colonial bungalow, but it's really just a modern build, fitted without any great sense of style. The location is way out of town. The food was ludicrously overpriced. They claim to be a boutique hotel but it felt like a glorified bed & breakfast. The staff were very nice, but the real issue is how much this place costs: we made the reservation on Booking.com at a price of $333 per room per night plus tax. This comes out to be almost $389 per room per night. For Sri Lanka, that's a complete rip off. The hotel should have cost not more than half what they charged.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inoka-Karunananda, Director at Elephant Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Clients,

This is the wife of the guest who has left the bad comments below. Obviously they are upset that we have uncovered the lies and incorrect statements they have recently put on Trip Advisor.

We have since found out that they did not even eat a single dinner at our hotel, yet they have the audacity to complain about the price of our food!!!

Shameful and shame on you.

I think the other 128 reviewers that have left fantastic comments about our hotel and hotel staff will be able to make up their own minds about our hotel, its facilities and level of luxury offered.

Just to make others aware, out of 138 reviews, 128 clients who stayed at our hotel rated it as Excellent or Very Good.

This is an approval rating of 92.7% - an exceptional ratio for any hotel worldwide.

Potential guests are also welcome to note that we were in fact awarded the Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence 3 months ago in March 2014!

Director
The Elephant Stables

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.8 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.7 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clove Villa
Clove Villa
#2 of 56 in Kandy
340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 56 in Kandy
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Stables

Address: 46 Nittawela Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £109 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elephant Stables 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Stables is a beautiful colonial era bungalow on a hill overlooking Kandy city that has been converted into a luxurious boutique hotel offering elegant colonial style living in Sri Lanka. It features a unique blend of original mid-century furniture with modern chic interiors with an exceptional level of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elephant Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing