We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stopover Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charlton Kandy Rest
Ranked #105 of 458 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed one night at Charlton Kandy Rest. Experienced the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality as soon as I landed in Kandy. I got a pickup from the train station by the hotel owner Mr. Saman. As I was in Kandy just for the evening, he took me to Arthur's seat to get the city view and the main streets of Kandy and gave an insight into the history of the place.

The rooms are clean and very well maintained. I found the shared bathrooms are bit unclean but manageable. The location of the guesthouse is unbeatable with the Tooth relic Temple 2 min away by walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShwetaSingh3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed in this guesthouse for 4 nights while travelling east across Sri Lanka. It was a lovely place to stay: on arrival I was greeted by the lovely owner that spoke perfect English. I was made to feel completely at home during my stay there: I could tell that the owner gained great pleasure from making his guests feel at home. One evening I spent several hours chatting to the owner, his wife, 2 daughters and Mother. All the staff were very very nice: they really went out of their way to aid in your stay.
Simply the best reception and most welcoming place I am yet to stay in.
The reception was fantastic, the owner treats his guests like they are members of the family. The rooms were fine: simply furnished and clean.

If you want somewhere to stay where you are made to feel completely at home, stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joswald999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked two 3 bed rooms on recommendation from a friend and it did not disappoint. Manager and staff very welcoming, rooms clean and comfortable. The eating area nicely decorated, good atmosphere. We were on the upstairs floor and had to share a bathroom which was located down the corridoor.This was not a problem at all and there were two more bathrooms downstairs to use, the staff also made the effort to turn the hot water on for us. The staff also sorted out tickets for Kandyian dancing and walked us to the location, definitely went out of their way to make sure we were happy.
Definitely recommend and would visit again.
Perfect for travellers wanting something nicer than hostels but not wanting to pay high prices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aramis_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very friendly staff, good situated, clean but the room was very small, the bed very noicy by moving, few electricity connect points, no light dimmer on the bed, low wifi. The rooms are around a patio with the reception and the kitchen ..... so noicy from 7AM till 10 PM; sleepy hours are short. Food is OK but very slow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere in Kandy but because this guesthouse was close to town, we decided to have a look at it first. It was perfect for us, and because it was off-season we were able to negotiate a very good room rate. The staff were awesome - all going out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, offering great advice, transport options, and trips around Kandy. The owner is great - a very cool guy. We were initially a little unsure of the room we were shown because of its close location to the dining room and kitchen, but decided to give it a go. It was not a problem at all - we had 3 great sleeps! The room was lovely - with a very nice ensuite bathroom. There is a great communal dining/relaxing area which is perfect for meeting other travellers and swapping stories over a beer or cocktail.. We had a great time there, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hadn't booked anywhere but met a couple who were staying at the Charlton so decided to check it out. Turned out to be very reasonable prices so we stayed and were pleasantly surprised. Nice clean rooms and owner/staff are all very friendly. 2 of our party didn't have an amazing experience as they had a room with a shared bathroom and were also kept up all night by a drunk couple shrieking all night (we slept right through it though!!) but the rest of us would revisit the Charlton.

Good location to explore Kandy and the staff are good at suggesting the correct prices for tuk tuks to nearby attractions.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a private bathroom - the shared bathrooms were not that clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lily_bell-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Perahera festival and it was quite reasonably priced considering how expensive all the other guesthouses in the city were at this time. This new guesthouse was suggested to use by other travellers we had met. It's brand new and had only been open about 3 months. What needs to be said is that the owner, Saman, is quite simply one of he nicest men we have ever met. He was too happy to help in any way at all - suggesting where to eat, what to do, how to get there and even arranging free seats to see the festival at night.
Yes, the guesthouse has a few faults and Saman has plans to add/improve to his guesthouse. The rooms we had were clean and we had one with our own bathroom and a fan. We didn't have a/c but didn't need it here as the climate is a little cooler. The downside is that the rooms are all surrounding the restaurant area so there is noise from that. He plans on moving the restaurant area so that the rooms are more secluded from the noise in the future. The lounge is really nice and clean with an open sky-light ceiling that lets in all the sunshine with a TV. One thing is that the restaurant didn't always have all the items on the menu but Saman was more than happy to suggest other restaurants that served what we wanted. This guesthouse is in a great location - walking distance to the train station, the lake, around the corner from the Tooth Relic Temple and during the Perahera you can watch the festival right from outside the guesthouse for free.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs are better than the ones upstairs - and get a room with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Nature Walk Resort
Nature Walk Resort
#18 of 57 in Kandy
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
Hanthana Holiday Rooms
#3 of 458 in Kandy
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kandy View Hotel
Kandy View Hotel
#34 of 57 in Kandy
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Kandy Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Kandy Rest

Address: No 31 Kings Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £11 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlton Kandy Rest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlton Kandy Rest Guesthouse, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are restaurant, tours, smoking area, car park, room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Whether you're a fitness enthusiast or are just looking for a way to unwind after a hard day, you will be entertained by top-class recreational facilities such as garden. Charlton Kandy Rest Guesthouse is a smart choice for travelers to Kandy, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time.Located in the heart of Kandy town.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the hotel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as Malwatte Maha Vihara, Buddhist Publication Society,Temple of the Tooth Reli,Kandy Lake and the Royal Wales Park and many more tourist attractions. It is around 4500 square feet. City tours are provided.Beer Garden is open with Restaurant till 10 30 pm.Daily Tours can be arranged to Pinnawala elephant village which has 200 elephants for US$ 45 for two persons in semi luxury car.Daily Cultural show tickets available for US$4.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Charlton Kandy Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing