We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kandy Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Hills Resort
Ranked #48 of 366 Kandy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay here was truly lovely. We stayed for two nights, and would stay again for sure. The owner, manager, and all the staff were incredibly kind, polite, and helpful. Our room was very clean, and the shower was hot (and with excellent water pressure). The bed was comfortable, and a generous size!

The verandah, where breakfast is served etc, is so nice. The view is very pretty (not of the lake). It is a calm, quiet, and peaceful place to stay. The garden is lovely too.

It's an easy walk to town, to the lake. They can arrange for you to be picked up from the train station if necessary.

Free wifi available.

Room Tip: Some rooms/areas of the building will have a better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    44
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had very good stay at Kandy hill resort, staff are very nice and courteous .. We stayed in standard rooms and both the rooms were really good and we enjoyed our stay in kandy hill resort .. We definitely recommend this hotel , as it comes at a very good price .. our stay was very comfortable and were very well taken care by Kandy hill staff .. will definitely come and stay again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinod5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Located in the hills with a good view, though not of the actual Kandy lake. You can walk to town (and Temple of Tooth) in 15 minutes if you take the easiest way (at the southeastern end of the lake). The room was nice and clean, with a fan (you probably don't need AC here) and a bathroom with hot shower - all quite newly refurbished. We were met with a welcome tea and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. To use the wifi we needed to go down to the lobby area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheppey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Definitely a good location with large, clean and comfortable rooms: all very reasonable for the price. All the staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to help sort out the train tickets. The hotel is actually in cool location at the top of the lake with hillside views from some rooms and the breakfast terrace. It is also away from the traffic noise and fumes that characterize the lower end of the lake but ideally placed for walking the lake shores. But watch out for the gigantic water monitors!

Room Tip: Try the Garden Cafe for fast food in great demand from the locals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmjk92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Kandy Hills Resort. It's a bit hard to find in the hills above Kandy so make sure to get directions or arrange a tuk-tuk with the hotel.

The room was basic but large. It had a comfortable bed and recently remodeled bathroom with hot water. The breakfast was great. They asked us what time we wanted our breakfast and served it outside on the veranda. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The wifi in the room was super fast.

The place is a bit out of town, so you'll be taking tuk-tuks to and/or from Kandy Hills Resort. They don't have a restaurant, and there are not a lot of options within walking distance. The Garden Cafe is one possibility. It's rated high on TA, but we didn't like it.

Overall, Kandy Hills Resort is a good option. For the price, you get a decent room, breakfast, fast wifi, and a very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This place is very nice and well located, you can walk to town or get a tuc-tuc for 250 lkr.
We stayed twice in two different rooms and both provided nice comfortable beds and good size room.

I believe most of the rooms don't have A/C, however we tried the Honeymoon room located on the second floor which has fan and also A/C.

Staff is SUPER friendly, and make you feel like at home, on our second stay we had to leave by 7pm and they let us stay there with no extra charge.

You'll definitely will get value for money in this cute B&B.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Olgs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a late checked in at midnight after leaving an awful hotel. The staff welcomed us and got a room on the first floor, very clean. There was no A/C but the fan was fine. In the morning we had breakfast with a great view. Very friendly staff, for the money we paid is a very good option for a nice stay in Kandy. I absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elitsa83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.6 mi away
Pranobaa Home Stay
Pranobaa Home Stay
#35 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heaven Seven Kandy
Heaven Seven Kandy
#47 of 366 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl House
Pearl House
#29 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kandy Greenview Hotel
Kandy Greenview Hotel
#22 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#27 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
36 Bed & Breakfast
36 Bed & Breakfast
#33 of 366 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Hills Resort

Property: Kandy Hills Resort
Address: No 84 Rajaphilla Mawatha Kandy, Kandy 123, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a beautiful and serene setting to spend your holidays in Kandy, the hill capital of Sri Lanka, this is the right place. Situated in No 84 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy, you will have the freedom to enjoy the view of green mountain range; Within a close proximity to the city centre, you will easily reach this Kandy Hills Resort it is just 2 km from the Kandy Railway Station or le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kandy Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing