We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money”
Review of Kandy Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kandy Hills Resort
Ranked #37 of 388 Kandy B&B and Inns
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value For Money”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Its my plesure write some notes of Kandy Hills Resort.
Its really a very good place to spend your vacation and its really value for money too.I stayed 3 night with my whole Family at the biggining of this month and just came back to the kingdom after my vacation.Its Quiet ,calm and very spacious bedroom place.Walking distance to the Kandy lake as well as sacred Temple of The Tooth.Nice view from the balcony with birds chatting too.
Hotel arranged a tour for me to Dambulla Rock with a very reasonable price and it should be admirable.

Room Tip: Select upstair rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DHAM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I like this hotel. The whole are area is clean and tidy. The view from the balcony is lovely. The wifi is better than other hotels in Southern Sri Lanka where we stayed the last five nights. The staff are friendly. It's 400-500 meters from downtown Kandy so you can easily walk there or take a 'tuk tuk'.

Room Tip: Choose any room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chingytranslations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good service, good breakfast, nice and clean room, quiet area. Only but big downside was that we were replaced to another hotel for the first night without any notice in advance (green view hotel) which belongs to the same owner but is much more noisy.

Room Tip: the rooms at ground floor are a bit more noisy from the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weltenbummler1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This small resort hotel in Kandy is located a short tuktuk ride uphill from the city centre, if you're good on foot, the distance is also walkable in 15 minutes. Rooms are large and all come with en suite. There are two communal areas, one downstairs with a TV and one upstairs on a terrace with a nice view over parts of Kandy. The terrace is also where breakfast was served. Breakfast was really nice, like so often in Sri Lanka consisting of fresh fruits and eggs with toast. Staff here were very friendly and helpful and this made for a nice relaxed atmosphere. They also organised a minibus for us to travel to our next destination, so if you need anything, just ask and they will do their best to help.
The reason for losing a point on the rating is the mould in the bathroom. Something really needs to be done about this, as it causes some of the rooms to smell quite musty, although they are generally very clean and could be excellent if it was not for the mould.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the ground floor, they are mustier as they get less fresh air - the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is nearly new and everything is spic and span. Very clean and spacious room. Comfortable bed and lots of hot water in the shower. Breakfast on the sunny balcony is a delight. No meals except breakfast but it is an easy walk downhill into town where there are many excellent restaurants, both local and western. Rs 250 back uphill in a tuk tuk. Avoid the Stuffed Cafe down the road. It is owned by the same management but the meal we had there was pretty poor.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sailor1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay here was truly lovely. We stayed for two nights, and would stay again for sure. The owner, manager, and all the staff were incredibly kind, polite, and helpful. Our room was very clean, and the shower was hot (and with excellent water pressure). The bed was comfortable, and a generous size!

The verandah, where breakfast is served etc, is so nice. The view is very pretty (not of the lake). It is a calm, quiet, and peaceful place to stay. The garden is lovely too.

It's an easy walk to town, to the lake. They can arrange for you to be picked up from the train station if necessary.

Free wifi available.

Room Tip: Some rooms/areas of the building will have a better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had very good stay at Kandy hill resort, staff are very nice and courteous .. We stayed in standard rooms and both the rooms were really good and we enjoyed our stay in kandy hill resort .. We definitely recommend this hotel , as it comes at a very good price .. our stay was very comfortable and were very well taken care by Kandy hill staff .. will definitely come and stay again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinod5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amanda Hills
Hotel Amanda Hills
#32 of 54 in Kandy
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kandy Greenview Hotel
Kandy Greenview Hotel
#24 of 388 in Kandy
118 reviews
2.7 mi away
Thotupola Residence
Thotupola Residence
#28 of 388 in Kandy
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lady Gordons Homestay
Lady Gordons Homestay
#19 of 388 in Kandy
41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl House
Pearl House
#31 of 388 in Kandy
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Notting Hill Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandy Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandy Hills Resort

Property: Kandy Hills Resort
Address: No 84 Rajaphilla Mawatha Kandy, Kandy 123, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 388 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kandy Hills Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a beautiful and serene setting to spend your holidays in Kandy, the hill capital of Sri Lanka, this is the right place. Situated in No 84 Rajaphila Mawatha, Kandy, you will have the freedom to enjoy the view of green mountain range; Within a close proximity to the city centre, you will easily reach this Kandy Hills Resort it is just 2 km from the Kandy Railway Station or le ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kandy Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing