We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Helga's Folly
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
333
129
47
41
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
129
47
41
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadame helgaalice in wonderlandfamily historyevery wallevery inchcoconut soupfrank sinatracinema roomcole portertim burtonmulled winenewspaper cuttingsevery surfacesri lankaantique furniturefamily homefour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Not for those seeking 5 star luxury so don't look for it here. What you do get is a unique experience that you will want to tell your friends about. You could easily spent an hour taking in all the momentoes in the lounge area.
Note that the Trip Advisor map location is wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndyBruce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and the experience lived up to expectations. From the moment we arrived, we felt extremely well looked after. This is not your classic hotel but the luxury is in the details at Helga's Folly. Satin bed sheets, silver tea pots and the general feeling that no request is too unreasonable. The place gives a great insight into the Burgher lifestyle, a little known (to us, at least) but fascinating part of Sri Lanka's history. The best example of this being Madam Helga herself, who personally ensured that we enjoyed our stay. This will remain one of the best memories of our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AndFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I love Helga's Folly! Unique, eccentric, eclectic, fabulous.

Had dinner here in December. Guests are permitted to roam the premises prior to the meal, which was the best part. Every room is more fun than the next.

Dinner was served in a darkly-lit, mysterious dining room which may have felt kinda ominous, except...they played ABBA from the speakers! Enjoyed meeting, and speaking to, the other diners.

Helga made a point of dropping by the dining room - she looked regal in a red kimono -- stopping at each table and ensuring that everyone was happy.

DO NOT miss Helga's Folly if you're in Kandy. It beats the hell out of the Temple of the Tooth.

Room Tip: The above scoring system doesn't apply to my evaluation of a one-of-a-kind restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Esme_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

My partner and I went there for a dinner on the 19th of April. It seemed quite expensive for our budget, but the staff was amazing and organized a budget-experience for us which still involved excellent service and extraordinary food in unique settings. This was a night we will never forget.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mthunoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

A feast for the senses. My fiancee had stayed before and raved but this was my first time. I was enchanted by the art, the very romantic room with an antique bed, the seemingly endless collection of art and by Helga herself. The food was excellent and there is a good selection of wine (no easy task in Sri Lanka). If it is not within your budget, just go for a drink or meal.
Enjoy

Room Tip: Tell them your favorite color.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SLngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews