We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Helga's Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Helga's Folly
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Although we did not stay here, we visited Helga's for an early evening drink. This hotel has the most character of any hotel I have ever been to. We saw a few of the rooms. Each one has its own style. We also had the pleasure of meeting Helga, who took us on a brief tour and explained the history of the place. Although Helga's may not be for everyone, if you want something really unique and special I would not miss out on staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    116
    36
    34
    51
See reviews for
65
206
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Habarana, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I went to Helga's Folly just to see it. Just as I entered the door, I knew I had to spend a lot time, consuming this absolutely fantastic place. The historical effects, the modern art, the atmosphere, the view over Kandy and all the other obvious things are one thing. Then there is the fabulous food. I have dined 1000's of time alone. This is the first time I wasn't bored in-between courses.
If you should be lucky enough to meet Helga, you will get a completely different dimension to it all once again. There are thoughts and history behind every single doodle and object in this magnificent house.
If ever in Kandy, do treat your self with a wonderful and absolutely different experience. It can not be compared to anything!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank El B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

No occupants on the day we visited. Was asked to pay $3 each to look around or have a drink ($4).

The person at the reception asked us to feel free to walk around, but we asked for an escort. The waiter showed us around to the Red Room, Blue Room and a few bed rooms. The common areas are quirky and have period furniture. But the rooms smelt musty and felt damp. Some "murals" crude bordering on grotesque. Specially the large black snake drawn across the toilet wall.

They have 32 rooms, of which max 10 are taken during the peak season.

Approach the "hotel" with a sense of morbidity and you may like the experience! The friend I took had goose bumps and was willing to pay whatever they asked merely to leave fast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1LifeStand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kigali
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The place is crazy and therefore worth a visit and at most have a drink (although getting there already drunk might help) but the place is filthy - really really just plain dirty and smelly. We ate dinner there and we laughed our head off as it's like being in a completely nutty world and we were all convinced that we would be sick the next day. We weren't sick but it was still the worst meal we ate in Sri-Lanka and the wait was ridiculous. So glad that we were not staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very hard to put a stay at Helga's into words. The whole place is like a living piece of art with wonderful surprises around every corner. From the decor to the setting to the music there is something enchanting about this place that actually hits you with a real emotional impact. And that's even before you meet Helga herself. She is a wonderful host in every sense- welcoming, fascinating and above all kind. It was a true pleasure to meet her. The staff are also terrific- warm but unobtrusive. The food was also wonderful.

Kandy itself is a beautiful town and only a couple of minutes in a tuk tuk so this is the perfect place to stay. Even if you weren't planning on visiting Kandy I would recommend the trip just to stay at Helgas.

Room Tip: No two rooms are the same but they all looked fabulous. The staff are very accommodating so I'm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was at Helga's Folly over the christmas period and felt like this was the best christmas present possible. The detail in this place is unreal, there has been so much thought and loving energy that has been dedicated to this hotel, its unlike anything i have ever seen. Every room and hallway has amazing painting and bright colours, the furniture is so unusual i wish i could have taken it all back with me to Australia. The food and service was also fantastic, everyone there was so friendly and helpful. The pool is surrounded by jungle is is the perfect oasis to relax and unwind.
I met Helga and fell in love, she is a great hostess and makes sure everyone is comfortable and happy, I want to go back!!

Room Tip: any room will do, they are all so unique and amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

If we had to pick only one reason to visit Kandy it would be for this late afternoon tea and early diner at "Helga's Folly"
We could not have expected what was awaiting us from arrival to departure.
It's not enough to have taste, knowledge in art or be a fantastic decorator to be able to create such a unique timeless place.
From arrival to departure you feel like captured by this house as if it was haunted.
From outside a simple building of concrete coloured in a strong burgundy, covered by drawings that took us more in the mood of the creepy hippie village walls that can be found in Goa.
So, we could not have imagined what contrast in sophistication was awaiting us behind the door!
The apple green painted walls of the reception stood in strong contrast to the red samurai style uniform of the barefoot young man welcoming us with his warm smile.
To describe each detail would not be possible but we had been captured by this place with all our senses!
From floor to ceiling art, photos, antiques, memories of a Helga's intriguing life covered the walls, shelves and tables. The smells and the music played added further to the emotions.
Further descriptions of what meet our eyes walking around all rooms on all floors will not and cannot be revealed! It has to be lived!
We sat with our emotions sipping our afternoon Tea of Cardamon Ginger served in the most elegant silverware in the main Living room feeling privileged and Royal.
We did not want to leave this place anymore!
Tea pot emptied and further Tea pot ordered till we decided to stay further for diner.
This 3 course delicious menu was served in a blue dining room lighten up with the sparkle of crystal hanging from the ceiling lightened by the mountains of melted candles on the baroque chandeliers.
So did our visit come to an end and Alice had to leave this Wonderland.
Waiting for the Tuk Tuk bringing us down to the city, I was surprised to be approached by the receptionist who wanted to transfer a phone call of the Mistress of the house.
In the most perfect British accent, I was welcomed in the house by Helga herself. She excused her lack of presence due to an old horseback accident.
A brief but intense moment of exchanged occurred and I was further bewitched by her words of life, heritage and Art that only can be expressed by Divas and Royal.
Leaving this place, we knew that we had just lived a historic moment in our lives like visiting the Pyramids, the Louvre or Versailles and such moments are always magical and indescribable.
Helga's Folly is a masterpieces that can be imagined by many but only realised by so very few...
A Real hidden Jewel for humanity that should be preserved for eternity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.4 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#1 of 55 in Kandy
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 55 in Kandy
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helga's Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Property: Helga's Folly
Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing