We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”
Review of Helga's Folly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Helga's Folly
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This review is a few years overdue but i still think about Helgas Folly and it was a highlight of our Sri Lankan trip! Back in 2012 ( the date option won't let me go back that far! ) we were strongly recommended by friends to visit and after looking at the website, we agreed, even with the hefty room rate, the world of Helgas Folly could not be missed. As cartoonists, we totally fell in love with the place. Our little tuk tuk struggled up the hill and deposited outside this unusual but welcoming abode. It was like being in a film set. We arrived after dark but they were expecting us and the staff were friendly and welcoming, letting us choose our room as we were the onl guests that night! We had a simple meal by candle light and slept in a four poster bed. Breakfast was on the balcony overlooking Kandy. It was like being in Colonial India! Helga came to see us in the morning and told us some fab stories about days gone by, " tigers came into the kitchen and took the dogs head clean orf!"
Staying at Helgas isn't just a room for the night..it's an experience. As another reviewer said, as long as you have an open mind and you like a bit of colour...

Room Tip: Just choose the one you like best! They're all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shebastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    117
    34
    34
    49
See reviews for
63
206
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A small group of us went to Helga's for dinner, and I am so glad we did. Starting off with our cocktails we began to explore. Every room a visual delight with an eclectic assortment of treasures. The music was from long ago and the candles created ambiance..... the food divine.
Thanks Helga for the most surreal night and hopefully I will make it back to share it with my family. AAA+++

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julescox321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tywyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

An absolute must for anyone with an open mind ,a love of colour ,fabrics and an interest in social history. We were entranced from the minute we arrived ,and found all the rooms shown to us a fascinating mixture of beautiful fabrics, decorative wall paintings and furnishings. The staff were friendly and helpful .Truly an adult fantasy ,not for those though who prefer the sterility of modern hotels. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We only popped in for afternoon tea but were shown lots of the bedrooms, glorious colours with moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

you should go not only for a drink, but better for a lovely, amazing, fantastic diner or better even, go to stay there one or more nights but i didn't try the hotel. Only the restaurant is already a brilliant experience of one of my ever better evening with friends and delicious food. Thanks Helga for this and for the phone discussion !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antooiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimao, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The decor ,a bric à brac ,with nothing really impressive ,but a packed athmosphere ,overtakes the importance of food ,uninteresting and poor .At Kandy town, nice restaurants are popping up with
much valuable food served in fine relaxed athmosphere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tripalmenara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We went in a group to Helgas Folly one evening in feb. We had the private dinning room upstairs. The atmosphere was amazing and the building is so interesting that we all spent ages reading all the interesting pictures and articles on all the walls. Food was amazing and service great. Would go back if visiting Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BHyland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Serendipity brought me to this hotel as we were taking a city tour and I am very grateful for it. I took a tour of the place and was absolutely delighted! It feels like you are being allowed into the thoughts, life and heart of the owner, Helga, and it is infinitely fascinating! There is a story in every corner, each photo makes you stare and wonder. You can’t see the walls as they are all covered by colors and ornaments and paintings and life – really feels like the walls are alive. I was lucky, I saw Helga in her garden and, not wanting to intrude, went over to tell her quickly how in awe I was of her place and got the warmest hello and even got a tour and heard the stories straight from her. I wasn’t wrong about these walls – they held many memories, stories: joy, pain, life, death and heartbreak.

I took a look at the rooms too – just as funky and wild as the rest of the place. I feel like staying here will be like removing yourself from the rest of the world and is an inspiring change from staying in any other place where you can lay your head on a pillow. This will definitely be where I stay next time I am in Kandy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BiancaBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
4.5 mi away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#25 of 54 in Kandy
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
Amaara Sky Hotel Kandy
#12 of 54 in Kandy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.1 mi away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helga's Folly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helga's Folly

Property: Helga's Folly
Address: 70 Rajaphilla Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kandy
#8 Family Hotel in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helga's Folly 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HF is just a Sri Lankan’s home with some history and color, backed by jungle, and if expecting a regular hotel experience, best go elsewhere.... quite a different concept to a normal hotel. Please be assured that you should be interested in our hospitality, we will be delighted to assist you..Thank You ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Helga's Folly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helga`s Folly Hotel Kandy
Helgas Folly Kandy
Helgas Folly Hotel Kandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing