We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, I'd return”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Colonial period hotel that was well maintained, with perhaps the exception of the furniture in the lobby and bar area. Nice location on the lake within walking distance of downtown. Good buffet meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good, free wireless connection. Mattresses were a bit thin, but I had no trouble sleeping. The drinks were a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgertracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,137 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Staying here give’s one a feeling of staying in an Palace, Its huge and one can lose his way very easily. In spite of being a heritage building it’s clean & well maintained. Its got all what traveller can ask for perfect location, lake view, neat & clean, great food & customer friendly staff.

Contact for great deal: Mr Z. Ruzain Wadood Assistant Manager - Sales & Marketing wadood@ceylonhotels.net

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tushar_agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The hotel has old colonial character. The furniture is probably from the same era. Standard rooms looked a bit small. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was quite big with a balcony overlooking the front garden and lake. Generally very clean and tidy. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is in an interesting old building and so has character. Some rooms have views over the lake. We had a deluxe room (no view) which was large and spacious, and fairly quiet despite being near the bar. The room felt a bit dated but the bed was comfortable and the air con was efficient. The food was good: a large buffet for breakfast and dinner (the former complete with juice chef as well as omlette chef!) and non-botttled drinking water was supplied. Popular with tour parties and the second night we had to wait to be seated as the restaurant was full. Nice pool. Friendly staff. Wifi 500 rupees for 24 hours. Plug sockets in room were UK ones not Sri Lankan.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Great room with balcony, partial views of the lake, almost twice the size of some other rooms we saw. Obviously a grand hotel of the past that is showing signs of decline but the staff still manage to Brasso the steppers and polish the floors every day . We found the staff in the restaurant area a little laizzez faire but the bell hops, reception staff, pool attendants and particularly our room attendant very attentive and willing to please. Don' t expect a thumping torrent when you shower. Be prepared to dance around a bit to get wet!! We only ate breakfast there but there was plenty of variety and good quality, but don't expect to get a soft boiled egg if you want one as they don't know what it is

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room as they seem to be substantially bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vichri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had already stayed 3 days and was generally ok (except for inadequate hot water). The hotel is full of colonial character and is quite comfortable. However, we wanted to return to the hotel for another night so paid online in advance. When we came to the hotel reception with our voucher. They said the hotel was full even though we had already paid for the room in advance. Our complaints were met with blank stares. It was extremely inconvenient we had to search for another hotel.

So beware if booking ahead at this hotel as your online reservation means nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gideon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The rooms were good and a bit colonial in type.
Room service was good.
We had dinner and breakfast.The spread was good, btu the quality could be slightly mre improved.Has a good spread of Sri Lankan and western dishes.The breakfast was really good.It was again both Sri Lankan and western.
I hopr they modernise the rooms more,as well as the television which was old.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 56 in Kandy
1,342 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £61 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing