We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Nice food, Friendly staff.”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
NorthEast, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Nice food, Friendly staff.”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Yet another hotel in my home town. I have taken my wedding in this hotel. So no doubt to recommend for a function, but also for a good satisfying stay. Requested few changes which was disaapointing to an occasion. Thus staff paid full attention to fullfill the enviornmental isseus for the occasion.

Key difference is this hotel preserves the colonial style through out. Everyone admires that. Excellent food and the friendly staff make your stay much pleasent.

You can have a good walk around the lake and visit sacred temple for a good relaxed time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    496
    234
    56
    33
See reviews for
226
460
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
838 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Old colonial style. Very helpful, friendly staff. Good, reasonably priced cocktails. Great buffet and reasonable barbeque. Good breakfasts. Comfortable large bedrooms and stylish surroundings.Handy situaion for walking into town and Temple of the Tooth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Amazing hotel as always in Sri Lanka helpful staff. The buffet dinner was lovely as was breakfast. Ht the wifi does cost so beware! Not much else to say but I do feel wifi should be complimentary in hotels of this standard. The pool was clean and well maintained as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was my favourite hotel of my two week trip in Sri Lanka. It is Colonial, with wooden panelling in the corridors, polished floors, portrait of the Queen etc. There's a billiards room and a really nice bar. We weren't charged for wi-fi, which was fast but only in public areas.

The breakfast buffet was amazing - for R750, you had a huge choice, including decent bacon and lovely baked beans! The evening buffet was also very reasonably priced, although the chicken pie I had was way too salty. It's in a great location, very close to the lake. There's a swimming pool, although we didn't use it. The staff were generally very friendly and it seemed like they enjoyed working there; the place had a nice atmosphere. They made an effort in the evening setting up a cocktail bar and getting a guy with a keyboard to come in and sing some cover songs ("Everything I Do" by Bryan Adams is very popular in Sri Lanka..._

Oh and one thing, which is not the hotel's fault: if you get up very early (before 7am) with a group of your friends, it would be considerate NOT to have loud conversations in the corridor. Sound travels and you will disturb everyone...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you want to go back to an earlier age, this is the place to do it. This colonial-era hotel has all the amenities, including a billiard room. We stayed here while on tour, so can’t comment on the price/value. Our room was of adequate size, spotlessly clean, and had everything we wanted with the exception of in-room wi-fi. Wi-fi is available, for a flat fee of Rs. 500, but is only available in the bar and lobby. We weren’t particularly hungry the first evening, so just ordered drinks and an appetizer in the bar and checked our e-mail. The bar is a comfortable place with live music (oldies, naturally). The breakfast buffet had everything, including cooked waffles and omelets. Service throughout the hotel is excellent. Several of our party ate at the dinner buffet and reported it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was fantastic, our room was clean, bed sheets were clean, towels were clean, friendly staff,
You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We got a refreshing pink guava juice on our arrival. The staff were friendly and always helpful. (Though one of the bellboys was overly friendly in a sycophantic way, didn't really listen when we asked him to wait before entering the room to collect our luggage when we were about to leave, and made it rather evident that the tip he got was below his expectation.)

The room was clean and comfortable (even though it was quite cold and wet outdoors). However, the fridge (minibar) did not work and the flush in the bathroom kept getting stuck.

They were a little stingy with the toiletries (a single small bottle of shampoo, shower gel etc for two persons over two nights) but the conditioner was the best I've used in a hotel.

Wi-Fi is free and meant to be available in the bar area only, but we managed to get good enough signal strength in our room.

This hotel is situated on the lake on the side opposite to the Temple of the Tooth Relic. However the road outside the hotel is a main road with two way-traffic and is dark at night. This made it difficult to go out for dinner (particularly since it rained throughout our stay), so we had the set course dinner the first night. The meal was beautifully presented with four generously-sized courses, though the grilled fish was very dry. (However, this seemed to be a problem throughout Sri Lanka and the Maldives. Tuna and seer fish do not seem to grill well.) The restaurant was spacious but a little too dimly-lit at night, the table decorations were a little dated and gaudy and the wooden floor mad a lot of noise when the staff walked briskly over it. The serving staff were very friendly and efficient though, and breakfast was very good both days. (The banana bread and Danish pastries were particularly good, and I liked the fact that you could get pineapple, papaya or guava freshly squeezed into juice.)

On the whole, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mreza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#30 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing