We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
280
595
273
66
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
595
273
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakebilliard roomold world charmcolonial buildingsri lankacolonial feeloverlooking the lakefourth floorbreakfast buffet issacred toothswimming poolstandard roomrooms are largespecial thanksrestaurant staffstayed here for one nighttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Yet another hotel in my home town. I have taken my wedding in this hotel. So no doubt to recommend for a function, but also for a good satisfying stay. Requested few changes which was disaapointing to an occasion. Thus staff paid full attention to fullfill the enviornmental isseus for the occasion.

Key difference is this hotel preserves the colonial style through out. Everyone admires that. Excellent food and the friendly staff make your stay much pleasent.

You can have a good walk around the lake and visit sacred temple for a good relaxed time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nath E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Old colonial style. Very helpful, friendly staff. Good, reasonably priced cocktails. Great buffet and reasonable barbeque. Good breakfasts. Comfortable large bedrooms and stylish surroundings.Handy situaion for walking into town and Temple of the Tooth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Amazing hotel as always in Sri Lanka helpful staff. The buffet dinner was lovely as was breakfast. Ht the wifi does cost so beware! Not much else to say but I do feel wifi should be complimentary in hotels of this standard. The pool was clean and well maintained as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was my favourite hotel of my two week trip in Sri Lanka. It is Colonial, with wooden panelling in the corridors, polished floors, portrait of the Queen etc. There's a billiards room and a really nice bar. We weren't charged for wi-fi, which was fast but only in public areas.

The breakfast buffet was amazing - for R750, you had a huge choice, including decent bacon and lovely baked beans! The evening buffet was also very reasonably priced, although the chicken pie I had was way too salty. It's in a great location, very close to the lake. There's a swimming pool, although we didn't use it. The staff were generally very friendly and it seemed like they enjoyed working there; the place had a nice atmosphere. They made an effort in the evening setting up a cocktail bar and getting a guy with a keyboard to come in and sing some cover songs ("Everything I Do" by Bryan Adams is very popular in Sri Lanka..._

Oh and one thing, which is not the hotel's fault: if you get up very early (before 7am) with a group of your friends, it would be considerate NOT to have loud conversations in the corridor. Sound travels and you will disturb everyone...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you want to go back to an earlier age, this is the place to do it. This colonial-era hotel has all the amenities, including a billiard room. We stayed here while on tour, so can’t comment on the price/value. Our room was of adequate size, spotlessly clean, and had everything we wanted with the exception of in-room wi-fi. Wi-fi is available, for a flat fee of Rs. 500, but is only available in the bar and lobby. We weren’t particularly hungry the first evening, so just ordered drinks and an appetizer in the bar and checked our e-mail. The bar is a comfortable place with live music (oldies, naturally). The breakfast buffet had everything, including cooked waffles and omelets. Service throughout the hotel is excellent. Several of our party ate at the dinner buffet and reported it was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews