We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Colonial!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Goa, India
Level Contributor
367 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Just Colonial!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just Colonial……………
A very welcoming reception with a lovely fresh flowers as the centre of attraction…but we had to request for a welcome drink… unlike others who get it as they check-in, its just some discriminations!!!!!!
We were given 04 rooms out of which one was a damp smelly one , with no views except a notice to warn you about monkeys pilfering stuff if your colonial windows were left open. Offered to shift one to the fourth floor but we did not shift due to proximity of our friends, anyway we had a lovely 03 night stay. large rooms spacious just like a grand colonial semi palace.., we had to pass through the bar area to get to our room.. Caution... getting in and out of the bathtub for a shower was a bit tricky due to its height.

Buffet breakfast was superb, waffles, pancakes, hoppers, croissants etc, it was like a 5 star spread and fresh juices , curries etc etc. The restaurant an earlier ballroom & the buffet area in another section.. definitely the curtains need an immediate overhaul in some places half a foot longer & dirty specially the ones into the buffet area.. Dining was good too , with serenaders doing their round, entertaining!!
Location is ideal just 10minutes walk away to the centre of Kandy , we walked one evening and landed Odel & the Queens hotel and was so happy we had taken on the Suisse , no comparison at all ,had a great Pizza at The Pizza Hut & back. The lake walking path could have had better illumination.
We had a great tour, Alwis the great in his Toyota Microvan took us around, we had him for our 08 day stay, a superp driver & a guide too, took us to nice places, we did a day trip to Nuwara Eliya & back, that was a good decision, but the weather wasn’t as cool. The Mackwoods tea factory was an experience and good shopping!!! Ceylon tea one of the best in the world as they say!!!, we stopped at one of the vegetable stalls on the bends and also tried out the strawberries in this special strawberry place, but the weather wasn’t as cool.
Cannot forget !!! as we were at lunch on the 4th floor of a restaurant on the top of the handicraft shop we felt the quake , it just swayed away for some time a terrible feeling though… luckily we were not on the coast ..the Tsunami warning & all.
had no interaction with the Hotel staff, there was this cinnamon aroma in the public toilettes..different., unfortunately could not experience a massage as the attendants were off on their Buddhist new Year festival.

Room Tip: Check the room before choosing as will know what you getting, all are not the same, some small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    499
    237
    57
    33
See reviews for
229
465
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
banaglore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

it's not bad hotel for accommodation but please check your wallet.
when I was in breakfast, somebody came to my room and stole my money. The stolen money comes to more than 300 dallars. absolutely I locked door. unfortunly I put my walltet in by bag and left the room for breakfast. I think that cleaner or room service guys stole it. I called hotel reception guy, but he had silent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trueangel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights a the Hotel Suisse. The room was huge as was the ensuite. It was a little noisey as we were overlooking the front of the hotel ( ask for a side room if this is a problem for you). The breakfasts were very good, and the staff very pleasant. This is a great hotel in a great location. You can walk everywhere from here!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the front of the hotel can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Having stayed here in 2003, this hotel still has lots of character and a great bar and billiards room, although the pool area could do with a bit of attention. The hotel is located very close to Kandy lake and a short walk to the Temple of the Tooth.

On both evenings, we were invited to eat from the buffet, but asked to see the menu - the cost of a three course meal from the menu was cheaper than the buffet and the Sri Lankan rice and curry was as good here, if not better, than elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kindom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had a very enjoyable 2 night, 3 day stay here as part of a tour. The rooms were clean and bright. Restaurant was huge, (a galleried Ballroom, perhaps), and the choices at the Buffet for breakfast and dinner, were numerous, well presented and very Staff - waiters and porters were very pleasant and attentive.
Would certainly recommend. much enjoyed..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Grand old style hotel, large and good quality rooms - look out for the monkeys on the trees & balcony. Setting on lakeside, with nice gardens, childrens play area and good pool. Buffet meals very good choice and quality, with live music playing at dinner. Free Wi-fi in reception & bar only. 4th floor room, lift only to 3rd floor and long walk from reception. Going to Nuwara Eliya today.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fredd377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, using it as a base to visit attractions in the area including Sigiriya.
We were a bit dubious as it's a large hotel and seems to be popular with package tours but it was actually a great hotel to stay at. Kandy is quite a noisy city so we were glad that it was nice and quiet in our rooms as I've heard the Queens Hotel across from the temple is very noisy. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very attentive and friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're in Kandy.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 54 in Kandy
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing