We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial hotel”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel suisse is located near the "Nuwara lake". walking distance to the sacred and famous "Temple of Tooth". Hotel building is old but it has the looks and the comfortability. Nice small garden and childrens play area. Customer service is good. Food provided is up delicious but the choice is sometimes limited (I was staying on BB basis). There is a boutique to buy souvenirs within the hotel premises. Furniture provided in the rooms were bit old but comfortable enough.

Room Tip: selecting a room far from the wedding reception hall would be wise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanjeewa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had 2 nights at this old hotel, enjoyed the ambience of it but a lot of the furniture should have been replaced years ago. We had a large room with a balcony which had been recently refurbished overlooking the lake. It is within walking distance to the town - maybe 10/15 minutes walk (crossing the road was a bit hairy! We would have loved more time there, but were on a tour with Jetwing (which was excellent) and had to move on. The meals and staff were great.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmackie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Booked as part of a tour. This is quite a charming original colonial hotel.Over 100 years old. It's position by the Kandy lake is ideal if you just want to go out for a walk around the lake which is worth doing. There is a major road right outside which is full of a continuous stream of traffic, fortunatly the noise seems not to get through to the hotel rooms. The rooms are dated as in fact is the whole hotel, but it was adequate for it's pupose. The first morning breakfast buffet was held on the terrace outside and there was obviously a large tour party in that morning as it was very busy with people queing for the fresh fruit and cooked eggs. the following morning it was inside the main restaraunt which we felt was better. We ate the evening buffet on the second night which was very good. Have a game of snooker in the games room there, ask at the bar for the balls.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has no lift access so if you need a lift take a room on the first three floors. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skinut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Hotel is located near the lake and has a good atmosphere, we stayed for one night only since we had to get back to Colombo. So after checking in at 10:30am we got ready and went out for side seeing at 11:00am and was back at 6:30pm, had a nice day. However then we got to know our international phone was robbed / stolen by someone at the hotel. The thief had gone through our bags and had taken only the phone which was kept inside our laptop bag. We informed the front desk and nothing happened, later we went down and made a complained only after making a big noise the manager took some interest. Next day still no information regarding the phone, so we requested the cops to come and they did after few hours. We thought people in Colombo were more tricky to handle however it turned out to be KANDY. Anyway anyone going to hotel Suisse please be VERY careful with your valuables, since the staff have a great smile however it’s just a disguise…

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caraoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here for one night. Our reservation was booked for us as a part of a tour package. The facade of the hotel is beautiful, and it's situated facing the lake. The hotel is huge, and very colonial looking. Seemed a bit run down, but that's part of the charm. Our room was on the fourth floor facing the garden. Unfortunately, the night we were staying there was a wedding party occurring and the guests were partying quite loudly. We called to complain and ask for a room change. The front desk assured us that the party would finish by 11pm. When the music continued to play at 11:30pm we called again and demanded to have a room change because it was just too loud. The windows were reverberating from the bass, the party guests were so loud it was like they were in the room with us. Someone did eventually come up and showed us the room across the hall. We decided to move and we did end up getting some sleep.

The bathrooms in both of the rooms we stayed in flooded during shower use. In the first room the shower curtain didn't fit the stall, so water flowed out. The second room's shower had a huge crack in the tiling and water just poured out onto the floor. It was a mess.

The food was all buffet style and kind of average in my opinion. The staff were nice. We didn't have any problems with room security, but then again we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aikodeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed there for 3 days and had a spectacular time. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly and got our rooms almost immediately. Really big variety of food and very friendly kitchen staff =D

Room Tip: Book a room on a higher level and a room with a good view of the Kandy Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amaan_xD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just Colonial……………
A very welcoming reception with a lovely fresh flowers as the centre of attraction…but we had to request for a welcome drink… unlike others who get it as they check-in, its just some discriminations!!!!!!
We were given 04 rooms out of which one was a damp smelly one , with no views except a notice to warn you about monkeys pilfering stuff if your colonial windows were left open. Offered to shift one to the fourth floor but we did not shift due to proximity of our friends, anyway we had a lovely 03 night stay. large rooms spacious just like a grand colonial semi palace.., we had to pass through the bar area to get to our room.. Caution... getting in and out of the bathtub for a shower was a bit tricky due to its height.

Buffet breakfast was superb, waffles, pancakes, hoppers, croissants etc, it was like a 5 star spread and fresh juices , curries etc etc. The restaurant an earlier ballroom & the buffet area in another section.. definitely the curtains need an immediate overhaul in some places half a foot longer & dirty specially the ones into the buffet area.. Dining was good too , with serenaders doing their round, entertaining!!
Location is ideal just 10minutes walk away to the centre of Kandy , we walked one evening and landed Odel & the Queens hotel and was so happy we had taken on the Suisse , no comparison at all ,had a great Pizza at The Pizza Hut & back. The lake walking path could have had better illumination.
We had a great tour, Alwis the great in his Toyota Microvan took us around, we had him for our 08 day stay, a superp driver & a guide too, took us to nice places, we did a day trip to Nuwara Eliya & back, that was a good decision, but the weather wasn’t as cool. The Mackwoods tea factory was an experience and good shopping!!! Ceylon tea one of the best in the world as they say!!!, we stopped at one of the vegetable stalls on the bends and also tried out the strawberries in this special strawberry place, but the weather wasn’t as cool.
Cannot forget !!! as we were at lunch on the 4th floor of a restaurant on the top of the handicraft shop we felt the quake , it just swayed away for some time a terrible feeling though… luckily we were not on the coast ..the Tsunami warning & all.
had no interaction with the Hotel staff, there was this cinnamon aroma in the public toilettes..different., unfortunately could not experience a massage as the attendants were off on their Buddhist new Year festival.

Room Tip: Check the room before choosing as will know what you getting, all are not the same, some small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,400 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#12 of 57 in Kandy
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
2.7 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#11 of 57 in Kandy
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £65 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing