We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weddings Galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Weddings Galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Yes lots of old world charm, close to 100 years of history and wear and tear, though the hotel is standing up well to the passing of time. High ceilings, polished brass and ornate woodwork abound. Service from reception through to checkout is efficient and presented with a smile. The nightly buffet and the breakfast buffet was a mixture of western and local foods, lots of variety and good service.

In the two days I stayed at the hotel there appeared to be weddings every 3 hours or so. The weddings were a noisy affair but they added a dose of loca colour to the hole and I didn't find them at all obtrusive.

All in all a great old world hotel that provides service with style and a smile.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank akmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    492
    233
    55
    33
See reviews for
223
457
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here with my husband and two children, 8 and 5.
Lovely setting by the lake and has wonderful atmosphere in an old Colonial style. Spotlessly clean and full of atmosphere. Full of charm and character. Great food at very reasonable prices. Charming old bar where we sat for gin and tonics while kids played chess and watched a couple playing snooker in the billiard room.
Beautiful, buffed parquet flooring and polished brass throughout.
Room was huge, clean and well presented. Comfy beds and the same colonial charm as with rest of hotel.
Pool was spotless and big. Slightly tired around the pool area, would be my only slight gripe, but no great shakes really. Kids were very happy.
Staff were amazing and couldn't have been more engaging or helpful.
I would travel to Kandy just to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

My partner booked us a 2 night stay here as a treat from our 5 months so far of backpacking. Refreshing wet towels and tropical juice on arrival was a lovely start.

Our room was lovely with high ceilings and a great bathroom (no bath plug though :()

Breakfast was fabulous. We sat there for about an hour and a half the first day just to work our way through all the goodies. Omelettes, waffles. And fresh juices made to order. Curry and hoppers, western breakfast options, loads of pastries and cakes...yummy!

The pool was lovely and we would have hung out by it longer but it was a bit chilly while we were there.

Sam surprised me with a room service bottle if champagne which was served by very professional bar men. They really Mae us feel special. We got what we thought was going to be a small dinner of some spring rolls and a chicken curry, which ended up being a huge selection of delicious curries and a ginormous serving of rice!

Only criticism I would have is they were pretty noisy setting up for a wedding the following day with cutlery banging etc and unfortunately it was 2am right outside our room. I am sure they would have stopped though if we had bothered to get up to ask them too!

lovely stay for us would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amba6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was a nice colonial hotel in centre of Kandy. The rooms were nice and clean and the food was excellent. However the pool area was extremely noisy due to the hotels location right next to the main road in Kandy. Also Kandy town itself is very busy and beware of locals saying, "ive seen you in the hotel I work in " They are trying to get money off you. Just say no and walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here August 2012 and have to say that I loved the place. The building is a wonderful colonial type hotel that is full of character. The billiard room, stairways, bar, dining room and hallways all have managed to retain the style of the building and the photos of the hotel circa 1850 all add to the atmosphere of staying in this wonderful place. On a negative, the room that we stayed in (close to the dining room) was a little basic and old, although it was in keeping with the hotel it needed a biit of updating and maintenance. Still, I enjoyed staying here and would gladly stay there is I visit Kandy again.

The staff are some of the most friendly that I have come across and always smile and say hello when you pass them. They are quick to help and provide anything that you may need. The dinner was a very pleasent buffet and although the breakfast was exactly the same on the two days I breakfasted there, it was satisfying.

Room Tip: It is probably worth trying to get a room overlooking Kandy Lake on one of the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francistown, Botswana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We got this hotel free of charge as part of our wedding package, so this was the second night of our honeymoon. Overall experience was good at the hotel. Nice colonial type rooms with wooden floors and great views from the balcony. Food was good and staffs were very friendly. Great environment and very close to The Temple of the Tooth Relic

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nuwan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very simply put do no stay here.

The list is endless.

Dirty room below ground level. Ants in room.

Food not hot enough to be safe to eat.
Apparently I need 200 characters so have the whole list

Room below ground. No view. Wardrobe if you can call it that no hangers. Windows do not fit so insects constantly in room.

Dinner and breakfast are buffet style, the food is almost cold and unsafe to eat.
The paint is coming off the bath when I use it.

Have stayed in SriLanka 7 tomes in the last six years. This is the first hotel I will not go back to.

Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 52 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#32 of 52 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing