We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
282
596
273
66
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
596
273
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakebilliard roomold world charmcolonial buildingsri lankacolonial feeloverlooking the lakefourth floorbreakfast buffet issacred toothswimming poolstandard roomrooms are largespecial thanksrestaurant staffstayed here for one nighttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel Suisse is a great example of how a beautiful old colonial building can really update to the 21st century. If you're interested in architecture and love historic buildings this is for you! The grand dining room with the 360 decorative balcony is spectacular, we saw a beautiful wedding taking place. The billiard room with full size table kept husband entertained every night, the bar has a congenial setting. Rooms clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Our room had a small balcony although the lake view was obscured by a huge tree home to an entertaining troupe of monkeys. A well kept garden with tables plus planters chairs for relaxing in plus a pool make the outside areas a bonus. The service and food are both very good. Polished wooden floors, shining brass fittings and grand proportions make this a chance to enjoy living history. Husband had birthday here and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. Recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esosij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby guesthouse which didn't provide breakfast so we popped next door into Hotel Suisse and paid 1500lkr for 2 of us for a buffet which included fresh fruit and juice, pastries, hot food (eggs, beans, bacon, sausages, SL traditional breakfast, omelettes cooked how you like), pancakes and plenty other stuff. It was really tasty and well worth the money - especially if you can handle a big breakfast! Service was also pretty efficient given that they were trying to prepare for a wedding that day. Avoid the expensive room cost and just go for breakfast like we did.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

my partner and I came here due to their obsession with art nuevo/deco. I guess I tagged along.

old fashioned colonial style hotel. aged as many are in this area but with a touch of faded decadence.

yes, it is a bit old and shabby in places but the staff treat you very well and beautiful views over the lake.

the gardens are lovely and don't be surprised to have a wee visitor pop onto your balcony (friendly playful monkies)

the rooms are dated no doubt. teak style furnishings and could do with a face lift but it all ads to the charm of an agetha christie novel.

in a prime position over looking the lake. the food was plentiful at breakfast, however dinner was typical hotel buffet style. albeit served in the grand ballroom.

would definately recommend to anyone seeking the old colonial experience.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank pocketmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel Suisse is in a good location - 10 to 15 minute walk along the lake to Central Kandy. In its day, it would have been a grand hotel but now it is simply quite tired. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking an area where meals are served outside so it was a little noisy in the mornings. Mosquitos kept getting into our room too but we couldn't work put how!! The room itself was quite clean but really old and needs updating.

There was wifi downstairs that seemed to work best at the bar and a pool out the front.

Staff were excellent and on NYE they had a buffet and I have never seen anything like it - not even in Vegas!! It was amazing!!

If you want something within walking distance to Kandy and with a pool, this is an okay option for a day or two.

Room Tip: Room 307 looks over the outdoor eating area so could be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Old stylist hotel, located lakeside with city center in walking distance. Very Nice bar and ballroom, the latter often used for wedding porties up to twice a day. This is more charming than annoying, hotel capacity is fit for it and noise is strictly controlled. Spatious rooms, bathrooms bit dated but clean. Refuse room 111, it has a structural humidity problem and is unhealthy, i was given a better room on first request. Excellent Food at very reasonable rates and the best trained staff I met untill now in Sri Lanka: friendly and fast efficiency.
Rooms in the front have nicest view, but a bit noise from busy traffic.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews