We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, I would go back!”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, I would go back!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is right in front of the Kandy Bogumbara Lake, therefore convininet location to reach. It is a histr\orical looking, beautiful hotel with spacious gardens and spacious hotel orridors and rooms.

We stayed in a standard room and still it was very spacious and cleand and even the bathrooms were spacious with most of the common amenities, tea making facilities, etc.

They had a good spread for the dinner and breakfast. Only downside was that the dinner they had outside garden and it was very cold that night, which resulted not ebing able to enjoy the food and even the food got cold easily.

However, I recoomend this hotel and I would go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutsybuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    496
    234
    56
    33
See reviews for
226
460
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is an old English-style hotel. As the title states it is clean and simply furnished with long corridors and high ceilings. You can almost imagine the British colonials staying here during the hot humid months. .It has a nice comfy bar with free WiFi and a lovely dining room. As others have mentioned it is a good location for venturing out to see the Kandy sights. And they have an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canontnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
296 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the first time I have stayed at the Hotel Suisse. What a great hotel.
It is a mature hotel but far exceeded my expectations.

We were lucky to have been upgraded to a suite room. Thank you.

The rooms have lovely high ceilings and are a good size.

The restaurant is really nice and we had the most amazing seafood buffet at a very reasonable price.

The only issue like most of the hotels in Sri Lanka is that many of the wines on the wine lists are not available.

The bar area is nice and very relaxing.

The room boy was very attentive and did a great job. Well done. Nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely stay at the Suisse hotel again.

The hotel is in a really good position on the lake and not too far from the centre of Kandy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were glad we selected this hotel for our stay at Kandy. Rooms are reasonably clean and staff is very good. Buffet is also nice which include some Sri Lankan delicacies. Most importantly the location is ideal for visiting Kandy city, not too far (1.2 km) and not in busy city area.

Lake side rooms have nice view but rooms are bit old. The rooms near the main hall are nice and have a nice garden area to relax. Unfortunately there was a wedding function going on and guests were near the room and we felt very disturbing. We requested to change our room and got a nice lake side room in 3rd floor.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lake side rooms have nice view and quite, room no 331...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lets start with the positives - great location, close to the lake, temple, town and fantastic food.

Suggestions for improvement, more focus on attention to detail in the rooms, for example the bathroom should have more than a shower curtain to protect the floors from being constantly wet, the beds could be softer for better sleep and the TV reception could be better. The swimming pool water could be warmer particularly as the Kandy climate is cool at times.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazypresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel Suisse is a great example of how a beautiful old colonial building can really update to the 21st century. If you're interested in architecture and love historic buildings this is for you! The grand dining room with the 360 decorative balcony is spectacular, we saw a beautiful wedding taking place. The billiard room with full size table kept husband entertained every night, the bar has a congenial setting. Rooms clean and comfortable with high ceilings. Our room had a small balcony although the lake view was obscured by a huge tree home to an entertaining troupe of monkeys. A well kept garden with tables plus planters chairs for relaxing in plus a pool make the outside areas a bonus. The service and food are both very good. Polished wooden floors, shining brass fittings and grand proportions make this a chance to enjoy living history. Husband had birthday here and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. Recommended

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esosij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a nearby guesthouse which didn't provide breakfast so we popped next door into Hotel Suisse and paid 1500lkr for 2 of us for a buffet which included fresh fruit and juice, pastries, hot food (eggs, beans, bacon, sausages, SL traditional breakfast, omelettes cooked how you like), pancakes and plenty other stuff. It was really tasty and well worth the money - especially if you can handle a big breakfast! Service was also pretty efficient given that they were trying to prepare for a wedding that day. Avoid the expensive room cost and just go for breakfast like we did.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Delightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#30 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing