We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suisse
Nearby Hotels
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
282
596
273
66
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
596
273
66
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskandy lakebilliard roomold world charmcolonial buildingsri lankacolonial feeloverlooking the lakefourth floorbreakfast buffet issacred toothswimming poolstandard roomrooms are largespecial thanksrestaurant staffstayed here for one nighttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Being a regular business traveler to Kandy I keep coming back to the Suisse after trying most of the other mid to high end hotels in the area. The service is always up to a decent standard, the staff efficient and friendly, especially Gehan and the front office crew. The breakfast buffet is the best I've tried in Kandy, the evening dinner buffet always has a huge selection and enough variety, the rooms are clean even if some of the older rooms at the rear are getting a bit tatty. They can charge like a wounded bull for beer and wine, but I guess its relative to the standard of the place. Efficient is the overall impression.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel was romantic, nice and with a nice view on the lake.

The Christmas buffet was excellent.

The Jewellers shop on the left entrance of the hotel highly recommended.

Family Jolis Rosell Barcelona

Room Tip: The most beautiful rooms were the ones in front the lake.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were not resident here but came in a large group for lunch.

Really excellent buffet with a huge selection of international and local hot and cold dishes all beautifully cooked and displayed. We really were spoiled for choice and wished we had been hungrier and able to eat more than we did. Choice of water or beer to accompany it. Waiters were quick to serve drinks and clear and replace crockery and cutlery.

As others have mentioned, it is a popular venue for weddings and there was one while we were there. We enjoyed watching the wedding guests in their traditional outfits and they too had a buffet which looked as yummy as ours.

The monkeys outside were also fun to watch.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Only in Kandy for 1 night on a tour so no time to use pool etc although it looked lovely.
Rooms, one double, one single were far apart. Our double room overlooked the pool and lake so a nice outlook. Problem with the safe on our arrival quickly remedied. Bar and restaurant very nice. Only issue was I saw waiters refolding used napkins for re-use in the restaurant, not particularly nice!
Food was good however in nice surroundings. Location close to most places to visit in Kandy, for longer stays being by the lake for walking would be nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We loved this hotel for it's grandeur and location, we had 2 rooms on the beautiful verandah. We booked over a weekend and had weddings happening close by both nights. The disco finished at 11pm, which we were grateful for. The garden and verandah were both used for photographs and wedding guests, so we felt a little intruded upon. We stayed the last weekend of January and apparently February is an unlucky month to be married so I can only suggest you enquire about the bookings for weddings. The quick change over of the dining room between weddings, our breakfasts and afternoon functions was impressive. The breakfasts left a bit to be desired and showers were tricky being old plumbing, plenty of power points for UK plugs, a reminder of the past. The laundry service we thought way overpriced, we should have waited a couple more days and paid less than half. We didn't use the pool but dinner for guests was held there both nights as the weddings were in the dining room. Well worth a visit but consider the timing perhaps.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews