We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creeky .... but I love it.”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Suisse on 4 occasions, and it has now become our mainstay when travelling to Kandy.

The hotel is really from a bygone era and is worn around the edges. However, it oozes character and charm. The location couldn't be better. We love the bar area, and the billiard room. The food is OK, not exceptional, but adequate. The staff have always been very helpful and courteous.

Our main issue is the general cleanliness. There is a level of grime which exists pretty much all over the hotel. This is nothing out of the ordinary, many hotels in Sri Lanka have similar issues, and it is nothing when compared to the grime in Kandy in general.

I would advise staying in a suite, or non basic room if possible. These rooms are very nice, whereas the standard rooms are very standard!

Apart from the old world charm, the best thing about the Hotel Suisse is the realistic pricing. At a time when many hotels in Sri Lanka are screwing tourists, charging 5 star prices for positively 2 star (max) service and accommodation, the Hotel Suisse is right on the mark.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurzonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went there for two days in April 2014. Well situated near the central lake ,the hotel offers a sympathic feeling of british colonial atmosphere.Very good standards of quality ,well kept,kind and efficient staff.Food as buffet has all international and local standards,it is fresh and various.You can go there in confidence.Impression of how it could have been once but with2014 standards.Entertaiment music at dinner every day.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from central dinner hallbecause of groups and weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

She's a stately old lady but she has charm and grace and she does what she says on the tin. I like her.

The evening bar and dining area is a delightful. There is an authentic old-school gentle nostalgia. I felt I should be drinking lots of gin and wearing my hair in victory rolls. The rooms are clean, with working plug sockets (hit and miss in Sri Lanka hotels), well-appointed and clean, but no wifi.

Rooms have spades more charm and atmosphere than other (more expensive) hotels. I am delighted we made the decision to stay here despite some of the mixed trip advisor reviews. Our bathroom was not large but it worked and was perfectly adequate. The location is excellent and it's a very easy walk to the Temple of the Tooth and into central Kandy.

I could have done without being felt like I was being chased around the dining room by the in-house band but that is because I'm English and awkward. Other tables of other nationalities were having a ball being serenaded. We had one problem which was dealt with swiftly and appropriately, which is a mark of their customer focused attitude.

The pool is spacious and deep, surrounded by grass and accompanying Kandy traffic noise the; bills cheap and the welcome warm. We paid $50US which felt like a bargain. On the evidence of this stay I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girlinagirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in April in this charming colonial style hotel for two nights as part of a week long roundtrip. We enjoyed the historical, a bit nostalgic ambience with remnants of old glorious times. The hotel is said to the second oldest in Kandy and enjoys a wonderful location across the Tooth Temple on the shores of Kandy lake. We had a nice room facing the shrine and the lake, but also the pool. Room was clean and had all amenities, although bathroom has not been refurbished in the last 20 years or so. Restaurant is also with old porcelain produced especially for the hotel, which you don't see anymore in modern properties. Food was good with theme buffets every night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mahivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I believe the hotel building was once a miltary hospital. High ceilings, large airy windows and doors with furniture reminiscent of a bygone era. The staff is friendly, but some of them seemed a little less efficient than what we saw in the rest of Sri Lanka. The rooms are nice and big. Wifi is spotty to non existent in the rooms, but it does work fair in the lobby and common areas. The hotel is located by the lake and its a great walk from here along the lakeside to the Buddhas tooth relic temple. Breakfast was fair. They also have a car rental agency (you rent car with driver) on the grounds.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the lake or one that opens out on to a small lawn looking out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As the title says I have stayed in plenty of better hotels but there's something about this old girl that makes me like her.

Stacks of old colonial charm, with a bit of imagination you could be meeting the 'Fortesque Joneses' for Gin and Tonic in the bar, or see the Union Jack bunting that must have hung from the dining room.

We arrived in time to join in hotel celebrations for New Years and staff were super welcoming and friendly which was an added bonus.

Room was fairly basic but comfortable nonetheless. Food was fine and the buffet good value. Marauding Calypso bad was perhaps OTT but amusing and my daughter liked them.

Pool, nothing to write home about but good enough location.

I'm kind of hoping they will keep the old girl true to her history and not turn it into another faceless chain hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel was once the icon of old world charm; sadly however those days have long since gone. Whilst it still retains its historic charm it also retains its historic plumbing and facilities. The hotel is in need of a major overhaul before it looses any more of its charm.
The position is excellent however there is major traffic noise from the main road which is busy almost all day and night.
The food was excellent - buffet style but a lot of choice. Unfortunately during dinner there is musical entertainment which comprises of a group of musicians who visit each table and drown out any hope of conversation.. Background music yes but a music jamming session - no thanks.

Room Tip: A room away from the front and not overlooking reception where vehicles arrive day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfrescodave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
719 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing