We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned.”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be warned.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Warning to all: please get a reservation confirmation via email when you book. We made a phone reservation under my name, but when we reached the hotel, the staff was indignant that "no bookings were made" and "the hotel was full".

True to what others have mentioned, the front desk staff appeared arrogant and snobbish, and wasn't helpful to remedy the situation.

A guide told us that they might have given the room away to someone who paid more for it, regardless of reservation. So much for professionalism.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VotreX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mr. VotreX,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at the check-in. As we couldn't find your reservation details, please let us know the dates and the room number you stayed with us, in order to probe into the matter to rectify the situation.

Thanks & Regards,


Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    499
    237
    57
    33
See reviews for
229
465
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Hotel is located on shores of Kandy lake in old, colonial style building. In various places of hotel you can feel that it is in such building, both in positive and negative way. Negative in terms of being worn down, positively that it gives you specific aura of this place.

Room where we stayed was ok, except that soundproof could be better. Thankfully it was not next to area where lots of people gathered, so it was ok.
Hotel has pool area as well next to street, but at same time well hidden. Pool area can get crowded quite fast if some group of people goes there, but otherwise it was quite good.
Food and service was quite good. Lots of choices, including grill choices.

Location of hotel is quite good, not in busiest part of city, but in walkable distance from city and Temple of tooth. However, there is no pedestrian crossing right in front of hotel, so getting across street is bit of challenge.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Suisse on 4 occasions, and it has now become our mainstay when travelling to Kandy.

The hotel is really from a bygone era and is worn around the edges. However, it oozes character and charm. The location couldn't be better. We love the bar area, and the billiard room. The food is OK, not exceptional, but adequate. The staff have always been very helpful and courteous.

Our main issue is the general cleanliness. There is a level of grime which exists pretty much all over the hotel. This is nothing out of the ordinary, many hotels in Sri Lanka have similar issues, and it is nothing when compared to the grime in Kandy in general.

I would advise staying in a suite, or non basic room if possible. These rooms are very nice, whereas the standard rooms are very standard!

Apart from the old world charm, the best thing about the Hotel Suisse is the realistic pricing. At a time when many hotels in Sri Lanka are screwing tourists, charging 5 star prices for positively 2 star (max) service and accommodation, the Hotel Suisse is right on the mark.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurzonGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strasbourg ,france
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went there for two days in April 2014. Well situated near the central lake ,the hotel offers a sympathic feeling of british colonial atmosphere.Very good standards of quality ,well kept,kind and efficient staff.Food as buffet has all international and local standards,it is fresh and various.You can go there in confidence.Impression of how it could have been once but with2014 standards.Entertaiment music at dinner every day.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from central dinner hallbecause of groups and weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

She's a stately old lady but she has charm and grace and she does what she says on the tin. I like her.

The evening bar and dining area is a delightful. There is an authentic old-school gentle nostalgia. I felt I should be drinking lots of gin and wearing my hair in victory rolls. The rooms are clean, with working plug sockets (hit and miss in Sri Lanka hotels), well-appointed and clean, but no wifi.

Rooms have spades more charm and atmosphere than other (more expensive) hotels. I am delighted we made the decision to stay here despite some of the mixed trip advisor reviews. Our bathroom was not large but it worked and was perfectly adequate. The location is excellent and it's a very easy walk to the Temple of the Tooth and into central Kandy.

I could have done without being felt like I was being chased around the dining room by the in-house band but that is because I'm English and awkward. Other tables of other nationalities were having a ball being serenaded. We had one problem which was dealt with swiftly and appropriately, which is a mark of their customer focused attitude.

The pool is spacious and deep, surrounded by grass and accompanying Kandy traffic noise the; bills cheap and the welcome warm. We paid $50US which felt like a bargain. On the evidence of this stay I would be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlinagirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in April in this charming colonial style hotel for two nights as part of a week long roundtrip. We enjoyed the historical, a bit nostalgic ambience with remnants of old glorious times. The hotel is said to the second oldest in Kandy and enjoys a wonderful location across the Tooth Temple on the shores of Kandy lake. We had a nice room facing the shrine and the lake, but also the pool. Room was clean and had all amenities, although bathroom has not been refurbished in the last 20 years or so. Restaurant is also with old porcelain produced especially for the hotel, which you don't see anymore in modern properties. Food was good with theme buffets every night.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mahivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
607 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I believe the hotel building was once a miltary hospital. High ceilings, large airy windows and doors with furniture reminiscent of a bygone era. The staff is friendly, but some of them seemed a little less efficient than what we saw in the rest of Sri Lanka. The rooms are nice and big. Wifi is spotty to non existent in the rooms, but it does work fair in the lobby and common areas. The hotel is located by the lake and its a great walk from here along the lakeside to the Buddhas tooth relic temple. Breakfast was fair. They also have a car rental agency (you rent car with driver) on the grounds.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the lake or one that opens out on to a small lawn looking out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KANewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
996 reviews
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kandy
736 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 54 in Kandy
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing