We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical hotel in nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Muscat, Oman
1 review
“Historical hotel in nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

Rooms were properly arranged but bath room shower not working properly. Dinner was good nice breakfast with nice lake view.
Hotel has a perfect history and location hope only in to improve the quality of bathrooms. other all were good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    492
    232
    55
    33
See reviews for
223
456
50
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schruns, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for about 3 nights in July 2014. We got to Kandy by train with our Backpacks which was a great experience i would recommend to everyone by the way. We chose this place because its near the lake and we wanted to stay at a colonial style place because of the flair. The location itself is perfect. Its possible to walk to the center of the city in like 15 minutes or take one of the TukTuks for bout 100 rupies. The building is very nice too, and the staff is friendly, but everything is a bit scruffy. There was a strange smell in the room, and then i discovered mould. Bit late on the second day so we decided to not change our room for one night. All in all its a very charming old place but there are some heavy shortcomings on the hygiene (dirty bathroom) and damages because of the age of this house who must be taken care of before we would go there again. Besides, you can get more comfort for a cheaper price in other hotels

Room Tip: try to get a more expensive one with a big balcony and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The experience in this hotel highly depends on the room you have. First night on floor 4 was a nightmare (old and dirty bathroom, view on air conditioning, ...). The next 2 nights were great (rooms 331 and 332) with a great view on the lake, nice furniture and well decorated room. The rest of the experience was ok but far from being perfect: The swimming pool is ok but would need a little bit more love, food is ok but not spectacular,
We will not visit this hotel again

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We, my wife 3 children and I, stayed in this hotel earlier this year. Everything is great in this hotel. The welcome reception on arrival, the efficient check in, spacious and very clean rooms, excellent breakfast and polite service. The hotel is perfectly positioned in the heart of Kandy walking distance to shops, restaurants, the famous temple of the tooth and the Kandy lake. We had 2 large double rooms with a lounge between. The rooms were extra large and well furnished. The breakfast was served in the roof garden overlooking the busy city. The choice of food in the buffet breakfast was excellent. I can recommend this hotel who wish to visit historical Kandy. Professor David Thambiratnam, Brisbane, Australia

Room Tip: Very popular hotel. Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Professor,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was a really comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and great service. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed eating dinner outside on the lawn overlooking Kandy. The pool was also welcome after a day of travelling. Unfortunately, there is a new hotel being built immediately behind Hotel Suisse, so it will have modern competion on the doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanishka M, Manager at Hotel Suisse, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting us on Trip Advisor and your comment is highly appreciated by the management.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and please contact us on reservations.suisse@kandyhotels.lk or +94812233025 for your next visit.

Regards,

Kanishska Mallikarachchi,
Assisitant Manager,
Hotel Suisse,
Kandy.
+94773422729
asstmanager.suisse@kandyhotels.lk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in the this lovely, old-world hotel. The service was excellent, the rooms clean and the evening buffet was lovely. Our room was clean, comfy and with a lovely parquet floor. The bathroom was also clean but quite small. There was quite a bit of early-ish morning noise (cleaning corridors/guest checking out) but this wasn't a huge problem. We made use of the huge and well-kept pool. I recommend a pre-dinner drink in the hotel bar. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre/Temple of the Tooth.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in Kandy. Rooms large and comfortable, fantastic buffet for evening meal, and a good breakfast. Initial problem with safe which was quickly sorted, but very impressed with cleanliness, comfort and service. The bar was very attractive and pleasant for a pre dinner drink.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Althea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#32 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 30 Sangarajah Mawatha, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Suisse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing