We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This can be a very noisy hotel but great value”
Review of Olde Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Empire Hotel
Ranked #123 of 408 Kandy B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“This can be a very noisy hotel but great value”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is opposite the temple of the Tooth, right in the heart of Kandy. However at 4.30 am the Buddhist monks chant on loud speakers, then the Imam does the call to prayer from the mosque, then the flower sellers start to get their stalls ready outside the hotel. This coupled with the wooden floorboards that run length of hotel, under the plaster position walls all ads to the noise; you can hear people moving their furniture around also. There is a lovely colonial balcony to sit relax and have a drink, but mosquitoes abound! The hotel offers clean towels, however these are threadbare with holes, more like floor cloths. This is all reflected in the price of 20GBP per night without breakfast. This hotel is very clean throughout and they have cheaper rooms with shared bathrooms.

Room Tip: The rooms at front are noisy but the better rooms with private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67RichardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    67
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
16
73
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As per review last week - we stayed in a ground floor en-suite room which was terrible.
Very noisy - dogs, sirens, locals clearing throat and noise from upstairs.
As per above review from last week, we also found bedbugs throughout our double bed and therefore had to sleep on the floor.
When we spoke to the management the next morning they seemed to be aware of this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The best part of the Olde Empire is probably the nice balcony which makes you want to rest there for a couple of hours. The cheaper rooms are pretty dark, have no windows and the beds are not very comfortable as well. But it’s cheap! The staff is helpful and the cafe has good but expensive coffee and breakfast. The hotel doesn’t have wifi itself but you can use the cafe’s wifi. You have to purchase some drinks or food though. They also change the password every day but you can ask the staff for the new password. There were nights without internet though, when the cafe closed before you could ask for the new wifi key. All in all it’s probably the hotel with the best flair in town even though it has some weaknesses.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window, rooms without are pretty depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den bosch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

There is no other place in Kandy that is so cheap and just around the corner of the main road. The rooms look nice and clean, but when we were there at least 4 rooms had bedbugs. On the second morning we even saw a woman with her face all red and swollen, it almost looked like an allergic reaction. We left immediatly that same day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this Hotel doesn't get any better. It is centre to everything that is downtown (banks, bakeries, food city, bus terminals, markets), across the street from the temple, and a stone's throw from Kandy's lake. The atmosphere is very relaxed (never even asked my name) and the cleanliness and quality of the rooms vary. I had room 11, which had a window and view of the street behind the Entrance of the hotel. The window was essential to the room temperature, as the room I was initially given had a slow moving fan only (no window). It is also important to note that at approx. 5am every morning the temple loudspeakers calls everyone in the neighbourhood to prayer ( chanting and group prayer goes for close to an hour), which wasn't a problem for me since I was already up with the dogs and roosters!
The shared bathroom at first glance was a bit worrisome, quite a distance from the rooms, and urinals seemed to be too open for comfort, however, during my 3 day stay I only met one other person in the washroom and felt privacy was not an issue.
There is WiFi available, I f you are on the ground level restaurants (had breakfast there in the morning and did most of my IT stuff then) and they shut it down at 8:30 when the restaurant closes.
It is also noteworthy to mention that one night I came home at 10:30 and had to ringtone get someone to open the lobby gate.
A definite backpackers vibe, the hotel has a communal kitchen and 2 lovely sitting areas, which add to the hotel's charm.
The staff at the hotel are well aged and combined with the young serving staff in the restaurant they all seem like family.
If your looking for casual comfort at a dirt cheap price, this is it.
If you are looking for "spick and span" efficiency, best you pay a bit more and move to a more modern hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We stay in Old Empire for 5days with my girlfriend and we absolutely love it:-)very charming hotel,spaces room with wooden floor,nice restaurant specially two girls waitress. Saying hello to them:-)Hopefuly we will come back sometime.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Levap1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

this hotel does have good location in the centre of kandy, there is no wifi unless you buy something at the restaurant which isnt cheap with a cup of tea for 300 rps.we had a room right at the back down the stair, there is loads of noise from the street, mosque, cockrill, people walking around upstairs this is because there is no door to the street just a gate with a padlock. this also means rats have walked round the rooms when doors have been left open, which is not uncommon in sri lanka but its not nice finding crap on the bed. the main light in the room hangs over the bathroom (which is just a walled off area) and the sleeping area so you only get enough light in the bathroom. we also never really saw any staff except once sitting at some tables in a upstairs seating area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatty_Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#30 of 54 in Kandy
1,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shady Nook Inn
Shady Nook Inn
#27 of 408 in Kandy
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#115 of 408 in Kandy
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Empire Hotel

Property: Olde Empire Hotel
Address: 21 Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 408 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing