We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and decent rooms right in the thick of it”
Review of Olde Empire Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kandy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Empire Hotel
Ranked #115 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and decent rooms right in the thick of it”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We arrived during the Full Moon festival and the way was blocked by a procession of ceremonial elephants! This place is right next to the Temple of the Tooth, so there's always hussle and bustle outside. And it's right in the middle of town. Saw one review complaining of bedbugs; we had no problems like that. Shared bathroom is a bit basic but clean. Food was nice. The balcony is a comfy place to chill out, chat and watch the pilgrims pass by. I liked it; good budget travellers hostel.
And course it is crazy cheap! We couldn't believe the low price; 1800rupes on a festival day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robin_goblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    69
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
17
74
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here just one night. We were attracted by the nicely decorated restaurant (with good food!) downstairs but the hotel is something else! Ok, it was cheap but the blankets didn't smell very fresh, there were holes in the mosquito-net and it was very very hot in the room (no a/c). The staff wasn't at all helpful to remove the mosquito-net so we could put our own net in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is opposite the temple of the Tooth, right in the heart of Kandy. However at 4.30 am the Buddhist monks chant on loud speakers, then the Imam does the call to prayer from the mosque, then the flower sellers start to get their stalls ready outside the hotel. This coupled with the wooden floorboards that run length of hotel, under the plaster position walls all ads to the noise; you can hear people moving their furniture around also. There is a lovely colonial balcony to sit relax and have a drink, but mosquitoes abound! The hotel offers clean towels, however these are threadbare with holes, more like floor cloths. This is all reflected in the price of 20GBP per night without breakfast. This hotel is very clean throughout and they have cheaper rooms with shared bathrooms.

Room Tip: The rooms at front are noisy but the better rooms with private bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67RichardD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

As per review last week - we stayed in a ground floor en-suite room which was terrible.
Very noisy - dogs, sirens, locals clearing throat and noise from upstairs.
As per above review from last week, we also found bedbugs throughout our double bed and therefore had to sleep on the floor.
When we spoke to the management the next morning they seemed to be aware of this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The best part of the Olde Empire is probably the nice balcony which makes you want to rest there for a couple of hours. The cheaper rooms are pretty dark, have no windows and the beds are not very comfortable as well. But it’s cheap! The staff is helpful and the cafe has good but expensive coffee and breakfast. The hotel doesn’t have wifi itself but you can use the cafe’s wifi. You have to purchase some drinks or food though. They also change the password every day but you can ask the staff for the new password. There were nights without internet though, when the cafe closed before you could ask for the new wifi key. All in all it’s probably the hotel with the best flair in town even though it has some weaknesses.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a window, rooms without are pretty depressing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den bosch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

There is no other place in Kandy that is so cheap and just around the corner of the main road. The rooms look nice and clean, but when we were there at least 4 rooms had bedbugs. On the second morning we even saw a woman with her face all red and swollen, it almost looked like an allergic reaction. We left immediatly that same day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanne12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The location of this Hotel doesn't get any better. It is centre to everything that is downtown (banks, bakeries, food city, bus terminals, markets), across the street from the temple, and a stone's throw from Kandy's lake. The atmosphere is very relaxed (never even asked my name) and the cleanliness and quality of the rooms vary. I had room 11, which had a window and view of the street behind the Entrance of the hotel. The window was essential to the room temperature, as the room I was initially given had a slow moving fan only (no window). It is also important to note that at approx. 5am every morning the temple loudspeakers calls everyone in the neighbourhood to prayer ( chanting and group prayer goes for close to an hour), which wasn't a problem for me since I was already up with the dogs and roosters!
The shared bathroom at first glance was a bit worrisome, quite a distance from the rooms, and urinals seemed to be too open for comfort, however, during my 3 day stay I only met one other person in the washroom and felt privacy was not an issue.
There is WiFi available, I f you are on the ground level restaurants (had breakfast there in the morning and did most of my IT stuff then) and they shut it down at 8:30 when the restaurant closes.
It is also noteworthy to mention that one night I came home at 10:30 and had to ringtone get someone to open the lobby gate.
A definite backpackers vibe, the hotel has a communal kitchen and 2 lovely sitting areas, which add to the hotel's charm.
The staff at the hotel are well aged and combined with the young serving staff in the restaurant they all seem like family.
If your looking for casual comfort at a dirt cheap price, this is it.
If you are looking for "spick and span" efficiency, best you pay a bit more and move to a more modern hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 55 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 55 in Kandy
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 55 in Kandy
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charlton Kandy Rest
Charlton Kandy Rest
#122 of 428 in Kandy
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Empire Hotel

Property: Olde Empire Hotel
Address: 21 Temple Street, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing