We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - No Frills”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Nice location - not on top of a great hill - its just a small mount.
Not any great location and views from the hotel.
We arrived at 6 am to find no one at the hotel lobby and had to wait for over 40 mins to find one Hotel Staff who helped us to check-in.
The food was very normal and the same spread was repeated on all days.
So, better to plan for an a-la-carte than the buffet spread.
Location is good - close to most of the Kandy sight-seeing places.
Staff - as in all Sri Lankan hotels are warm and friendly - but helpless.
The beds were so sweaky. The rooms had a strange smell of wood.
Dont know if I will want to stay here again...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MArasu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Good value for what you pay , very friendly staff, the resident manager is a nice person with a lovely smile, the view is grate,

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crishanthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This hotel is really expensive but does not offer what you would expect for that price. The rooms themselves are standard, but the bathrooms in most parts of the hotel are very mouldy. I try to attach some photos so you can see what I mean. When I complained about it, the first reaction was sending someone to clean the bathroom, which of course did not work. Then I was showed some other bathrooms - and they were in the same or even worse state - one shower door broke together when I opened it.Fortunately we were given another room in a newer hotel wing which overlooked the pool area, this room was much nicer. But all rooms in the older hotel wing are in the same miserable state. We were told that they have many tourists there and no one ever complained... I don't know, but look at the pics and judge yourselves if you would pay more than 80 $ for a night there. In my opinion, this may be the case in a cheap 10$-hostel room, but not in a comparably expensive hotel.

The pool looked nice but there are souvenir shops next to the pool, and the shop owners, who hardly have any customers, hang out in front of their shops and stare at the few people swimming there all the time, so we were not keen on doing so.

The breakfast buffet was not of a very good quality either.

The only positive thing I can tell about the hotel is that staff were very friendly. But after all, we were glad when we could leave.

One last tip: We ended up in this hotel because all guesthouses, hostels and nicer hotels in and around Kandy, that looked nice and good, whatever price class, were already full when we tried to book them about 3 days in advance. So if you visit Kandy you might want to book your accomodation in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roland_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Lovely pool and eating area. The room was horrible, especially the shower which was quite dirty. The view wasn't amazing but we could see a buddha from a distance. Closely situated to the centre of town but up a very steep hill so not for the faint hearted if you want to venture out. The food is good but I can't stomach curry for breakfast and it's odd milk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is an average place with less space . But the food is good. If you are planning to travel with kids .this is not a place suite for that cause of the less space.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Chama01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

As a part of my tour package I checked into Hilltop Hotel for 2 days on 23 April 2011 along with my wife and 3 yrs old daughter.

This hotel is a total disaster ! I would not rate this hotel even a two star. Rooms are old - old beds, old linen, dark rooms, rough flooring, split AC ( separate single unit ), 14 Inches television ( this was the most surprising of all ), NO Tea/Coffee making facilities , NO Minibar , NO Refrigerator, No Safe/Locker in the room.

Their reception staff is equally lousy. They take ages to attend internal calls made to reception and on our day of checkout we called up reception twice to have bell boy take our luggage to taxi but NOBODY TURNED UP !

I took three rounds from my room to reception to bring the entire luggage and the reception staff did not even bother to help or feel sorry about. The two females at the reception were busy talking among themselves! Upon asking them abt such a service they both simply asked me to fill the feedback form.

A night before there was some party and they had blaring music up all night and that too abt 10 Feet from our room.

Avoid this place or you will be the next writing another bad review for this property.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndiaGoesGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

As group of 10 of which 3 couples were honeymooners this hotel was not on the holiday itinary.. so we was all terribly disappointed with the level of filth , dirty sheets ( my pillow case had 4 cigarette holes in it, dangerous sockets aand exposed wiring.. we as a collective group insisted that our holiday rep moved us to the stated hotel on the itinary, which he did the next day... though he didnt handle the situation professionally and dissappeared from the hotel.. needless to say his original tip was reduced dramatically due to poor handling of the situation.. courtesy of aitkins.... we all paid alot of money for the sri lankan tour then to fly to the maldives and expected the quality of hotels to flow throughout...... this incident however did not spoil the holiday as we all stuck together and got the matter resolved.. so for anybody doing a similar tour if you end up staying at a hotel not on your itinery and your not happy with the one they put you in, make an issue of it and absolutely insist for the hotel stated, dont just make do your probably spending alot of money, as we all were.

Room Tip: do not stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 57 in Kandy
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#13 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
0 mi away
Jack Tree House Kandy
Jack Tree House Kandy
#30 of 57 in Kandy
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 57 in Kandy
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £41 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing