We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 30 September 2011

A friendly and effective manager and his efficient staff made the hotel a home away from home for my family - 3 adults and 3 children - to which we returned three times during our month long trip through the island to take a rest and prepare fro another trip. It made for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on level 4 or five for the best views of the city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter_veit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

After having read many of the other reviews we were a little apprehensive as to what we would find here. However, as a 2* hotel this was a very adequate hotel. At the end of the day you get what you pay for. We had a lovely big room (triple) and although the beds were rock hard for my liking, my husband and 12 year old daughter were comfortable enough. We only stayed for 2 nights and the food was OK, although for breakfast I had an undercooked fried egg and got food poisoning from it. On the downside the hotel really is at the top of a very steep hill, so we were disappointed that we couldn't venture out. A tuk-tuk would be needed to get down the hill.
Overall an enjoyable stay, and because it was a 2 night stop as part of a privately escorted tour, we were hardly in the hotel much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

my plan was to stay one night at Hilltop but because of the good treatment,clean rooms and toilets and the exelent service I stayed 12 days . when having a problem I found all staff helpfull and around me they like to help without letting you feel like you have to pay them tip .the staff were smiley and helpfull as I mentioned and the management were more helpful and supportive .I will advice my family members and friends to visit the hotel. specially I like to mention Mr. Azmath Hamed the Hotel manager who were really supportive and helped me alot at my visit.
I am a lady from Jordan and used to live in Dubai.

Room Tip: 505 ,510 are good rooms with pool and vally view, very nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manal_mhailan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

(+)
Cheep
Easy to access(only a 10 minutes drive from the Kandy city)
Friendly staff
Sweet delicious desserts...(yum yum)
view was amazing at night
Good for a short period of stay in the city

(-)
Noisy (disturbed by the noise of the wedding function held downstairs)
Bathroom doesn't had a bath tub
The mattress of the bed was very hard
Limited Space

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NETHRA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is in the city centre near the train station where the noise of the trains are heard all nights. The staff are friendly but the rooms are basic with dirty bathrooms and full of moscito due to the srraounding greenary.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RashDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Nice location - not on top of a great hill - its just a small mount.
Not any great location and views from the hotel.
We arrived at 6 am to find no one at the hotel lobby and had to wait for over 40 mins to find one Hotel Staff who helped us to check-in.
The food was very normal and the same spread was repeated on all days.
So, better to plan for an a-la-carte than the buffet spread.
Location is good - close to most of the Kandy sight-seeing places.
Staff - as in all Sri Lankan hotels are warm and friendly - but helpless.
The beds were so sweaky. The rooms had a strange smell of wood.
Dont know if I will want to stay here again...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MArasu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Good value for what you pay , very friendly staff, the resident manager is a nice person with a lovely smile, the view is grate,

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crishanthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.5 mi away
View 360
View 360
#39 of 58 in Kandy
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
748 reviews
1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.8 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 58 in Kandy
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £35 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing