We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warning”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked Hotel Hilltop for our honeymoon mainly because it belonged to Aitken Spence group which is supposed to be one of the leading companies in the hospitality industry in Sri Lanka. When we arrived there, no one was around to take our luggage out of the car. We had to do it ourselves. Once we checked in, the receptionist took us through a hall where a wedding was in progress (we had to keep excusing ourselves and we felt very odd to be there clad in jeans and t shirts), to a restaurant to offer us the welcome drink!!! That was really unprofessional of them. Had she told us the reason to drag us all the way there, when our room was on the opposite side, we'd have told her that we didn't need it. When we declined, she took us to the room. When we booked the hotel online on their site, we mentioned that it was our honeymoon, so we expected the room to be of good condition. But the linen didn't look very clean, the air conditioning didn't work properly and we could hear scraping noises and thuds above us, as if some builders were at work. That was not the kind of honeymoon we had in mind and my wife complained that she doesnt want to stay there and I too agreed. So we gathered up our things and went to the lobby and checked out. We have booked for two days on FB basis and have paid 50% advance on booking. We had to forfeit that but we really had no choice. The hotel was that terrible. But the real disgrace is that our car, being parked in the hotel car park, was damaged during that half an hour we stayed in that horrible place. When we called Aitken Spence head office, a lady called Suzette, claiming to be a PR Coordinator answered and promised to get back to us, but it's been almost 3 weeks before heard anything from her. Even that, after I inquired about it. So if you intend to drive yourselves there, please watch out coz according to them although it's the hotel car park you park "AT YOUR OWN RISK". We had to repair the car at our own cost and it was more than we paid for the hotel. Their answer to our complain that the linen wasn't clean was that the the linen is off white!!! Subsequently we booked into a really nice hotel in Kandy and had a great two days and it just goes to prove that you really get what you pay for. I'm very disappointed at the way the Hotel and Aitken Spence treated us. I thought a group of company like that valued there patrons a bit more than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dinuk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    228
    221
    76
    29
See reviews for
157
258
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We came to Hilltop straight from the airport. Made the booking via agoda, where it said the hotel provides airport pickup. I emailed the hotel couple days before to arrange it with no response. Then called the hotel directly prior to our departure and hotel said they don't provide the service, this was the first minus point. Upon arrival, the staff greeted us friendly, we wend to bed directly, being on the road for such a long time. The location is quite convenient and we chose Hilltop because it was quite OK priced compared to all the other hotels just being outrageously overpriced, what the hell is going on with Sri Lanka?? We booked for one night and decided to stay one more night and asked the manager to extend our stay for more night. He said he cannot help us, that we need to book again via Agoda?!?! Don't they pay commission to them? The rack price given to us was 91 USD, crazy. So we went again to book on Agoda and there was last minute discount for 50USD a night, just how silly and what it demonstrates? The food in the hotel was quite good, ate there once, but quite pricy. The staff speaks very little english, all was very hard to arrange, they new nothing and the service quality is just mediocre, for this kind of money you spend there, wouldn't expect it. The room quality is ok, rooms were fine, couldn't complain here. Overall, we chose Hilltop that is was the cheapest decent location in Kandy, otherwise wouldn't stay there under different circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaviHofm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel located at a hill top in Kandy with nice view. Spacious room with modern bathroom. In fact we had real good shower at this hotel. Clean balcony. Breakfast was buffet and varieties-Mix of Sri Lankan food and Western. Each day certainly different kind of Sri Lankan food. WIFI available but need to be purchased at LKR250 for two hours. Probably this was one of the best hotel in Sri Lanka that we stayed. Though quite near to the city (Driving distance) but the road up to the hill very steep and narrow. But Sri Lankan experienced driver would know how to drive there safely.

Room Tip: Get the swimming pool view rooms if you think will stay in the room longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

A very warm welcome upon arrival staff very friendly food excellent and huge choice of Sri Lankan curries, it is a great place to try out Sri Lankan cuisine. and when we told the management we would be leaving early in the morning to catch the train they supplied a packed lunch and arranged transport to the station

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

the location is nice and very convinient (bus station just a couple of meters away)
rooms very a bit small, but clean (rooms could do with a renovation!!)
food was ok, but we had better buffets on our trip.
this hotel is obviously a wedding location (we had 2 weddings in 2 nights) - it's just during daytime but you can't really use the nice (but small) pool because people starring at you (which I don't like). No free Wifi which is a bit of a dissappointment.
Wanted to go for a massage but the Spa was never occuppied with staff.

Room Tip: top floor - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

For a solo traveller, this is a wrong place. It has everything for a family - location, comfort, huge dining area, swimming pool et al but expensive and no privacy. It is not a three star hotel as claimed. Tucked away on top of a small hill, the approach is steep, but worth it. Hotel patronage is predominantly from South Asian countries. The swimming pool is an eyesore. Every time I had to reach my room or restaurant, I had to go through noisy families splashing water in the pool. Staff is polite. The restaurant was big compared to rooms available with them. Breakfast spread was quite large with a nice assortment of Sri Lankan and continental food and lot of accompaniments. View from room was of Kandy city overlooking some buildings in the front - nothing much to boast about. Overall an uneventful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

nice location and quiet. food is ok, but we had better buffets on this trip.
no free wifi!!!!! and we had 2 weddings going on as well which means you can't use the poolarea unless you like staring people around you.

Room Tip: top floor - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kandy
698 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 55 in Kandy
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
775 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing