We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High on the Hill”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High on the Hill”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel, as the name implies, is situated on a hill overlooking the city of Kandy. Although there was no welcome drink on arrival, the staff were always friendly and helpful. Our room was only a short walk to the reception area. The red, white and black colour scheme was cheerful and fresh. There were tea and coffee making facilities. However, the jug cord was very short and there was no dedicated power outlet. We had to plug it into the bedside light outlet with the jug on the bedside table. The ensuite was compact but perfectly adequate. I was able to do some washing and hang it on a wooden clothes airer and put it out on the balcony to dry (hoping that the monkeys would not come and steal it!) The spacious dining area overlooked the town and there was a lovely swimming pool. We did not want a big meal but we were able to order nice food from their ‘snack menu’. The buffet breakfast was very nice with a good selection of food. Their yoghurt is particularly nice.
A very nice hotel but a long walk into town with a steep climb back up the hill.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_2hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    224
    218
    76
    28
See reviews for
154
253
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews of this hotel, we approached this eyrie on the hilltop with trepidation. We were pleasantly surprised!
Despite the early hour, staff were welcoming. They sat us in the nice breezy lounge, gave us a drink, and called us as soon as they had cleaned our room.
The room was large, cool, cheerfully decorated in traditional white, red, and black. Our balcony overlooked the big clean pool and the hills across the valley.
Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice for Sri Lankans, Muslim and Chinese and Western tourists. Wait staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The laundry service was prompt and clothes well washed and ironed.
The downside? Well, the negative reviews raised some valid points. The rooms are clean, but being older, not "sparkling".
My husband emerged from the bathroom looking distinctly more youthful, thanks to the "black shine" shampoo he had used without reading the label. Suggest a neutral shampoo would be a better choice!
There was much testosterone-fueled noise from the pool late one afternoon as a group of Sri Lankan boys tried vainly to attract the attention of two bikini-clad tourists. The girls ignored them totally and somehow steadfastly focussed on their Maeve Binchy or Dan Brown
novels.
Yes, the hill is very steep. Of course it is! Get a tuk-tuk up, walk down, folks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

On arrival staff were unwelcoming and unfriendly. (young lady in particular). Room tired and needing renovation. Bathroom a disgrace. Food of a good standard. Restaurant staff : average. Chefs very friendly and hard-working. Overall a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We were unlucky to get a room at the old building (room 209 to be exact). Too many stairs, very inconvenient for my 68 year old parents. Poor lighting along the corridor.

The room was ok - clean, quite spacious. Coffee making facility, Fox movie channel available, sadly no wi-fi.

Food was ok, we were told everything was halal. When asked further, there was 1 non-halal dish, they put next to halal food. Quite dissappointing. They should have labelled the non halal dish.

Except for the swimming pool, I do not know what other activities they have there.

It was pretty quiet when we stayed there, did get a good sleep.

Room Tip: choose room near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emyliamohdnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here because we couldn't get a hotel elsewhere during Perehera time. There may be a renovated section, but we were in the older wing. it is well and truly ready for a renovation.
Food is basic, small pool, very steep hill to reach the hotel, need to take 3 wheeler in and out of town and even up the hill it's so steep.Reception staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Enquire about the renovated section
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here a night on our second day in Sri Lanka. The hotel is situated on a green hill surrounded by cooling breeze and a quite ambiance, welcomed with a iced fresh papaya juice. We checked in and walked thru a veranda passing by the swimming pool to our room.The hotel rooms just underwent a refurbishment process and the hotel building was newly painted.
The room was very spacious and clean but definitely can be better when it comes to cleanliness. The rooms comes with a balcony facing a hill view and have basic facilities.
Internet access is available on request with charges. Friendly and warm staffs.
Since the hotel is on a hill, there is no shops or restaurants really near (walking distance) unless you have your own transport.
We came back to the hotel about 7pm after visiting Kandy and spent a nice quiet evening by the pool side.
Not forgetting we also enjoyed the delicious breakfast before saying goodbye to this Eco-friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Hill view rooms will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is on a hill and getting transport is a difficulty unless you have your own. Rooms are okay but you need to walk a bit to reach your room going through the bar and circling the swimming pool. No complaints but just average hotel and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
689 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 54 in Kandy
1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing