We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
crazylass
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late October. The room was spacious although the bathroom could have done with an upgrade but everything seemed clean enough. The room overlooked the pool and we opened our balcony door all the time and were't troubled with monkey's. We found the buffet interesting and varied for breakfast and dinner, which is lucky because there really isn't anywhere else to eat nearby. The pool was clean and lovely to sit by in the afternoon.
staff are a bit pushy but we just did our best to ignore them most of time. There is quite a bit of noise form the nearby train station but on the whole it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    220
    217
    76
    28
See reviews for
153
251
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jindrichuv Hradec, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was first time in Sri Lanka and this was the third hotel in our journey. Some people write there that they heard some noise from trains, but I heard nothing even if I slept in room with the view on Kandy, not swimming pool. I have seen no monkeys and the bath room was clean. I should reccomend the cooks. The cook was preparing spicy meat and I don't eat spicy meal. He was so helpful and in two minutes he fried an non spicy chicken for me. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

super old building and rooms but was on par with similar priced hotels in kandy. bed linen stained. restaurant was nice however pushy. i had to ask the head waiter for the a la carte menu 3 times before he would show me, kept pushing the buffet at 1800 rps per head. we thought the live music was pleasant until they serenaded us as we were about to leave and asked if we would buy their cd. most of the staff were friendly. wifi was 200 rps for one hour and slow. buffet breakfast was good. would be a great hotel if they refurbished rooms and were a little less pushy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a good time at Hotel Hill top, Kandy. Spend 2 nights in Oct'12. Nice rooms as well.
Only thing to watch out are the insects. As it is located on a hill & lot of greenery around you mighgt see quite a few lizards & insects.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmanRayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

We had a two nights stay here . Breakfast buffet was fantastic. Good Sri Lankan spread and American breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets were OK not much of a spread like five star hotels . We can give average. Staff service was excellent and friendly all the time. We stayed in the old building. Thus the rooms were not that modern however we found clean and confortable. This old building/rooms in the old wing need to be refurbished . But can expect GOOD value for money for a budget traveller/ guest .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Did we have hitches but the staff are friendly and breakfast delicious.
Had problems with AC and hot water. But got it rectified after bringing it to the notice of the service staff.
Bath room closets had problem in draining the water.
Clean and approachable to all nicer locations of the city.

Room Tip: Good for one day stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avid_traveller7267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel is located on top of a hill in Kandy and is quite a climb and distance from any shop. Nice place but the rooms could have been done up better. Also the bath room was stinking. Loved the resturant over looking the city and has a nice pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roysterdsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing