We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather idiosyncratic, but stylish and generally comfortable”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 4 December 2012

There seemed to be a lot of things that didn't work quite as they should do here - curtains that didn't draw, TV that wouldn't work properly, lights that I couldn't fathom out, wetroom-style bathroom where everything got soaked ... The room was stylish and comfortable, though, with a view over the town, though to get to it you had to cut across muddy flowerbeds. This was because access had been barricaded off, possibly to stop water from flowing into the rooms - certainly there was a lot of sweeping of surface water going on. So everything looked very smart, but the reality didn't live up to it. But it was OK - clean, and the food was fine.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed here with a group. The hotel is very nice and very well located in Kandy. The staff are friendly and courteous. If anything, they were perhaps a little too attentive in the restaurant but I don't particularly like having my chair moved for me so perhaps I am being over critical! The menu was good and the food excellent. There was a large party of Sri Lankans having dinner while we were there which is always a good sign. All in all - recommended but remember to heed the hotel warning and keep your balcony door closed to avoid nosy monkeys!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackcatsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here three nights after our original hotel let us down.
Our travel agent hat illy arranged this as an alternative and we were lucky to stay here as kandy very busy this weekend.
This is a Very accommodating hotel with excellent food, good bar and pool and great attentive friendly staff.
Glad we stayed here instead!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late October. The room was spacious although the bathroom could have done with an upgrade but everything seemed clean enough. The room overlooked the pool and we opened our balcony door all the time and were't troubled with monkey's. We found the buffet interesting and varied for breakfast and dinner, which is lucky because there really isn't anywhere else to eat nearby. The pool was clean and lovely to sit by in the afternoon.
staff are a bit pushy but we just did our best to ignore them most of time. There is quite a bit of noise form the nearby train station but on the whole it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was first time in Sri Lanka and this was the third hotel in our journey. Some people write there that they heard some noise from trains, but I heard nothing even if I slept in room with the view on Kandy, not swimming pool. I have seen no monkeys and the bath room was clean. I should reccomend the cooks. The cook was preparing spicy meat and I don't eat spicy meal. He was so helpful and in two minutes he fried an non spicy chicken for me. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

super old building and rooms but was on par with similar priced hotels in kandy. bed linen stained. restaurant was nice however pushy. i had to ask the head waiter for the a la carte menu 3 times before he would show me, kept pushing the buffet at 1800 rps per head. we thought the live music was pleasant until they serenaded us as we were about to leave and asked if we would buy their cd. most of the staff were friendly. wifi was 200 rps for one hour and slow. buffet breakfast was good. would be a great hotel if they refurbished rooms and were a little less pushy

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We had a good time at Hotel Hill top, Kandy. Spend 2 nights in Oct'12. Nice rooms as well.
Only thing to watch out are the insects. As it is located on a hill & lot of greenery around you mighgt see quite a few lizards & insects.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmanRayet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 57 in Kandy
833 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Sunrich
Hotel Sunrich
#42 of 57 in Kandy
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 57 in Kandy
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 57 in Kandy
1,357 reviews
0 mi away
Jack Tree House Kandy
Jack Tree House Kandy
#30 of 57 in Kandy
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel See Kandy
Hotel See Kandy
#48 of 57 in Kandy
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £41 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing