We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on the Hillside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Doha
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the Hillside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here. We spent 2 nights at the hotel, most of the time it poured with rain but my children still enjoyed the pool. They also liked the table tennis room. The staff were really lovely, polite, helpful and so friendly. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and their was a great selection of western and Sri Lankan food. Rooms were good, comfy beds and decent minibar. Prices were average for Sri Lanka. I managed to put my foot through one of the stones covering the drain and hurt my shin and the staff could not have been more concerned. They brought ice and the staff in the restaurant all came to see if I was ok. We didn't do the steep walk up and down the hill but I would imagine this to be the only draw back if you were on foot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DohaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Madam,

We are happy to note that you had a great stay of 02 nights at our hotel. Thank you for the very positive comments you have made about the staff and the product. We hope you will come again to spend another holiday with us.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thanking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    209
    209
    75
    27
See reviews for
146
241
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

As the name suggests, the Hotel is perched atop a Hill in central Kandy. The gradient to reach this hotel is very steep but as long as you are not climbing, vehicles can manages this. The Hotel overlooks the main Kandy town (railway station, Bus stand, Hospital and other govt buildings), and some hills in near distance, if the weather is good you may find clouds gathering over those hills. The common areas (restaurant, Bar, swimming pool are very good, spacious and airy, rooms though look a bit dated. Monkey menace seems to be a big issue as we were informed to keep the balcony doors closed always, despite awesome weather outside we couldn't enjoy it much from our rooms. if views from rooms is a major requirement than I'm sure there will be other properties offering better views of mountains and town.

The food is good, loved the Sri Lankan cuisine that they served. The front desk & restaurant staff was always courteous and smiling. The swimming pool was good and inviting, other facilities include Table tennis, carom & snooker (paid). There were some shops in the Hotel but we couldn’t find time to check those out.

One major grouse was the quality of bed and sound insulation, the bed was not comfortable, the mattress unevenly bent with feeling of coir/spring touching your back and any walls were thin as we could hear all the noises from our neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: we were on 5th floor, the rooms overlooking the pool also had better views of mountains, other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharthchats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
I have taken necessary steps to improve the quality of mattress.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank You.

Yours Faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I recently went to have a dinner with my friends to the Hilltop hotel, the Dinner was very good! good hotel! clean restaurant,good food, friendly staff. hotel was very nice and attractive, the decorations of the hotel was very attractive

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilakshika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and glad you enjoyed Dinner. Your kind comments are very much valued. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

this hotel is stituated in a very steep road yet central location to many attractions in kandy. In an accessible distance you can find many small hotels and departmental stores. I had a chance to witness srilankan wedding too ;) during my stay. the rooms are decent enough and service is promt,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AishwaryaOnAStroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank You.

Yours Faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We combined a 4 day tour with a 10 day stay in the maldives. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights was a nice hotel but was very dated, we got the impression that it was once a 1st class hotel but has not progressed with the times. Food was great uf you liked curry, if you dont its a little bit harder to find something. The food also seemed to be cold as well no matter what time you went. We found the waiters really rude, we were still eating when they came and asked us to pay for our drinks. The views are amazing and that slightly makes up for lacking of the hotel overall. The 1st hotel was much better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the minor short-comings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I very humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience you had to undergo due to our negligence.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.


Yours Faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

First Impression wasn't that good because bill and i had to argue with the front desk, it was fully booked.they gave us two rooms appreciated for that it was Christmas eve.we enjoyed dinner..
I think Christmas Carroll and band played in the dining area the food was great and the service too. a heavy crowed was there food and beverage management had to arrange extra seating for guests, that was quite a good idea,than keeping guests in the waiting area specially in Christmas eve.
Room was OK fully equipped bathroom .passage cleanliness also good. so i think this hotel is high potential..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the stay. Your kind comments are very much valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Thank you.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This has got to be the worst place i have ever stayed at,
Dirty, bad service (i can actually say no service), bad location, dirty worn out rooms,
We were not able to sleep, we had to actually find a department store and buy towels and pillow covers, there is no sound proof, you hear everything in the rooms surrounding you.
I think it might have been cleaner to camp outside than to stay in this dump.
the breakfast buffet was catering more to the flies than the poeple.
Everything was covered in black flies EVERYTHING. it was so nasty and dirty.
watcch out for the expensive tuktuks outside this hotel, the staff seem to have an agreement with certain tuktuk drivers and they will rip you off.

Room Tip: my advice is save yourself the trouble. please dont stay here. its a shame that its still open, i d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimaDooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel H, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir,

My apologies to you for the bad experience you'll had at Hotel Hilltop.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Thanking you for yours comments which was very helpful to us.

Yours Faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#10 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.5 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing