We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth to stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
male maldives
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth to stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went to hilltop for 3 nights for us it good experience & good value for money. room was comfortable and clean. small issue is no balcony for new wing. the buffet was good buffet staff & restaurant staff are helpful. room attendant & front office staff friendly. we are in hospitality industry with our experience they are level they all given good service to us. I really hope we will be able to return one day soon rather than later.

Room Tip: New Wing room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dumi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us for 03 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks from guests who are in hospitality industry like you and would like to thank you for your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure when we are aware that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    212
    210
    76
    28
See reviews for
148
245
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

First time we stay in hill top hotel, the first night it was ok but the second night we encounter a staff who has a attitude to think the hotel is 4 star, the management should train there colleague how to handle a guest. He was insisting us to dine on table where we did not like to sit. Me & my wife want a table close to the buffet area and he was insisting that is for 6 pax only. But the restaurant is not even half full and only about 10 or 12 guest were at the restaurant. He really didn't won't us to sit there but really insist sitting near the buffet area and then another colleague came to us and said it is find to sit there. Then on the next day instead of asking for our room number he just walk in to our table and grab our room key to check our room number. This is totally invading our personal space.

The room we receive is with city view. Next day they show us room with the pool view but that room was old style and smelly, we have decided to stay where we were, since it was a newly renovated room and it's clean. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and they make sure our room is clean and the service was excellent. Generally the service is ok at the restaurant except for some colleagues has an attitude.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop for 02 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Entering the hotel made feel contented as a lady came in and greeted us with a big smile. Thereafter the reception staff looked into everything till the time we went to the room. Mornings usually we were outside but when we came back everyone was so helpful. The rooms were in very good condition. I think this is a great holiday destination and one of the best hotels in Kandy for everyone. We recommend this hotel to any traveler coming to Kandy.
Morning breakfast was one of the best we ever had in Sri Lanka. Situated ten minutes away from town is one good thing about the hotel. The only difficulty we came across was accessing the internet (Wi-fi) because they did not have it free.
Talking about the restaurant not one steward all looked into our matters. Friendly staff with great food to enjoy. The evening band playing at dinner also was excellent and lovely to hear. The scorching heat was summoned by the large pool that they offered us. Great entertainment as me and my husband played a good game of billiards.
Overall we had a great stay and we enjoyed the hospitality of this hotel. Three cheers to the management!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madushika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to see your positive comments about our staff and product. We will take necessary steps to sort out the WI-FI problem .Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

i enjoyed to stay in this hotel because of the location, breakfast, friendly staff and valuable price. from the window of my guest room, you can see whole city of kandy in your view. the kangeroo jumping among the trees. very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: city view room if you want to look the whole city of kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetripthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you have really enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hilltop and the view from the top is lovely. The room was spacious and we found it to be comfortable. Breakfast was also good, with plenty of choice. The bathroom possibly needed a little updating, and it had a bit of a musty smell - this could have been because of the recent wet weather though. My husband found the noise from the trains a little distracting at times, yet I found it comforting, knowing I wasn't on one of them!! One thing we would have liked to have seen was free wifi - in this day and age, it seems a bit archaic to be charging, even if it was offered for free in shared areas such as the restaurant or Reception area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We only stayed in this hotel one night for the beginning of our tour, but the it was lovely. Made to feel welcome Food was excellent & the staff were warm & helpful. It seemed to be a quiet place, so I don't think it would be suitable to any boisterous kids!
Room was clean, tidy & fresh. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

THis hotel has some poor reviews. I do not know if these impacted on our stay. We found;
1. a newly refurbiushed room with wonderful views of Kandy and the railway...we were so high up that is was like looking at a model railway
2. staff very eager to please and make our stay pleasurable
3. good buffet
4. excellent musical entertainnment

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheltenhamsparkle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. We are happy to note that you were really enjoyed your stay with us .Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your great remarks on staff and products.

We look forward to serving you once again at Hilltop.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing