We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our wedding was at hilltop and it was awonderful venue. The reception area was quiet spaces for function of 200. Fiid was wonderful !!! We stayed at the hotel on very same day and rooms are ok. Above all I love their food and night buffet was great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirmal788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop to have your wedding ceremony and posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. My team & I are delighted to see your great remarks on staff and products. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your wedding ceremony and your stay at Hotel Hilltop, which would no doubt be very useful for future wedding couples.

I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Once again we wish both of you a happy wedded life.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    219
    217
    76
    28
See reviews for
153
250
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Well, whenever we decide to go to Kandy we always try to visit Maligawa for the morning puja, this is one of the best 2 places which are near by which would serve that purpose right. Well, do expect much as for a 2 star budget Hotel, Good Food, Average Rooms, Small Hotel for a FAIR deal which is ideal for a single day stay to cover up Maligawa, Kandy around for sure. If you want more i am sure there are plenty of hotels to reach to.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool side was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumudu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks and would like to thank you for your kind comments.We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel is in one of kandy's scenic location.
The hotel has a great view of the city.
The entrance to the hotel was excellent as an individual came up-to us and greeted us with a huge smile. After we were done with filling the details they ushered us to the room and on the way they gave us all information of the hotel which was a great thing. They showed us the restaurant and also the pool.

As we entered the allocated room, the usherer explained in detail what is there in the room. Excellent service until the time we entered the room.
The baggage's was also quick to reach the room.
The rooms were excellent and in good quality.
Clean and neat and also prompt services.

The restaurant was excellent friendly staff and had great food.
Rice and curry was great three cheers to the chef.

Overall great place to stay in...
Love the stay..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. My team & I are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your stay at Hotel Hilltop, which would no doubt be very useful for future travelers.

We are deeply appreciative about your positive comments regarding our service and facilities.

I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
male maldives
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went to hilltop for 3 nights for us it good experience & good value for money. room was comfortable and clean. small issue is no balcony for new wing. the buffet was good buffet staff & restaurant staff are helpful. room attendant & front office staff friendly. we are in hospitality industry with our experience they are level they all given good service to us. I really hope we will be able to return one day soon rather than later.

Room Tip: New Wing room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dumi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us for 03 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks from guests who are in hospitality industry like you and would like to thank you for your kind comments. It gives us great pleasure when we are aware that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First time we stay in hill top hotel, the first night it was ok but the second night we encounter a staff who has a attitude to think the hotel is 4 star, the management should train there colleague how to handle a guest. He was insisting us to dine on table where we did not like to sit. Me & my wife want a table close to the buffet area and he was insisting that is for 6 pax only. But the restaurant is not even half full and only about 10 or 12 guest were at the restaurant. He really didn't won't us to sit there but really insist sitting near the buffet area and then another colleague came to us and said it is find to sit there. Then on the next day instead of asking for our room number he just walk in to our table and grab our room key to check our room number. This is totally invading our personal space.

The room we receive is with city view. Next day they show us room with the pool view but that room was old style and smelly, we have decided to stay where we were, since it was a newly renovated room and it's clean. Housekeeping staff are very friendly and they make sure our room is clean and the service was excellent. Generally the service is ok at the restaurant except for some colleagues has an attitude.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop for 02 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Entering the hotel made feel contented as a lady came in and greeted us with a big smile. Thereafter the reception staff looked into everything till the time we went to the room. Mornings usually we were outside but when we came back everyone was so helpful. The rooms were in very good condition. I think this is a great holiday destination and one of the best hotels in Kandy for everyone. We recommend this hotel to any traveler coming to Kandy.
Morning breakfast was one of the best we ever had in Sri Lanka. Situated ten minutes away from town is one good thing about the hotel. The only difficulty we came across was accessing the internet (Wi-fi) because they did not have it free.
Talking about the restaurant not one steward all looked into our matters. Friendly staff with great food to enjoy. The evening band playing at dinner also was excellent and lovely to hear. The scorching heat was summoned by the large pool that they offered us. Great entertainment as me and my husband played a good game of billiards.
Overall we had a great stay and we enjoyed the hospitality of this hotel. Three cheers to the management!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madushika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to see your positive comments about our staff and product. We will take necessary steps to sort out the WI-FI problem .Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

i enjoyed to stay in this hotel because of the location, breakfast, friendly staff and valuable price. from the window of my guest room, you can see whole city of kandy in your view. the kangeroo jumping among the trees. very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: city view room if you want to look the whole city of kandy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetripthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that you have really enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#7 of 54 in Kandy
997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing