We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights nov 2013. Staff are very helpful and pleasant but its Very noisy, paper thin walls, muslim chanting at 5am - 6.15am from loudspeakers outside hotel on hill for whole town to hear. Even with double glazed windows closed its impossible to sleep through. Take ear plugs for that and sound of trains below and the constant chatter of people (Buddhist monks on mobile phones) in the corridor. Hotel generally run down. However the room was ok, reasonably modern and clean. Also its at the top of v steep drive so difficult to go anywhere on foot and we are pretty fit and able. Food mediocre and drinks expensive, water 180Rs Beer 440Rs. Wifi is 250Rs per Hour!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy5owu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop for 02 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    212
    210
    76
    28
See reviews for
148
245
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Hilltop from 7th to the 9th of Nov. The hotel is located on top of a hill and has a very scenic view. The staff is quite courteous and always willing to help. I had specially asked for a cake and they ensured that it met our requirements.
However, the hotel rooms leave a lot of scope for improvement! With some basic amenities that have been supplemented by amenities like a music system makes you wonder the thought behind it. Furniture felt quite rickety and had a very "old feel" to it.
Food was just about average and their buffet rates were quite expensive... lot more than better hotels that i had stayed at!
This is a basic hotel and I would not consider it a 2 star.. However, it is definitely able to provide a decent roof to the backpacker so I would not call it a complete no.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeosthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned shortcomings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

hotel badly requires renovation and repair. The linen provided was dirty and when we asked for replacement after several reminders, we again got unclean ones. The bathroom shower cubicle glassdoor was coming off and precariously hanging (photo attached) On the positive side the live music band playing in the restaurant was very good and engaging !

Room Tip: check if you are getting any new rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed with family during mid October (2013). let me first say what I like about Hilltop; people at reception were cordial. The interior of the room with red-black theme is warm and impressive. You get a nice view of the pool from the balcony. The food menu offers good options.
There are few things that probably the management can't help, one; the access to the hotel from the main road, make sure your driver has necessary maneuvering skills, second the view of the town from the balcony is not at all impressive.
Then there are things which lie in the hands of the management; floor of the room in during the night was flooded with big red ants, this is something which scared us. I am sure management is aware of this menace. The night was cold and hotel did not bother to provide us with blankets despite three calls to house-keeping and reception, we some how managed. Loud music went on till late in the night, which is a punishment for exhausted tourists who want to have some good sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid pool facing room for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prakashmarch31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the minor short-comings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I very humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience you had to undergo due to our negligence.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

me and my friend stayed here last sept first week, while on our way going to kandy as we stayed first in colombo for 2 nights is getting me more excited as all the view are very green and the weather getting bit colder. upon arrival we been greeted by a guy which is good to start and the lady from reception giving us the form to fill up. when we get our key we been assisted by a bellboy i thought we go straight to our room, but he advice us to passby to the restaurant first to have a drinks ( a real fresh papaya juice). our room was good nice view from the mountain and one thing that makes me happy while im staying to this hotel in the afternoon while having my cigaratte in the balcony im watching the monkeys playing on the trees going up to the roof of their restaurant. The breakfast restaurant is nice lot of choices. also the buffet in the dinner is good and the price so affordable. one thing that i been noticed the staff are not wearing shoes or slippers? but that not a problem might part of the culture of the country. this hotel also very near to all the tourist spot. Cultural dance theater, tooth temple,the lagoon and the local kandy markets where i did my souvenir shoppings.. Just a AMAZING stay in this hotel. Looking forward for my 2nd visit to sri lanka and 1 thing for sure ill be stay here again and again. The moving elephant in front of the hotel is also a plus for the hotel :)... to all the staff specially the bellboy who assisted us upon arrival THANK YOU SO MUCH.. keep up the good service. :)

Room Tip: rooms direct view from the mountain:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twin_t0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you.Thank you very much for your positive comments made about our staff , food and facilities. We are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

we were at kandy for two days. we didn’t like kandy city as it was not what we expected. but at the same time we did enjoy the hotel stay. room were huge & beautifully decorated. though they have 2 - 3 menu but we didn’t find anything intersecting in it , but we loved their buffet spread. about staff i would say they were really very very helpful in every thing. hotel ambiance & their location was also good. overall nice experience with hilltop.

Room Tip: rooms with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maqsud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks and would like to thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

It's hard to rate this hotel as it was part of a taylor made holiday/tour so I don't know what was paid. However on the tour it was the weakest of the hotels. The room itself was OK with good air con a bed that was ok and a decent TV. The shower was lovely it flowed with a good pressure. But where it fell short was the lack of (drinking) water provided even for the kettle , there was a jug but in 3 nights it was never refilled. The noise from outside is loud and the windows offer no sound proofing , with train horns in the early hours. That said the rooms offered a great view of Kandy .The hotel hosted a wedding so there were children running around making a noise too. The food wasn't too great either , only enjoyed my dinner 1 out of 3 nights but did enjoy breakfast . I found the staff hard work too walking off with my credit card when I paid for a round of drinks !!! And in the case of reception looking at pictures of girls in their underwear whilst I'm standing around for 5 minutes, not a problem them passing the time that way, but please keep one eye out for guests ! In short , I would not stay here again and am disappointed with the tour operators choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyG32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about staff, food and the location. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#43 of 53 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing