We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Pune
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were a bit anxious when we did not receive a confirmation reply on email from this hotel. But the message had already reached there in advance.
We were very warmly welcomed by the staff who also gave their assistance in arranging Tuk Tuk for site seeing.
The breakfast was very good. The Christmas lighting was underway and was looking good. The Kandy view from this hotel is also very good.
The Tuk Tuk charge anything but I could negotiate with the help of the desk staff. It would be worthwhile if a pick up and drop to railways station is arranged by the hotel.
Overall a pleasant stay for 3 days.

Room Tip: The rooms below restaurant give a good view of Kandy Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VasantSundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying 03 days with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see the great remarks and would like to thank you for your kind comments. I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    214
    215
    76
    28
See reviews for
151
247
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

we had a goo stay in thsi hotel. The rooms were ok and food was good. The breakfast was good compare to dinner which lack varieties. The service was a concern. I lost my mobile from my room on the day of check out. After compaining to reception they overall did not bother get the mobile. In fact room was cleaned up before we could check out at reception and handover the keyys. Overall something was fishy and not as normal. In case people check in this hotel should really take care of their belongings. Do not tell them to take away the luggage till you check out and hand over the keys.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suhas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for selecting and staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Dxb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for 2 N in this hotel,Rooms are Excellent & hospitality is admirable.It was our 1st hotel we choose to stay in our trip.We were convenient with the location,Over all Experience is Memorable ... Rated as 3 *,but they have maintained as 4 *.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sreezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor. My team & I are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are grateful to you for sharing all information concerning your stay at Hotel Hilltop, which would no doubt be very useful for future travelers.

We are deeply appreciative about your positive comments regarding our service and facilities.

I also want to take this opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Hilltop and assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights nov 2013. Staff are very helpful and pleasant but its Very noisy, paper thin walls, muslim chanting at 5am - 6.15am from loudspeakers outside hotel on hill for whole town to hear. Even with double glazed windows closed its impossible to sleep through. Take ear plugs for that and sound of trains below and the constant chatter of people (Buddhist monks on mobile phones) in the corridor. Hotel generally run down. However the room was ok, reasonably modern and clean. Also its at the top of v steep drive so difficult to go anywhere on foot and we are pretty fit and able. Food mediocre and drinks expensive, water 180Rs Beer 440Rs. Wifi is 250Rs per Hour!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy5owu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop for 02 nights. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Hotel Hilltop from 7th to the 9th of Nov. The hotel is located on top of a hill and has a very scenic view. The staff is quite courteous and always willing to help. I had specially asked for a cake and they ensured that it met our requirements.
However, the hotel rooms leave a lot of scope for improvement! With some basic amenities that have been supplemented by amenities like a music system makes you wonder the thought behind it. Furniture felt quite rickety and had a very "old feel" to it.
Food was just about average and their buffet rates were quite expensive... lot more than better hotels that i had stayed at!
This is a basic hotel and I would not consider it a 2 star.. However, it is definitely able to provide a decent roof to the backpacker so I would not call it a complete no.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeosthale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to post your reviews on the Trip Advisor.

I have taken necessary steps to sort out all mentioned shortcomings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop.

Your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

hotel badly requires renovation and repair. The linen provided was dirty and when we asked for replacement after several reminders, we again got unclean ones. The bathroom shower cubicle glassdoor was coming off and precariously hanging (photo attached) On the positive side the live music band playing in the restaurant was very good and engaging !

Room Tip: check if you are getting any new rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed with family during mid October (2013). let me first say what I like about Hilltop; people at reception were cordial. The interior of the room with red-black theme is warm and impressive. You get a nice view of the pool from the balcony. The food menu offers good options.
There are few things that probably the management can't help, one; the access to the hotel from the main road, make sure your driver has necessary maneuvering skills, second the view of the town from the balcony is not at all impressive.
Then there are things which lie in the hands of the management; floor of the room in during the night was flooded with big red ants, this is something which scared us. I am sure management is aware of this menace. The night was cold and hotel did not bother to provide us with blankets despite three calls to house-keeping and reception, we some how managed. Loud music went on till late in the night, which is a punishment for exhausted tourists who want to have some good sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid pool facing room for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prakashmarch31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the minor short-comings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I very humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for any inconvenience you had to undergo due to our negligence.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned short comings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#40 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing