We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can anybody help??”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
leicestershire, england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“can anybody help??”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

im due to stay in February and was wondering if any body had any contact email address for this hotel? manager/front staff etc.... Be ever so grateful if any body could help me. many thanks in advance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank denise002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    214
    214
    76
    28
See reviews for
151
246
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed there for 1 night. Hotel has no lifts. Our room was in minus 2 floor. We found some aged people finding difficult to move down.

We liked the quality of service (house keeping, TV repair) and breakfast (veg spread avaialble).
We did not like house keeping, room ambiance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us . We look forward to having you with us again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We checked-in here on the day of 24-Dec and stayed for 2 days with the family. The service was great and we were very happy. The food was good, lot of options from the buffet and fresh. Rooms are clean and neat. We stayed on the pool facing room with a balcony and could enjoy the christmas band and celebration from the room.
My 5 yr old enjoyed swimming in the pool which was clean and lit with fire on the sides. The hotel itself is on top of a hill and you can get a good view of Kandy, which also happened to be the cultural capital of Srilanka. The place is as if you are in the midst of nature and ambience is rustic giving you the relaxing feeling. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpradyumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying 02 nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend a another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We arrived mid afternoon and it took sometime to check in although the hotel didn't appear busy. Very steep entry road for the car. The english of the staff was not so good so be careful to ask very direct and closed questions. It was a long way from the reception to the room. With no lifts and rooms going down the hill, you certainly need the help of a bag boy. There was no wifi at all for the 2 nights we were here which was very annoying. All they could tell us was 'big problem' and 'no internet'. I did note that other guests were offered use of the hotel computer for a surcharge! This seemed contradictory to the problem! The buffet was adequate. It was very intrusive to have a 4 piece 'band' coming around and playing at your table each night then trying to sell you their CD. I certainly didn't appreciate this especially when you have to wrestle with touting throughout any tours/site visits taken all over Sri Lanka - even at the airport! The room was adequate with enough space for share twin and a good shower. Prayer times at 5:30, 12pm and 6pm were quite loud but you have to respect that in this country! On checkout, I had to query the different prices charged for the same drinks and this took some time to rectify with the manager not really wanting to deal with it and giving a totally inadequate and inaccurate response. It wasn't a lot of money but the principle behind it was not good for business - it seemed that waiters were making up prices and not labelling receipts descriptively.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweeds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. We believe that this gives us the opportunity to correct and improve ourselves. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. We look forward to having you with us again and we assure you our best services at all times.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Located on a hill top as the name suggest, the hotel has a good view of the city.

The reception staff at the hotel was not too friendly and i had to ask how to goto my room etc. also restaurant times and other details which are normally given at the guest briefing was not done. So it was not the normal Sri Lankan warm welcome.

The floors are below the reception floor up to 3 levels down with NO LIFT ! also the stairs are narrow so i worry when it comes to an emergency. The stairs are hardly enough for 2 people to pass each other. i know that this is a old hotel that has gone through some renovation but isn't it a must to have an elevator added these days ?? so if ur a person (or if ur traveling with a person) with disabilities then maybe this is not the hotel.

Rooms are newly refurbished, but i felt some finishing touches were missing. for eg. no bottle opener in the room as advertised in the room service directory and the waste bin was broken etc. with a bit of more attention to detail this could be a good hotel in the average hotels category.

On a positive side the food was great and the restaurant staff especially went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Even going to the extent of making some special food for an infant we had by even sending it to the room next day etc.

Room Tip: ask for rooms at the reception level so u can avoid the stairs as they have no elevator and the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roshan_Withanage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about staff and the food. We have taken necessary steps to sort out the shortcoming that you have mentioned and we look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel takes its name from its location on top of a hill. Driving along a winding road, my partner and I reached the hotel and were greeted by a friendly porter. The lobby did not strike us as particularly impressive and looks its age. If you like old world charm, this hotel would suit you just fine.
After we checked in, we were shown to the restaurant where welcome drinks were served, which was a nice touch. Our room overlooked the pool and beyond that, a spectacular view of the city. Beware of monkeys though, so ensure your balcony doors are kept closed. An issue I had was the lack of a wireless hot spot. When we were there, a breakdown in their server resulted in much inconvenience to us, being in a foreign country without any form of communication. Furthermore, when asked about it, the reception staff mentioned I could use their computer at a minimal charge! Imagine being charged for the use of the computer when it should be complimentary.
Lastly, one would require a chauffeur driver to venture out beyond the hotel as the city center was quite a drive away. Local shops littered the road at the base of the hotel.
Service was not the best, but the hotel compensated for that with its charm.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CCHSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your reviews were discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. However, we are happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again and we assure you our best services at all times.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The location of the hotel is pretty good in terms of the view of the rooms but the service is pathetic and the room quality is very bad as well. The reception is at floor zero and the rest of the floors are below the reception ie floor -1 , -2 and so on. The pool, restaurant etc are all on the reception floor and the rooms on this floor are better than the ones below.

We were offered a room on the lowest floor which was newly constructed and felt aloof from the rest of the hotel cause it was the last room on the floor. smelt like cement and felt deserted. When i refused to take the room the guy showed me another room at the other end of the hallway which was equaly deserted and we did not feel safe. Though the hotel did not appear full but they said that there no other available rooms. I got angry and went to the manager and demanded a room on the ground floor. Manager was not keen on talking but after lot of pressuring i was given a room on the reception floor.
Breakfast was good but dinner was pathetic. We had ordered Chinese and Italian and both were equally bad.
Would recommend to choose some other place if possible.

Room Tip: Try other place if possible. Still if you have to stay here, take a room on the reception floor or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the shortcomings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences caused during your stay at Hotel Hilltop.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned shortcomings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing