We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hilltop
Nearby Hotels
US$233
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nature Walk Resort(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$51
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sevana City Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
91
251
241
83
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
251
241
83
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolhill toptable tennisnice hotelnice poola la carte menupublic areastuk tuksri lankan cuisinekandy citynice viewpleasant staybreakfast and dinnerlarge roomstayed two nightsprayercooperative
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hilltop Hotel is situated in a somewhat busy area of Kandy. The view one gets from the room of a busy city, not of nature. The Check in process was quick, though they with held our batch in the lounge insisting on offering us a welcome drink, before escorting to rooms. The rooms are in several levels which require climbing ramps and stairs. Rooms are decorated in cheerful combination of red and white colours. Bath cubicle is too small and inconvenient. From the balcony, one sees the city buildings and busy roads. Road noise penetrates the rooms. There is a good swimming pool around which one can lounge around. Both breakfast and lunch are good.

Room Tip: Select room at dining area level so that claiming up and down is minimized.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gururaj_bn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend a another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just to say thank you to some wonderful people. What impressed me most about Hotel Hiltop Kandy was the friendly, courteous & professional service exhibited from the Front Office Manager downwards. However it was the Front Office Executive Dulana Wettewa who impressed us immensely. We went to Kandy to attend a wedding. After dressing we found that our vehicle had developed a flat tyre. To our surprise Mr. Wettewa offered his vehicle to us & when we politely declined his generous offer, he went to the vehicle & started replacing the tyre with the help of the Security Guard. I have never experienced such kindness and caring from a person despite being in office attire (tie included).
Thanks to Hotel Hiltop for the training given to your Staff and a big thank you to Dulala, wish you all the success.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of an 8 day tour of central Sri Lanka. Without a doubt this was the wot.orst hotel we stayed in. The location is perfect with views loking down over the city (even allowing for the railway station). The staff we interacted with were helpful and polite, but thats about it.

We booked for B&B and as were stayed during a Poya Day (Bank Holiday) we also ate our evening meals at the hotel. The first evening was OK with a choice of Sri Lankan & International cuisine which as we arrived fairly early to eat, there was a variety and it was hot. Breakfast the following morning was not hot and we had to wait for some food to be cooked so opted for the prepared food which was a mistake. The breakfast on the following day was the same and the hotel seemed to be more concentrating on a local wedding than on the needs of its international guests. The meal on the second evening was dreadful. We arrived early only to find no tables available. No problem - a drink in the bar (no alcohol due to Poya Day so again - no problem). We waited 40 minutes to get our Ginger Beers and an hour after first arriving we were able to get a table for 2. The remaining food was not replenished and the existing food that what was supposidly being kept warm was stone cold.
Our room had an arrangements of hooks hanging from the ceiling, and simiular angles or supports attached to the wall. I have no idea what these were for and one can only surmise that at some time in the past shelving and/or drapes were attached, long since removed but alas not so the hooks and brackets!! On the morning of our departure the air con unit started to leak, whilst these things can happen, it was just the final nail in the coffin.
My wife and I stayed in 5 hotels in our 15 days in Sri Lanka and I have written complimentary reviews on all of the others and will happily stay at them again in the future. I thank the staff for the courtesy but I will not be staying here again and would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLSPBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your experiences at the hotel on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff. We are very thankful to you for bringing to our notice the shortcomings that you had to undergo at our hotel. I humbly extend my sincere apologies to you for the inconveniences caused during your stay at Hotel Hilltop.

I have taken the necessary steps to sort out all mentioned shortcomings and will make sure that our standards of services will be improved by tremendously before your next visit to Hilltop which all of us are looking forward to.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Hilltop Hotel in Kandy for 3 nights. I choose the hotel for its location, high on the side of a hill looking out over the town. The views were amazing. The hotel itself is very comfortable and well equipped with an excellent buffet breakfast and the staff were very attentive. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but they do offer a nightly buffet for about 2600 rupees per person. They didn't have an al a carte menu on offer so one night, tired after a long day site seeing, we had room service to sate our need for a burger and chips. The hotel is just a short tuk tuk ride down into Kandy though, where there are plenty of restaurants and bars. The staff were extremely helpful arranging taxis and tuk tuks and giving us a map of Kandy Town. A well priced hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tulip_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying for 03 nights. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very old, not very clean and very noisy although quite far from the main road. Breakfast was very good but dining area was not very clean.
The swimming pool was small. The view was nice. WiFi was not availiable

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argyris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. We look forward to having you with us again and we assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews