We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pleasant hotel”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is remote and on a hilltop hence its name. We spent our first night in Sri Lanka here and we were made very welcome at the hotel by excellent staff. The front of house guy on reception is an asset to the Hotel. We had a quick sandwich in the restaurant on the afternoon and it was excellent value for money and very filling. The hotel caters for Wedding couples and their homecomings so the afternoon was extremely busy and noisy. This isnt a negative remark it is only an observation. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it. We were so tired after traveling we never really noticed the noise from below. But looking back on our whole Sri Lankan experience dont let the noise put you off. We were woken up at 5 quite a few mornings by the muezzin calling the faithful to to prayer. It breaks dawn at 6 and you dont feel so tired.
You cant eat anywhere but at this hotel but I would say the hotel food is quite good but you have to remember when eating in hotels there is a 10% service charge and a 12 and a half percent Vat levy . If you needed to eat elsewhere the taxi service would eat up any savings. The views from the hotel are quite good and the pool although small looked inviting. We had an enjoyable stay. If you need to change currency try and change it at the local exchange bureaus. You get a good rate and much better than the hotels or the local banks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff, food and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is well and truly on a hilltop, so I would definitely recommend eating evening meals in the hotel restaurant. We stayed here in February for 2 nights and were warmly welcomed. There is a problem with noise - the calling to prayer is VERY early morning (and very loud), noise from shunting trains and people walking past rooms etc, etc. BUT, there are many good things which would make us recommend this hotel to anyone! The rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious; the food and choice at dinner and breakfast is excellent. This is a very well-run hotel, with a manager who knows everything that is going on! The staff are friendly, helpful, courteous and professional. There is a delightful pool area, which is used at times by local school children - this was not a problem and lovely to observe. The restaurant had singer/musicians every evening, but they were good and brought a really good 'vibe' to the place. The guests were certainly enjoying themselves! Whilst in Kandy, we visited The Botanical Gardens, which our driver allowed 2 hours for. We extended it whilst in there, but still didn't have enough time to see it all. Allow 4-5 hours if you like gardens - there is lots to see and read, and a pleasant cafe/restaurant. Loos around the place are abundant! We also did a 4 hour train journey from Kandy to Nuwera Eliya (our next destination, and our driver went on ahead with our baggage), which was amazing and cost about 75p! That was in 2nd class and it was fine (loos no worse than British Rail!).
This hotel was one of our favourite hotels we stayed in (and there were many!) on our three week holiday - despite the slight noise problem.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room off the passageway leading to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us for 02 nights. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your positive comments about the food, staff, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The best part of this hotel for us was the restaurant - but make sure that you don't have a room underneath as a band plays on many nights and there is little noise insulation. Some people in our tour group had great trouble sleeping. We were further away and found the room to be good for sleeping. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if one didn't have transportation (we did since we were on a tour) since it would be a challenge to walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comment about the Restaurant. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arranged by the excellent Diethelm Travel as an overnighter whilst in the area, the hotel as described was 3 star and on the side of a steep hill. The previous comments seem fair, with noise coming up from the town, noticeably, a/c units, calling for prayers, traffic and shunting movements in the train station. Equally an issue was noise from inside, as the bathroom is separated from the corridor by a thin wall and non glazed wood slatted window. People talking and walking by and a service telephone in the locality were not conducive to a good night sleep. However, the food was good, service excellent and view over the city spectacular. As a 3 star, it lived up to expectations and good as a short stay stopover. Quirky layout, lack of lifts and steepness of ascent may put some off, but if looking for a bed for a night or two for Kandy sightseeing or if a trainspotter with an interest in Sri Lankan rolling stock; look no further....

Room Tip: We stayed in 216- noisy, but overlooking city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to share with us your experiences of the holiday on the Trip Advisor. Whilst being happy about the positive comments made by you we are extremely sorry about the shortcomings that mentioned by you. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours Sincerely,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for 2nights, on an 8 day tour of Sri Lanka. As a base it was great, we were overlooking the city, in any of the hotels we stayed in we always had a warm welcome. We had free use of a safety deposit box, which was great. The pool area was nice & I sat & watched local kids having a swimming lesson, which did not interfere with the main pool. The room was adequate for our need & due to getting in late we used the hotel restaurant, which served a buffet & an al a carte menu, both of which were not expensive for hotel food, yes going out you could eat cheaper. Which we did on the 2nd night due to meeting friends who live in Sri Lanka. All round a good experience.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank mabAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying 02 nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the experience you received at our hotel. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Appropriately named this hotel is situated up an extremely steep hill and is best reached by tuk tuk or car. Lovely pool, spacious bar area and restaurant. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable if a little shabby. Food is excellent and the staff helpful and friendly. Special mention for Dulana on front desk who was more than helpful although maybe not an electrician !! Would recommend as a short stay hotel and just a five minute tuk tuk ride from the centre of Kandy

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude-T77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

As its name syas it it's on the top of the hill, we walked up but it's pretty steep and not the most pleasant walk to the city center (lods of traffic, bad air and dogs on the road etc).

Nice setting with a great view over the city; has a nice pool area. Greak breakfast buffet with friendly staff.

Rooms are big but the bathrooms have poor ventilation (and smells badly); there's a sign on the windows to keep it shut as monkeys may enter the room... I have not seen a single monkey at that hotel while seen many at other places... so not sure whether the sign was indeed needed :-)

Room Tip: make sure your room is not right below the restaurant area. There's no insulation on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaya-lakhsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
1.3 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#25 of 56 in Kandy
327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queens Hotel Kandy
Queens Hotel Kandy
#31 of 56 in Kandy
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range: £40 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing