We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of kandy”
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view of kandy”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

As part of our tour through the country we stopped in Kandy. The hilltop hotel is situated on a high hill, as the name implies :) and offers a great view of the town. The food and the drinks are great but quite expensive. Rooms are nice and there is a small pool. Dinner is accompanied by live music that adds to the holiday atmosphere.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth en Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the experience you received at our hotel. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    220
    217
    76
    28
See reviews for
153
251
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Wasn't sure because of other reviews. However, it was a lovely 1 night stay, excellent buffet and dinning atmosphere , live singing, lovely and unique grounds, and best of all being on the hill top over looking the city. It was a wonderful spot for just a few nights stay. The service was wonderful and the pool area with balconies overlooking it and dining hall on the other side was very cozy in the middle of the hotel. Sitting around the pool area /courtyard was very peaceful. The common areas are quite nice to with sofas, chairs and tables as you come down the stairs from your room and on the hallways with bar chairs looking out the windows that over look the city. LOVED the common lounging areas. That gives the hotel that extra special feature that takes it over the top.Rooms were decent and a good try for a modern up beat appeal love the green décor. Oh the staff was nice as well.

Room Tip: You will enjoy a few nights or more stay. It is on a steep hill so no just leaving out the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us for one night. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us and uploading nice images of Hotel Hilltop on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the food, staff, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Rooms are not bad but I wud appreciate if hotel hill top management provide the biggest show in cricket T-20 World cup in hotel rooms also. Presently it's available only at Bar where we can't enjoy with our family

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your comments. We have taken necessary actions to rectify the shortcoming that you have mentioned and thank you for bringing them to our notice. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family. We look forward to having you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is remote and on a hilltop hence its name. We spent our first night in Sri Lanka here and we were made very welcome at the hotel by excellent staff. The front of house guy on reception is an asset to the Hotel. We had a quick sandwich in the restaurant on the afternoon and it was excellent value for money and very filling. The hotel caters for Wedding couples and their homecomings so the afternoon was extremely busy and noisy. This isnt a negative remark it is only an observation. Breakfast was very good and we enjoyed it. We were so tired after traveling we never really noticed the noise from below. But looking back on our whole Sri Lankan experience dont let the noise put you off. We were woken up at 5 quite a few mornings by the muezzin calling the faithful to to prayer. It breaks dawn at 6 and you dont feel so tired.
You cant eat anywhere but at this hotel but I would say the hotel food is quite good but you have to remember when eating in hotels there is a 10% service charge and a 12 and a half percent Vat levy . If you needed to eat elsewhere the taxi service would eat up any savings. The views from the hotel are quite good and the pool although small looked inviting. We had an enjoyable stay. If you need to change currency try and change it at the local exchange bureaus. You get a good rate and much better than the hotels or the local banks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_clerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff, food and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is well and truly on a hilltop, so I would definitely recommend eating evening meals in the hotel restaurant. We stayed here in February for 2 nights and were warmly welcomed. There is a problem with noise - the calling to prayer is VERY early morning (and very loud), noise from shunting trains and people walking past rooms etc, etc. BUT, there are many good things which would make us recommend this hotel to anyone! The rooms are comfortable, but not luxurious; the food and choice at dinner and breakfast is excellent. This is a very well-run hotel, with a manager who knows everything that is going on! The staff are friendly, helpful, courteous and professional. There is a delightful pool area, which is used at times by local school children - this was not a problem and lovely to observe. The restaurant had singer/musicians every evening, but they were good and brought a really good 'vibe' to the place. The guests were certainly enjoying themselves! Whilst in Kandy, we visited The Botanical Gardens, which our driver allowed 2 hours for. We extended it whilst in there, but still didn't have enough time to see it all. Allow 4-5 hours if you like gardens - there is lots to see and read, and a pleasant cafe/restaurant. Loos around the place are abundant! We also did a 4 hour train journey from Kandy to Nuwera Eliya (our next destination, and our driver went on ahead with our baggage), which was amazing and cost about 75p! That was in 2nd class and it was fine (loos no worse than British Rail!).
This hotel was one of our favourite hotels we stayed in (and there were many!) on our three week holiday - despite the slight noise problem.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room off the passageway leading to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us for 02 nights. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note your positive comments about the food, staff, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
302 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The best part of this hotel for us was the restaurant - but make sure that you don't have a room underneath as a band plays on many nights and there is little noise insulation. Some people in our tour group had great trouble sleeping. We were further away and found the room to be good for sleeping. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if one didn't have transportation (we did since we were on a tour) since it would be a challenge to walk into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comment about the Restaurant. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to rectify areas that have been pointed out by you. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arranged by the excellent Diethelm Travel as an overnighter whilst in the area, the hotel as described was 3 star and on the side of a steep hill. The previous comments seem fair, with noise coming up from the town, noticeably, a/c units, calling for prayers, traffic and shunting movements in the train station. Equally an issue was noise from inside, as the bathroom is separated from the corridor by a thin wall and non glazed wood slatted window. People talking and walking by and a service telephone in the locality were not conducive to a good night sleep. However, the food was good, service excellent and view over the city spectacular. As a 3 star, it lived up to expectations and good as a short stay stopover. Quirky layout, lack of lifts and steepness of ascent may put some off, but if looking for a bed for a night or two for Kandy sightseeing or if a trainspotter with an interest in Sri Lankan rolling stock; look no further....

Room Tip: We stayed in 216- noisy, but overlooking city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to share with us your experiences of the holiday on the Trip Advisor. Whilst being happy about the positive comments made by you we are extremely sorry about the shortcomings that mentioned by you. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us .We assure you our best services at all the time.

Yours Sincerely,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.0 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kandy
684 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 54 in Kandy
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 54 in Kandy
1,244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#41 of 54 in Kandy
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing