We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel over the hilltop. Cool place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Coimbatore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel over the hilltop. Cool place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We, a family of four stayed in this hotel for one night. It is located in the heart of the city. They have a well maintained swimming pool. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Tasty breakfast with lot of varieties. We can get a spectacular view of Kandy lake and the tooth temple. Excellent room service

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambasoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying for one nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hotel Hilltop.Thank you very much for your positive comments about the food, staff, location, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    209
    209
    75
    27
See reviews for
146
241
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here on15th May and the place is alright and clean. The room gives a good view around the city & it was beautiful on the Wesak eve.
When we went to the restaurant to have dinner I found there was not much variety and i was so disappointed since I knew that they could have done better. The pool is also not cleaned properly and we decided not to get in to the same.
If you wants to stay in this place go for B&B , as there B'Fast is alright and the rooms are clean & tidy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinaz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the rooms. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to improve the standards of food & cleanliness of the Swimming Pool. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 3 days at the end of April. The room we had for very large and was well presented. It had a lovely view overlooking the city and railway station. The pool was lovely and quiet. The evening Buffett was plentiful and a nice introduction to Sri Lankan food. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying for three nights with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the food, location, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. We look forward to having you back with us soon and assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for a night - less than 15 hours in fact. Neat and big rooms although the bathrooms badly need an exhaust fan. The hotel looks old and needs a bit of sprucing up. The breakfast buffet was ok. However, the staff were friendly and there was a nice pool as well. There are no elevators and you need to haul your luggage in the hotel using the ramp.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jmca1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff , food and the experience you received at our hotel. We greatly appreciate all the comments that you have made and are very thankful for bringing the shortcomings to our notice. Your review was discussed and immediate measures were taken to improve the standards of the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We statyed at the Hilltop Hotel from the 25th April to the 28th April. The hotel only has standard rooms and is considered a Budget Hotel in the group. The period we stayed is generally considered the summer time in the hill region of Sri Lanka. Our room was number 212 and seemed to be a part of the original structure (as we saw some modern looking refurbished units). Most guests use the hotel as a layover hotel for one night or one day and proceed onwards. During our stay, along with us only two other couples were staying for more than one night.

The Good
The hotel is located in close proximity to the town centre, main bus stand and the railway station. Tuk Ride costs vary from LKR 300 – LKR 150 from the railway station to the Hotel door. Off peak period you can get a good room rate being a budget hotel and is very easy on the pocket (but you may not get the full range on buffets). The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful with all situations and are willing to go beyond their designated duties to accomodate your requests. The Hotel has a pool should you be in the mood to take a dip and a playable table tennis set up near the pool area. Great view of the city depending on which room you get. Breakfast and dinner was reasonable given the budget status, they
seemed to vary according to the type of groups that pass through for the particular day. The rooms has a nice balcony with a lovely view, but beware of monkeys during evening times.

The Bad
As the name goes, its situated atop a very steep hill, so it might not be possible for EVERYONE to walk up the hill, takes a lot of stamina. Be vary of tuk tuk guys as they will jump at the opportunity to ask a premium to take you up from the main road. There is no lift in the hotel, so you have to climb stairs with luggage and carry wheelchairs. The hotel seriously needs refurbishment to its old rooms and hotel areas. It may be a budget hotel, but one would expect a certain amount of standard from an Aikten Spence hotel. Only standard rooms available hence lack of choice. Breakfast buffet was the same thing on both mornings we were there, they should atleast mix it up a bit for the benefit of those who are staying more than one night. Do not expect much from TV channels, the only worthwhile channel was HBO, the rest are local channels. Our room was located right below the main hall, hence you tend to wake up to sounds of furniture being moved around. AC was such a small unit, it hardly produced any cool for the room and it makes cranky noises when the flaps move.

The Ugly
Our bathroom STANK like it had not been used for years, it had a musty rotting smell and was horrible. The bathroom also has ventilation slots which open up to the corridor, which I don’t think is a good idea. The sink was leaking from the bottom so the toilet floor was always wet. Hot water was not operating properly and would go from cold to scalding hot in 2 seconds and then back to cold even if you open the tap to hot. Rooms do not have drinking water, and you should you happen to call for one, you will get charged LKR 160 for a 500Ml bottle (4 times the price in any supermarket), so bring plenty of water or buy it from outside. The TV channels went out on the second day evening due to some technical glitch and since it was raining heavily we were stuck in the room with no TV and nothing to do. It was not repaired until the next day afternoon when we were checking out.

My Experience
For me, the staff was the best thing about the place. I had a couple of problems which they obliged with a typical Sri Lankan smile. They even fixed my broken extension wire. The food and room which we stayed in were very basic, but we were told that the food is excellent during peak hours when there are more guests. The hotel is located in the city itself and costs very little, so its perfect as a layover or short stay hotel. I would have given a higher rating had it not been for the problem with the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the dining and hall area and request the room be in the refurbished areas or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salmaan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for selecting Hotel Hilltop as your holiday destination and staying with us for three nights. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share with us a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the positive comments you have made about our staff, food, facilities and the service. We are very thankful to you for the very constructive remarks that you have made and certainly would take measures to improve areas that were mentioned by you as areas that needed improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Thank you very much for bringing them to our notice. We look forward to having you back with us soon. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I was during the month of march with my mother. Excellent hotel to stay in. It's always worth the money you spend. I very much like the room that I stayed in. It's i guess 214. The warmest welcome ever given to us by the reception staff. The cold towels were nice, infact some one asked would u like some chicken rolls which was good sense of humor. Special mention to Azwar and Dulana who were the people I think we're the best staff. These guys are very friendly and fun which I think keeps the guests happy and going. Rooms were excellent. The food was manifique. Three cheers to the manager of the hotel. Special thanks again to Azwar and Dulana.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the food, staff, facilities and the experience you received at our hotel. We are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to Hotel Hilltop to spend another great holiday with us. I have already shared your reviews with the relevant staff members. We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop.

Yours faithfully,

Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Hotel Hilltop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

though the hotel is 3 star and for its price i think it was quiet a decent hotel with a beautiful view of the city... i will recommend this place just for the well trained staff and view..the staff at the hotel was kind enough to change our room to a upper floor coz we dint wanna stay in a room near to the activities and it got noisy in the evening.. but loved my stay in a room overlooking the pool...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawahar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopKandy, General Manager at Hotel Hilltop, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Hotel Hilltop and staying with us. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note your positive comments about the staff, location and facilities We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel Hilltop again. We assure you our best services at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Azmath Hamid
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
0.5 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#24 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Property: Hotel Hilltop
Address: 200/21 Bahirawakanda | Peradeniya Road, Kandy, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Kandy
Top Hotel Hill
Kandy Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing