We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captivating atmosphere!”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #9 of 428 Kandy B&B and Inns
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Captivating atmosphere!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My first visit to Topaz was in form of a party invitation. The place is not that big but ideal for someone who needs a little break from the traffic and all the hazzle-bazzle of city life!! Hotel boasts a good view of the Kandy City a UNESCO heritage! and the drive down to the city takes few minutes!

The staff is good and attentive.
Food is good.

But what i love is the cool atmosphere and the kinda serenity this place offers u!! Cheers!

Room Tip: Need to check in..:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilupul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for pointing out your amazing experience while being an invitee in an occassion held at topaz,we receive back to back positive feedbacks personally thanking our event managers and the staff of their excellant cordiantion and personalized service round the clock.And we gurantee our unique location(with only 5 minutes drive to kandy city)is second to none other as we always want our valuable visitors to relax when ever they make a visit to our hotel.while thanking once again,our team would like to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    327
    147
    51
    36
See reviews for
158
333
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We enjoyed a three night stay at the Topaz during our honeymoon over the time of the Kandy Perahera. The staff were fantastic, gave us a lovely room on the top floor with great views, decorated our bed with petals and gave us fruit and a chocolate cake on our first night as a gift. The hotel itself was very clean and very friendly, the rooms have recently been renovated to a nice modern standard although the interior of the hotel reception area is a little dated. There was what seemed to be a good jewellery shop in the reception area however having browsed the first day the manager was a little too persistent during our stay to make us come back. The hotel Tourmaline is a sister hotel next door which was more modern looking in the reception areas, and we enjoyed a free foot massage there for only 15 minutes, but it was excellent, and we would have considered booking a further massage but the prices were a little high. You seemed to be able to get cheaper ones elsewhere but having had a reasonably poor massage later in Kandy, looking back at least you know you are benefitting from some form of quality control in a hotel spa as a trade off for price. We only ate breakfast but this like all hotels we stayed at was excellent with both western and Sri Lankan food.

The one bad thing to say which we pointed out to management upon leaving was that the hotel's refusal to call tuk tuks for guests was simply mindless. It is a 2k walk to kandy down windy roads which are difficult to navigate but the hotel would only offer the hotel car for twice the tuk tuk price. Even when we gave them a number of a driver we had been given they said we had to pay for the call, made us make it from the phone on the floor below and then sent us back up to reception to pay for it. It really was disgraceful, I have not stayed in a hotel anywhere in the world where they will not call transport for you free of charge and without a second thought. A really mindless policy when so much effort is put into the hotel in all other areas, and so I hope this changes!!!

Room Tip: Maybe check out Tourmaline too as reception areas looked quite modern and classy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,
First of all we want to thank you for the time taken to place a positive & a suggestive review like this. We are happy to hear that you liked our luxurious, fully equipped rooms with the latest facilities & amenities. Fruits, chocolates, the cake,the bed décor were compliments from us on your honeymoon. We have plans to renovate the public areas & each floor will have a own flower theme which you both will be impressed to see during your next visit. You experienced a free foot massage from the tourmaline spa managed by premedion(a german health & spa business chain)and it's the only spa in sri lanka and it's reasonable to maintain a standard price but still customer perspective can asure of a quality treatment in return.we are happy to hear that we were able to provide the best food while your stay in sri lanka.We appologize for the inconvienience caused during the check out due to impossibility to organize a tuk tuk,we have now introduced tuk tuk service(hotel to the city/train station or bus station)which we will arrange when the need arrises.we thank you once again for your comprehensive review while reminding that the future guests will be bennefited with your suggestions definitely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The place was great, a good quality room perhaps a bit dated but clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful and made getting a place to see the annual Buddhist elephant festival so much easier for which I was really grateful for. Would come and stay here without hesitation. Getting into town though takes a bit but its worth it for the views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1955Morag_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We like the title of your review as that’s pretty much what we aim to emphasis.It was great to hear that you & your family had a pleasant stay at Hotel topaz and that you are planning to come back again.you have highlighted all our good points. Fantastic, beautiful location,modern & themed rooms,superb customer care even with assistance to organize anything outside our boundaries.will pass your compliments to all the staff and we expect to see you & your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights on our tour. The staff were excellent and we loved the stay. The service in the restaurant was very good, the meal was excellent and the chef went the extra mile making me some gluten free bread for breakfast and dinner (this was the only hotel out of 6 in Sri Lanka that did this -even including a 5 * hotel we stayed at). This is my first review ever on trip advisor but I felt strongly enough to thank the hotel -it made our stay there very special.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,
A “Great” review. It’s lovely to hear that you really enjoyed your holiday with us.We have passed your compliments on to our staff including chef.the reason any guest wont depart without having value for money is that our staff will talk to each guest at each meeting point in order to confirm guest satisfactory level.
Hotel topaz awaits to welcome you back on your next visit in order to indulge you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Located up on the hill. Good view of the surrounding area and cool and pleasant up here. The hotel is currently under refurbishment and the rooms were had were recently refurbished. The other rooms may be still old but we were lucky to get the new ones. The exterior is still very Retro looking.
Food at the restaurant was good enough with a mix of Sri Lankan & Western food buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UDS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It’s just a few lines but it says it all. If you can find a top-class hotel in the cities peak level with excellent food and nice staff – what more could you ask for?anyways we are confident that our newly refurbished rooms met up to your expected standards,very soon the exterior will also be in par with the interior look.
Appreciate your recommendation and thank you for taking the time to share your review on this forum. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Terrible, worn-out, smell dusty and damply room.
Hot shower is available but very small space.
i couldnt use WIFI as it was under maintanance at lobby and they charged if using in the room.
No drinking water provided in the room and didnt ask to bring it either.
No chance to try their restaurant but i got breakfast box (cheese sandwich and fruits).

im sure i never come back this hotel.

Room Tip: just avoid this hotel and find another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank castlewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Reviwer,
Thank you for visiting Hotel Topaz on your recent vacation and for having taken the time to share your experience on this forum. we are very concerned about your comment regarding unavailabilty of the 2 complimentory water bottles that we provide,so we have passed this information to the appropriate department to investigate & take neccessary action about neglegance of the responsible person,With regard to the Wi-Fi, it is indeed free in the lobby & we have fast internet service in rooms for a reasonable fare,little late we were able to provide stable wifi coverage in the lobby area.if you didnt like the room that we provided,we could have offered you a room change during the time of the courtesy call(that you received 10 minutes later you checked In)by our guest relations department to verify your satisfactory.We thank you again for spending time to share your thoughts.Your comments are very much appreciated and we will be delighted to welcome you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my friends in one day only. I greeted and warm welcome with drinks .Very friendly front office and restaurant staff. Rooms are very good views , furniture are old but with good cleanliness. Enjoyed this property stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpmari10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear gpmari10,
Greetings from Hotel Topaz.....!
Many thanks for pointing out your experience at Hotel Topaz on your recent visit and for the time taken to place a recommended review.We are delighted that you liked our hotel with all its facilities along with an anticipated & friendly service by our staff ,we are fortunate and very proud of the commitment from our staff for delivering unforgettable memories to take away when each valuable guest departs after each stay.awaiting till your next visit to Mclarens Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kandy
772 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
2.5 mi away
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
Mahaweli Reach Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kandy
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Property: Hotel Topaz
Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing