We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel topaz kandy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #13 of 356 Kandy B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel topaz kandy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

one of the best locations in Sri lanka.view ,s are spectacular.Staff were very friendly and attentive .exdellant service.Even though theres not much of a variety food were tasty.Night time we had experience no hot water on ly for once.other than that overall we had a good time and enjoyed our vist to kandy.

Manjula.

Room Tip: Third floor or fourth floor rooms are having a super veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manjula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying the sumptuous food and facilities on offer.It is heartening that you consider the location as wonderful and also your recomendation to others on this forum.our sincere appologies for the inconvienience caused by unavailability of hot water due to the boiler thermo failure occured after 15 years,but we assure that this problem wont arrise again for the next decades,while we trust your visit again to hotel Topaz,Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    310
    137
    50
    35
See reviews for
144
309
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The view was stunning but the hotel was extremely outdated and needed refurbishment, it was the worst hotel I stayed in Sri Lanka, the quality of room and even the towel provided was very disappointing for a hotel in such an ideal and beautiful location. The restaurant upstairs was a major disappointment, the quality of food served was not up to standard, breakfast served was better than dinner but I would honestly never go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawhara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are deeply concerned about the feedback you have provided about your stay.first i must mention that 95% of our rooms are refurbished according to 4-5 star standards equipped with the latest facilities & amenities offering the same spectacular views for all the house guests in a very unique & convienient location in kandy.please visit our website for further clarifications on our product.thank you for the time taken to place a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days in quite a reasonable room, however on the first day we returned from a hot days touring to find that the sink was blocked and no hot water. The blocked sink was eventually fixed but no so the hot water which went missing for the two days we were there. The desk staff didn't seem too fussed about this and neither could they work out how to get the internet fixed either. The dining room was very good with plenty of choice and very friendly staff. It was a holiday period for Sri Lanka when we were there and there were many children running up and down the corridors at all hours. The view from the room was wonderful, very picturesque.

Room Tip: Just make sure there's hot water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned by the feedback you have provided about your stay. We are sorry that the hotel was facing a hotwater crisis due to a thermo failure during the 2 days you stayed with us which arrised after 15 years and now we gurantee that it ll never cause again.eventhough you had enjoyed the warm hospitality of our associates having the opportunity of savouring the many different cuisines available .Your observations are well noted and arrangements have been made to take remedial action in case of a hotwater or internet connection failure anytime further.We apologize for any inconvenience caused and should you wish to stay with us on your next trip to sri lanka, please be assured that we will make every endeavour to make it a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The topaz in kandy is at a great location, overlooking the town. The rooms are clean, airy and bright. That's about as good as it gets.

The rooms are not sound proofed and noisy or enthusiastic neighbors might just keep you up all night. We even heard housekeeping staff converse at 1:00am and had to request them to pipe down.
Your only recourse is to turn the air conditioning on full, but then it does get chilly in kandy and the blanket provided is well, not really up to it either.

Perhaps we were traveling at a time when the hotel was still completing maintenance jobs, but there were no room signs or door numbers - just a poorly laminated sheet with the room number on it. That was still ok, I guess.
Unfortunately for us, for the two nights that we stayed here - Oct 11 & 12, 2013, there was no hot water. Repeated calls to the reception, house keeping and even the management yielded no results other than a profuse - if not entirely sincere, apology. A cold shower in Kandy really shouldn't be on your itinerary either.

Careful with the gem shopping within the premises too, we've been warned of the authenticity of some of these - pure gems.

Overall, Kandy is an expensive place - further inflated because everything is primed and aimed at European tourists ( you do get a 40% off for being from SAARC countries) but the topaz is not geared to wear that luxury tag just yet.

They have the potential and the location but neither the staff nor the management to pull it off - not even as a bed and breakfast place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Please accept my sincere apologies for your less satisfactory experience with us when you stayed with us on 11th & 12th october when we had a crisis providing hotwater due to a thermo failure which occured after 15 years,within those two days we succeded planting a high tech unit to provide this need without any destructions in the future.our appologies once again for the inevitable disturbance caused during midnight because we received a group for the same floor you stayed.we are installing LED room number panel with user friendly signage for privacy and cleaning requirements,we highly appreciate you sharing your feedback by sparing your valuable time,we hope to see you back soon when you visit sri lanka next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is being renovated. The rooms are spacious and modern. Located on top of the hill with fabulous views. The common areas are tiny, there is no animation and the service is not good When I arrived the room didn't have any bath gel, because they had forgotten... But the reception staff are friendly and once the problem was reported it was imediately resolved

Room Tip: Higher floor are completed renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned to note from your review that the service level was not up to your expectation at the hotel eventhough you admire our modernized hotel with all the latest facilities & amenities,surrounded amongst 360 degrees spectacular views .We have taken note of your constructive observations and will stress the importance of guest satisfaction(at all times)to the associates concerned.while thanking you for your patronage,we hope to see you soon at Hotel Topaz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel was an excellent experience it was a shame that we only stayed for one night.
We were very pleased with the position of the hotel and the greeting from the staff.
The bedroom was large and modern with fantastic views, unfortunately the shower room did not come up to the same standard, with the glass doors being heavy to open.
The position of our table in the restaurant was with a great view, the food was very good with the chef sending over a plate of garlic king prawns to try. The service was excellent with nothing to complain about.
After Dinner we had drinks in the bar where again the service was good.
Checking out was made easy with the porters coming for our cases.
All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your five star review. We are happy that having enjoyed our warm hospitality, you have taken fond memories back home. This is what we at Hotel Topaz endeavour to provide our valued guests with.usually we receive utmost positive feedbacks about their stay in our unique location, which entitles them to a multitude of facilities with our compliments and is exposed to a panoramic view from their rooms while impressing with our offerings with true hospitality from our staff.Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My visit to Hotel Topaz was in form of wedding invitation. Function was on the 4th floor and the hall is not that big but ideal for a gathering of 75 - 100. The food is great . There were variety of items to select from Western to Sri Lankan and bit of Chinese style cuisines too. Its a ideal place to have a break from the hazzle-bazzle of city life. You get a very good view of the Kandy City and Hantana mountain range. Within about a couple of minutes you can drive down to the Kandy city. The staff is good and caring.But what is fascinating about Topaz is the great view you get of the Kandy city and the cool and breezy atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujeewa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Property: Hotel Topaz
Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing