We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, clean rooms, few niggles”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #6 of 470 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed second night of our trip with a group of friends from Dubai. Reception/bar/lounge a bit dated although with a panoramic view of the thunder storm we arrived in. We were on the ground floor over the front of the hotel, looks like refurbishment is in progress as we had unpainted walls unless grey plaster was the intended finish. Bathroom had a great walk in shower although I never did find out how to turn off the light/extractor all night! There were bare wires showing by the hairdrier. The doors don't latch without turning the key which was an annoyance with three friends sharing a room and only one key between us, we resorted to propping the door closed with a cushion. The room power needed the key fob to activate so whoever stayed out late couldn't take the key with them, also you could only charge electrical items when in the room - found this a problem in a couple of hotels we stayed in. Yes the jewellery shop is a little too over enthusiastic, if a customer doesn't come back in the morning there is no need to corner them in the lobby just to make sure they don't want to purchase an item they were looking at - however charming the salesman. One niggle, three ladies sharing and only two beds, ended up putting single sheets on the double bed but not very thought through from the management. Buffet dinner in the restaurant was good but they had a shwarma grill going full blast on the buffet which we could feel the heat from on our table! Better to set it back a bit or provide a heat shield. We had an issue on check out about a missing set of toiletry bottles from the bathroom. None of us had taken them and we had a discussion with staff to that effect before we left, however sitting in our mini van we were confronted by a manager who insisted we paid for them or the money would be deducted from the houseboys wages. It wasn't a lot of money, about £5 but the couple who stayed in the room in question paid the man so we could leave and we all felt very embarrassed. As I mentioned before none of the room doors shut by themselves so in the 20 minutes or so it took to organise the bags/check out etc anyone could have access to the rooms. It left a rather bad taste.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Dubaidiva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Topaz. Whilst we are glad that you were happy with our service and food, we are sorry that the room we offered failed to meet with your expectations.Also we are honest by telling you we do not use dupplicate room keys in order to maintain high level of guest privacy,but 24/7 our service personnel's are available to assist you with many requirements and we are sure getting a guest room door opened with their master key is accepted when the authorized occupant requests,i have investigated the bedding matter and i was clarified by our guest relations that you & your friends were comfortable with the room when they made the courtesy call to you,we regret for the inconvienience caused to you at the time of departure due to a missing set of Toiletries which are costly than £5,Anyways while thanking for your summary about your stay,we hope that you will grant us another opportunity in the future to show off our true and warm hospitality at our level best with a completed 4 star product very soon.Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

An excellent hotel for the medium budget traveller. Very good location. Views from upper storey rooms are good. Very friendly staff and good service. The buffets have a reasonably good choice. The quality of the free wi-fi in the lobby area is good. Overall the hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback.indeed we agree & we are proud that our location/views are unique among others,also It is great that you and your family liked everything including the service from our associates,the exquisite variety of food,luxurious & modern rooms with the amenities/complimentory facilities. We are glad that you found value for money at hotel Topaz and we hope you will spend your next holiday too with us.Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

one of the best locations in Sri lanka.view ,s are spectacular.Staff were very friendly and attentive .exdellant service.Even though theres not much of a variety food were tasty.Night time we had experience no hot water on ly for once.other than that overall we had a good time and enjoyed our vist to kandy.

Manjula.

Room Tip: Third floor or fourth floor rooms are having a super veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manjula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying the sumptuous food and facilities on offer.It is heartening that you consider the location as wonderful and also your recomendation to others on this forum.our sincere appologies for the inconvienience caused by unavailability of hot water due to the boiler thermo failure occured after 15 years,but we assure that this problem wont arrise again for the next decades,while we trust your visit again to hotel Topaz,Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The view was stunning but the hotel was extremely outdated and needed refurbishment, it was the worst hotel I stayed in Sri Lanka, the quality of room and even the towel provided was very disappointing for a hotel in such an ideal and beautiful location. The restaurant upstairs was a major disappointment, the quality of food served was not up to standard, breakfast served was better than dinner but I would honestly never go back there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jawhara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We are deeply concerned about the feedback you have provided about your stay.first i must mention that 95% of our rooms are refurbished according to 4-5 star standards equipped with the latest facilities & amenities offering the same spectacular views for all the house guests in a very unique & convienient location in kandy.please visit our website for further clarifications on our product.thank you for the time taken to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two days in quite a reasonable room, however on the first day we returned from a hot days touring to find that the sink was blocked and no hot water. The blocked sink was eventually fixed but no so the hot water which went missing for the two days we were there. The desk staff didn't seem too fussed about this and neither could they work out how to get the internet fixed either. The dining room was very good with plenty of choice and very friendly staff. It was a holiday period for Sri Lanka when we were there and there were many children running up and down the corridors at all hours. The view from the room was wonderful, very picturesque.

Room Tip: Just make sure there's hot water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned by the feedback you have provided about your stay. We are sorry that the hotel was facing a hotwater crisis due to a thermo failure during the 2 days you stayed with us which arrised after 15 years and now we gurantee that it ll never cause again.eventhough you had enjoyed the warm hospitality of our associates having the opportunity of savouring the many different cuisines available .Your observations are well noted and arrangements have been made to take remedial action in case of a hotwater or internet connection failure anytime further.We apologize for any inconvenience caused and should you wish to stay with us on your next trip to sri lanka, please be assured that we will make every endeavour to make it a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The topaz in kandy is at a great location, overlooking the town. The rooms are clean, airy and bright. That's about as good as it gets.

The rooms are not sound proofed and noisy or enthusiastic neighbors might just keep you up all night. We even heard housekeeping staff converse at 1:00am and had to request them to pipe down.
Your only recourse is to turn the air conditioning on full, but then it does get chilly in kandy and the blanket provided is well, not really up to it either.

Perhaps we were traveling at a time when the hotel was still completing maintenance jobs, but there were no room signs or door numbers - just a poorly laminated sheet with the room number on it. That was still ok, I guess.
Unfortunately for us, for the two nights that we stayed here - Oct 11 & 12, 2013, there was no hot water. Repeated calls to the reception, house keeping and even the management yielded no results other than a profuse - if not entirely sincere, apology. A cold shower in Kandy really shouldn't be on your itinerary either.

Careful with the gem shopping within the premises too, we've been warned of the authenticity of some of these - pure gems.

Overall, Kandy is an expensive place - further inflated because everything is primed and aimed at European tourists ( you do get a 40% off for being from SAARC countries) but the topaz is not geared to wear that luxury tag just yet.

They have the potential and the location but neither the staff nor the management to pull it off - not even as a bed and breakfast place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MysteryJunkiesBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Please accept my sincere apologies for your less satisfactory experience with us when you stayed with us on 11th & 12th october when we had a crisis providing hotwater due to a thermo failure which occured after 15 years,within those two days we succeded planting a high tech unit to provide this need without any destructions in the future.our appologies once again for the inevitable disturbance caused during midnight because we received a group for the same floor you stayed.we are installing LED room number panel with user friendly signage for privacy and cleaning requirements,we highly appreciate you sharing your feedback by sparing your valuable time,we hope to see you back soon when you visit sri lanka next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The hotel is being renovated. The rooms are spacious and modern. Located on top of the hill with fabulous views. The common areas are tiny, there is no animation and the service is not good When I arrived the room didn't have any bath gel, because they had forgotten... But the reception staff are friendly and once the problem was reported it was imediately resolved

Room Tip: Higher floor are completed renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned to note from your review that the service level was not up to your expectation at the hotel eventhough you admire our modernized hotel with all the latest facilities & amenities,surrounded amongst 360 degrees spectacular views .We have taken note of your constructive observations and will stress the importance of guest satisfaction(at all times)to the associates concerned.while thanking you for your patronage,we hope to see you soon at Hotel Topaz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#23 of 58 in Kandy
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Richmond House Kandy
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#11 of 58 in Kandy
878 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#13 of 58 in Kandy
1,187 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#15 of 58 in Kandy
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £53 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing