We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourmaline hotel/ Topaz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #13 of 356 Kandy B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tourmaline hotel/ Topaz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed at the Tourmaline which is a sister hotel of the Topaz and shares the same hill top site.
The hotel was good and we were very happy with the service. The room was fine although the bathroom could have been cleaner. The shower curtain was in need of a freshen up. We had a driver so we didn't have a problem getting into Kandy - it was 10 minutes into the town. Would stay there again if I was back in Kandy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 489Izzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you indeed for your review. We are extremely glad that you and your family had a relaxing stay at Hotel Topaz/The Tourmaline also known as ''The Double Gem A Top A Hill'' ,experiencing our warm hospitality and the latest facilities on offer.Your recommendation & your constructive observations of the hotel is much noted & appreciated. Thank you for your patronage and we hope your family will spend your next holiday in Sri Lanka, with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    310
    137
    50
    35
See reviews for
144
309
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great location but extremaly overrated hotel.i am currently stayin there for 2 nightd
Rooms on 1st floor overlook the access road. There is Constant trafic noise. The room doors are so thin you can hear everything happening in the hallways and at reception/bar, thank god somebody invented earplugs
Clean room but some other places in the hotel are not so clean like the swimming pool and the windowsills in the restaurant which offer a collection of dust and dead insects
Ordering a drink at the bar can be a challenge as groups are favored. I waited 10mn before complaining that no one came to get my order.The staff very nicely and profusely apologized which was nice anyway
This hotel has a long way to go to play in the luxury hotel class despite its obvious efforts

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fm75019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My family & i enjoy staying at the Topaz, The staff is friendly, The location one of the best in Kandy. The view awesome. The restaurant staff & the friendly Exe Chef Trevor Baines always goes out of his way to make you feel at ease & surprises you with super food. I have seen Topaz grow from the small property in 1984 to what is now. Will not hesitate to return again

Room Tip: The 3 & 4th Floor rooms are all with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
All Hotel Topaz Team is very proud to read such a nice review and recognition towards our associates who were up to your expectations and the special names you mention at all our service areas(room, reception, restaurants, bars,pool etc). It prides us that we succeed to send you home with a memorable holiday.
Also I would like to thank you for your loyalty and being an ambassador of our hotel which will help undecided vacationers in selecting our property for their forthcoming vacation. Thank you for pointing out how unique is our location with having truely hospitable team to serve you every time.
Once again thank you for your fabulous review and taking the time to share it on the site.
It is our pleasure to welcome you back to your Home away Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed second night of our trip with a group of friends from Dubai. Reception/bar/lounge a bit dated although with a panoramic view of the thunder storm we arrived in. We were on the ground floor over the front of the hotel, looks like refurbishment is in progress as we had unpainted walls unless grey plaster was the intended finish. Bathroom had a great walk in shower although I never did find out how to turn off the light/extractor all night! There were bare wires showing by the hairdrier. The doors don't latch without turning the key which was an annoyance with three friends sharing a room and only one key between us, we resorted to propping the door closed with a cushion. The room power needed the key fob to activate so whoever stayed out late couldn't take the key with them, also you could only charge electrical items when in the room - found this a problem in a couple of hotels we stayed in. Yes the jewellery shop is a little too over enthusiastic, if a customer doesn't come back in the morning there is no need to corner them in the lobby just to make sure they don't want to purchase an item they were looking at - however charming the salesman. One niggle, three ladies sharing and only two beds, ended up putting single sheets on the double bed but not very thought through from the management. Buffet dinner in the restaurant was good but they had a shwarma grill going full blast on the buffet which we could feel the heat from on our table! Better to set it back a bit or provide a heat shield. We had an issue on check out about a missing set of toiletry bottles from the bathroom. None of us had taken them and we had a discussion with staff to that effect before we left, however sitting in our mini van we were confronted by a manager who insisted we paid for them or the money would be deducted from the houseboys wages. It wasn't a lot of money, about £5 but the couple who stayed in the room in question paid the man so we could leave and we all felt very embarrassed. As I mentioned before none of the room doors shut by themselves so in the 20 minutes or so it took to organise the bags/check out etc anyone could have access to the rooms. It left a rather bad taste.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dubaidiva63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel Topaz. Whilst we are glad that you were happy with our service and food, we are sorry that the room we offered failed to meet with your expectations.Also we are honest by telling you we do not use dupplicate room keys in order to maintain high level of guest privacy,but 24/7 our service personnel's are available to assist you with many requirements and we are sure getting a guest room door opened with their master key is accepted when the authorized occupant requests,i have investigated the bedding matter and i was clarified by our guest relations that you & your friends were comfortable with the room when they made the courtesy call to you,we regret for the inconvienience caused to you at the time of departure due to a missing set of Toiletries which are costly than £5,Anyways while thanking for your summary about your stay,we hope that you will grant us another opportunity in the future to show off our true and warm hospitality at our level best with a completed 4 star product very soon.Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

An excellent hotel for the medium budget traveller. Very good location. Views from upper storey rooms are good. Very friendly staff and good service. The buffets have a reasonably good choice. The quality of the free wi-fi in the lobby area is good. Overall the hotel is good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback.indeed we agree & we are proud that our location/views are unique among others,also It is great that you and your family liked everything including the service from our associates,the exquisite variety of food,luxurious & modern rooms with the amenities/complimentory facilities. We are glad that you found value for money at hotel Topaz and we hope you will spend your next holiday too with us.Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

one of the best locations in Sri lanka.view ,s are spectacular.Staff were very friendly and attentive .exdellant service.Even though theres not much of a variety food were tasty.Night time we had experience no hot water on ly for once.other than that overall we had a good time and enjoyed our vist to kandy.

Manjula.

Room Tip: Third floor or fourth floor rooms are having a super veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manjula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying the sumptuous food and facilities on offer.It is heartening that you consider the location as wonderful and also your recomendation to others on this forum.our sincere appologies for the inconvienience caused by unavailability of hot water due to the boiler thermo failure occured after 15 years,but we assure that this problem wont arrise again for the next decades,while we trust your visit again to hotel Topaz,Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The view was stunning but the hotel was extremely outdated and needed refurbishment, it was the worst hotel I stayed in Sri Lanka, the quality of room and even the towel provided was very disappointing for a hotel in such an ideal and beautiful location. The restaurant upstairs was a major disappointment, the quality of food served was not up to standard, breakfast served was better than dinner but I would honestly never go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawhara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are deeply concerned about the feedback you have provided about your stay.first i must mention that 95% of our rooms are refurbished according to 4-5 star standards equipped with the latest facilities & amenities offering the same spectacular views for all the house guests in a very unique & convienient location in kandy.please visit our website for further clarifications on our product.thank you for the time taken to place a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandy
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#9 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.1 mi away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#14 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#8 of 58 in Kandy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#5 of 58 in Kandy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Property: Hotel Topaz
Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 356 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing