We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Topaz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
179
383
164
54
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
383
164
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightgem shopsri lankasister hotelrecommend this hotelhill topgreat viewhotel is locatedrestaurant staffbuffet stylelovely hotelthird floorkandy citybuffet dinnerour honeymoonoverlooking kandyshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013 for 2 nights. The rooms are very plush and the food is good. Just a couple of health and safety issues, the hairdryer in the bathroom is wired into the back of a socket and there are no handrails on the marble stairs. I was one of three people who fell in 2 days

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review.We value your patronage during the past christmas season and very much glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz.We are extremely delighted and encouraged by your high estimation of the hotel rooms,food & facilities.we identified that the handrail which was on place should be replaced with a new one but our supplier failed to install it within that period due to x'mas holidays,we have everything in order now.Thank you for your patronage and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Topaz when you next visit Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had stayed with my family during a tour of Sri Lanka. The booking here was a goof up by our travel agent as we were supposed to be booked in another hotel. Anyways, the hotel is good and the view from the hotel is excellent. The food was acceptable with limitation on room service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Topaz.We are happy that your family had a great stay with us enjoying the awesome view from your Deluxe Room experiencing our unique & True hospitality. We thank you for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and appreciate very much your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to sri lanka.Thank you for your patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

topaz hotel was really fantastic place to stay the view of kandy was epic the rooms are plush + clean the staff + food were great.........................THE CURRY SOFT SHELL CRAB ....... MMMMM..........was out of this world........ hope to go back one day sometime next year maybe .looking out of the window feel like you are on top of the world mountains all around you your allmost in the clouds really happy with everthing about topaz when you vist kandy lake you may need a tuk tuk to take you back if you have had a little to much to drink ! but me and my wife can say it was one of the best hotels we stayed in THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF ! at topaz

Room Tip: 423 fantastic room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank matdeb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I would like to thank you for your glowing five star Wow.....review of your recent stay at Hotel Topaz.It’s nice to hear that you were thrilled during your stay at Hotel Topaz with all its latest facilities,amenities and services.Also i will pass your compliments to our Chef for inspiring and serving you a curry soft shell carab dish.Topaz has earned a reputation second to none for outstanding quality and service and every feature has been designed to enhance our guests 'an awesome experience' ,our unique location has been the most remarkable of all enabling an unforgettable memory for our patronizers making them fall in love with this gem stone at the peak point overlooking the mountains or the city with only 10 minutes drive from the city.So please don’t keep us as a secret. Tell all your family and friends about us.It is our pleasure to know that you are planning to return to Hotel Topaz Kandy next year.Once again Thank you for your warm review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was here for business, stayed one night but enjoyed it. Would stay there again probably...

The location is a bit out of town it seemed though, a drive up very steep hills. Didn't seem like walking distance into town. You'd need a car/driver or taxi.

Hotel seems old and dated when you first enter, but rooms were quite pleasant, modern, stylish. Whole room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, everything worked.

Dinner buffet seemed to be included in the room and was fine, nothing special though.

The one draw back of this hotel was the internet. There was free wifi in reception area, but not in the room, there you had to pay (although it was very cheap), but come on, in this day and age free wifi is free wifi. That was my only complaint.

Although i just remembered i tried to order Sri Lankan coffee, and they had no coffee, someone had to go and buy some, and 40minutes later I got my coffee....

It's a 3 out of 4, but i liked it so it gets 4 out of 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying the sumptuous food during dinner,the modern rooms with the latest facilities & amenities on offer. Your constructive observations regarding free-wifi is well noted. It is heartening that you consider the location as wonderful and also your assurance to stay with us on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Thank you for your patronage At Hotel Topaz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here as part of tour for 2 nights, after a couple of okish hotels that were 4 stars was not expecting this.

The hotel looks like it is being refurbished or has been.

The rooms were of decent size and well equipped. Choice of Air Con and Fan, although when trying to sleep we found the fan better than the air con.

The bar is of good size and serves a good choice of alcohol.

The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food and a live omelette bar which was cooked really well.

The staff were attentive although the gem shop seller got annoying with the same pitch when walking by his shop.

Overall a really good hotel that should really be 4 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your five-star review. We appreciate the sentiments expressed regarding your overall stay and are delighted that you had an unforgettable experience at Hotel Topaz .Your correct evaluation and judgement about us as a 4 star Hotel and recommending us to other travelers are encouraging. We hope to see you soon again on your next visit to Sri Lanka and thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews