We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #6 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Then I was at there restaurant somebody stole money and home door keys from my room, and the hostess says that it is impossible. Some other people stay in this hotel for last night says that part of their money was stolen too. At the other side: restaurant is good (breakfast and supper), nice view, silence at night, free WiFi at lobby.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mattew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Thank you for your compliments on our facilities and food.
Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment highlighting a loss of money in your room,firstly we want to remind you that we inform all our valuable guests verbally & written ''To make use of the user friendly safe deposit facility provided in all rooms'',still having your thought deeply concerned we honored your request to carry out an investigation by the police but unfortunately they couldn't complete the inquiry as you had left our premises already.
Whilst thanking for you patronage with us we hope to see you again on your next vacation to sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Nice hotel and just the job for an overnight stop. Lovely room but some short-cuts with the electrics in the bathroom were not so good. And stupid ceramic shower and shampoo jars which they kindly ask you not to take were easily broken. One of mine fell from the soap tray which was wobbly to begin with and of course broke all over the shower floor. I told reception about the accident and they actually wanted to charge me!!!!! I had a job convincing them it was their fault and not mine. Nice dinner and breakfast but not a patch on The Mermaid where we spent the better part of our holiday in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review of Hotel Topaz. We are glad that you liked the location and facilities and also had a great dining experience. Your constructive observations regarding few short falls in the wash room are well noted and will take remedial action where neccessary.We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the country. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas 2013 for 2 nights. The rooms are very plush and the food is good. Just a couple of health and safety issues, the hairdryer in the bathroom is wired into the back of a socket and there are no handrails on the marble stairs. I was one of three people who fell in 2 days

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review.We value your patronage during the past christmas season and very much glad that you had a comfortable stay at Hotel Topaz.We are extremely delighted and encouraged by your high estimation of the hotel rooms,food & facilities.we identified that the handrail which was on place should be replaced with a new one but our supplier failed to install it within that period due to x'mas holidays,we have everything in order now.Thank you for your patronage and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Topaz when you next visit Sri Lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I had stayed with my family during a tour of Sri Lanka. The booking here was a goof up by our travel agent as we were supposed to be booked in another hotel. Anyways, the hotel is good and the view from the hotel is excellent. The food was acceptable with limitation on room service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review of Hotel Topaz.We are happy that your family had a great stay with us enjoying the awesome view from your Deluxe Room experiencing our unique & True hospitality. We thank you for your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities and appreciate very much your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit to sri lanka.Thank you for your patronage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

topaz hotel was really fantastic place to stay the view of kandy was epic the rooms are plush + clean the staff + food were great.........................THE CURRY SOFT SHELL CRAB ....... MMMMM..........was out of this world........ hope to go back one day sometime next year maybe .looking out of the window feel like you are on top of the world mountains all around you your allmost in the clouds really happy with everthing about topaz when you vist kandy lake you may need a tuk tuk to take you back if you have had a little to much to drink ! but me and my wife can say it was one of the best hotels we stayed in THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF ! at topaz

Room Tip: 423 fantastic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank matdeb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
I would like to thank you for your glowing five star Wow.....review of your recent stay at Hotel Topaz.It’s nice to hear that you were thrilled during your stay at Hotel Topaz with all its latest facilities,amenities and services.Also i will pass your compliments to our Chef for inspiring and serving you a curry soft shell carab dish.Topaz has earned a reputation second to none for outstanding quality and service and every feature has been designed to enhance our guests 'an awesome experience' ,our unique location has been the most remarkable of all enabling an unforgettable memory for our patronizers making them fall in love with this gem stone at the peak point overlooking the mountains or the city with only 10 minutes drive from the city.So please don’t keep us as a secret. Tell all your family and friends about us.It is our pleasure to know that you are planning to return to Hotel Topaz Kandy next year.Once again Thank you for your warm review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was here for business, stayed one night but enjoyed it. Would stay there again probably...

The location is a bit out of town it seemed though, a drive up very steep hills. Didn't seem like walking distance into town. You'd need a car/driver or taxi.

Hotel seems old and dated when you first enter, but rooms were quite pleasant, modern, stylish. Whole room and bathroom was spotlessly clean, everything worked.

Dinner buffet seemed to be included in the room and was fine, nothing special though.

The one draw back of this hotel was the internet. There was free wifi in reception area, but not in the room, there you had to pay (although it was very cheap), but come on, in this day and age free wifi is free wifi. That was my only complaint.

Although i just remembered i tried to order Sri Lankan coffee, and they had no coffee, someone had to go and buy some, and 40minutes later I got my coffee....

It's a 3 out of 4, but i liked it so it gets 4 out of 4.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us enjoying the sumptuous food during dinner,the modern rooms with the latest facilities & amenities on offer. Your constructive observations regarding free-wifi is well noted. It is heartening that you consider the location as wonderful and also your assurance to stay with us on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Thank you for your patronage At Hotel Topaz.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here as part of tour for 2 nights, after a couple of okish hotels that were 4 stars was not expecting this.

The hotel looks like it is being refurbished or has been.

The rooms were of decent size and well equipped. Choice of Air Con and Fan, although when trying to sleep we found the fan better than the air con.

The bar is of good size and serves a good choice of alcohol.

The breakfast was very good with a good choice of food and a live omelette bar which was cooked really well.

The staff were attentive although the gem shop seller got annoying with the same pitch when walking by his shop.

Overall a really good hotel that should really be 4 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your five-star review. We appreciate the sentiments expressed regarding your overall stay and are delighted that you had an unforgettable experience at Hotel Topaz .Your correct evaluation and judgement about us as a 4 star Hotel and recommending us to other travelers are encouraging. We hope to see you soon again on your next visit to Sri Lanka and thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 56 in Kandy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing