We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best out of a mixed lot”
Review of Hotel Topaz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Topaz
Ranked #6 of 445 Kandy B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It seems that many hotels in Sri Lanka haven't been updated since the 70s or 80s presumably because of the impact of the civil way. This was one of the better ones that I stayed out with pleasant rooms and a delightful outlook over the hills and the town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your encouraging review of Hotel Topaz. We are delighted that you had an awesome experience relaxing in our superb atmosphere and consider our hotel as simply excellent. We appreciate your kind sentiments and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Fantastic location overlooking Kandy - a good 30 min walk into Kandy but around 300 ruppees by tuk-tuk.
It is clean but dilapidated in parts and caught up in an 80's timewarp regarding decor and food. The staff were lovely but there seemed to be a lack of any organisation in the place eg. battery flat in TV remote, battery flat in safe which seemed to take hours to rectify, staff not speaking any English in the restaurant, having to ask several times for tea/coffee at breakfast, an extensive wine list with most things on it not stocked.
Food very disappointing and basic.
Room was fine - clean and decor ok apart from areas of grey plaster that had not been painted and no room in the wardrobe to hang clothes.
The swimming pool was ok but most of the sunloungers were broken - get the picture?!
Put here by kuoni - not the sort of hotel you would expect them to use really.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiOfGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been upto your expectation, eventhough you have experienced some memorable moments with the location and our hospitality. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused with the observations mentioned,grey plastered walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combined with 4 main colours is our main theme,we have now started explaining to our valued customers about it,to prevent wrong assumptions,all other facts have being noted and correction measures are taking place.Thank you for your valued patronage at Hotel Topaz and we hope that this would not deter you from visiting us again when you are in Sri lanka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at hotel topaz as part of a discover sri lanka tour. Overall we thought it was ok, although some poor points. Food was quite reasonable. The rooms were generally ok, although all in our party were on the 2nd floor and all rooms had unfinished plasterwork in the bedroom and bathroom. We couldn't decide if this was some new style of decoration or it just hadn't been finished ! The cleanliness of the hotel seemed fine, although some of the staff uniforms seemed a bit tatty. There is an in-house jeweller shop, the guy is quite persistent in trying to talk people into looking at the goods for sale which became quite annoying every time we needed to walk to or from reception.wifi is free in the reception area and works quite well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for reviewing about your stay at Hotel Topaz, and we are pleased to note that you have been happy with the food we had on offer and have enjoyed your meal with us.The rooms you stayed in were totally renovated and 100% completed rooms and definitely the grey walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combination with 4 main colours is the common interior used in SL.
Your comments have been well noted and we have warned the party concerned, and changes will be made wherever necessary and possible.
We do look forward to another visit from you sometime soon, and ensure that next time around your experience with us will be unique and memorable in every aspect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On arived made to feel very welcome. The staff were excellent and attentive. As for our room we had the most fantastic view and definately not outdated. My partner does not eat spicy food and that was a concern for us, however that was certainly not an issue at the Topaz. Would I stay here again the answer certainly, we enjoyed ever aspect of our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m44lk_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Hotel Topaz,with a five star rating. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and loved our location with a unique atmosphere.Your kind review will assist other travelers to find the right place to spend their stay in Kandy. We do believe in your promise that you will stay with us during your next visit to Sri Lanka to experience yet again our true hospitality. We value your patronage & recommendation on this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Not least as we had booked the tourmaline ( the sister hotel) but ended up here...and wish we hadn't. The hotel is outdated and although the rooms were reasonably clean the rest of the hotel wasn't. The rooms are not plush, we were supposedly given an upgrade to a suite on the 4th floor because of the issue withe the booking at the tourmaline but it looked like any other hotel and similar to other rooms we saw when we walked past.
We didn't fancy dinner there so can't comment but breakfast wasn't great. Mostly the staples you find at similar hotels of this kind but it all looked a bit tatty. Also we saw one of the chefs drop some of the string hoppers on the table then pick them up with his hand and toss them back in the hot plate.
The staff were pleasant and certainly tried hard but never quite got it right, ordering a paying for drinks at the bar was a painful experience.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel which is overpriced for what it is. The only good thing is the view.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you had recently at Hotel Topaz.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have personally discussed your case at length with our team members,Please be assured that we are taking the necessary corrective action to ensure that such incidents are not repeated,We hope that there will be an opportunity to deliver a better experience to you in the future. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Then I was at there restaurant somebody stole money and home door keys from my room, and the hostess says that it is impossible. Some other people stay in this hotel for last night says that part of their money was stolen too. At the other side: restaurant is good (breakfast and supper), nice view, silence at night, free WiFi at lobby.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mattew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying at Hotel Topaz. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Thank you for your compliments on our facilities and food.
Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment highlighting a loss of money in your room,firstly we want to remind you that we inform all our valuable guests verbally & written ''To make use of the user friendly safe deposit facility provided in all rooms'',still having your thought deeply concerned we honored your request to carry out an investigation by the police but unfortunately they couldn't complete the inquiry as you had left our premises already.
Whilst thanking for you patronage with us we hope to see you again on your next vacation to sri lanka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Nice hotel and just the job for an overnight stop. Lovely room but some short-cuts with the electrics in the bathroom were not so good. And stupid ceramic shower and shampoo jars which they kindly ask you not to take were easily broken. One of mine fell from the soap tray which was wobbly to begin with and of course broke all over the shower floor. I told reception about the accident and they actually wanted to charge me!!!!! I had a job convincing them it was their fault and not mine. Nice dinner and breakfast but not a patch on The Mermaid where we spent the better part of our holiday in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review of Hotel Topaz. We are glad that you liked the location and facilities and also had a great dining experience. Your constructive observations regarding few short falls in the wash room are well noted and will take remedial action where neccessary.We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the country. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
1.1 mi away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kandy
813 reviews
1.2 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
1.4 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#12 of 56 in Kandy
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 56 in Kandy
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourmaline Hotel
Tourmaline Hotel
#22 of 56 in Kandy
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topaz

Address: Anniewatte, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Kandy
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topaz 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topaz was built in 1976 and fashioned after a much loved gem stone found in Sri Lanka. Considering its situation in the hill capital of Kandy, the last royal stronghold in the country, Hotel Topaz is considered the jewel in the crown of Kandy.Nestled amidst lush tropical greenery, surrounded by the distinctive Knuckles Mountain range and Bible Rock, enveloped in the cool winds blowing through the mountains, Hotel Topaz offers something for everyone.The short distance away from the city centre itself, lends the hotel and its guests maximum accessibility no matter what the choice of activity is. However Hotel Topaz offers guests a tranquil setting and the option of exploring the city’s rich heritage in style and comfort.The warm and personal service serves to truly bring out the widely famed Sri Lankan hospitality. Guests at Hotel Topaz are made to feel at home, and explore the surrounding gardens or have a cocktail or high-tea on our famous rooftop terrace with its 360 degree view of the city and its hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing