We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Topaz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Rosa(Kandy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
175
377
158
54
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
377
158
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightgem shopsister hotelsri lankarecommend this hotelhill topgreat viewhotel is locatedrestaurant staffbuffet stylelovely hotelthird floorkandy citybuffet dinnershort stayour honeymoonstayed here for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Lovely welcome at this hotel. Room was fine with an amazing view, it was clean and spacious with modern decor(unfinished NO!!!!! Modern). Our safe wouldn't open, it was sorted within 2 mins. The bar staff and restaurant staff were quick, kind and courteous .
14th Feb, food was fabulous, however the barbecue on the roof the next night didn't quite work, the chefs struggled to keep the fires alight, this made it a little noisy and fumey.
Overall a good stay without the barbecue.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank JOJO_1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate very much the sentiments expressed regarding our staff and how pleasant your stays have been at Hotel Topaz. We are happy that you indulged in our facilities, enjoying great hospitality and had a great time. We do hope you will visit us again on your next visit to the country. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It seems that many hotels in Sri Lanka haven't been updated since the 70s or 80s presumably because of the impact of the civil way. This was one of the better ones that I stayed out with pleasant rooms and a delightful outlook over the hills and the town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your encouraging review of Hotel Topaz. We are delighted that you had an awesome experience relaxing in our superb atmosphere and consider our hotel as simply excellent. We appreciate your kind sentiments and look forward to welcoming you again soon. We value your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Fantastic location overlooking Kandy - a good 30 min walk into Kandy but around 300 ruppees by tuk-tuk.
It is clean but dilapidated in parts and caught up in an 80's timewarp regarding decor and food. The staff were lovely but there seemed to be a lack of any organisation in the place eg. battery flat in TV remote, battery flat in safe which seemed to take hours to rectify, staff not speaking any English in the restaurant, having to ask several times for tea/coffee at breakfast, an extensive wine list with most things on it not stocked.
Food very disappointing and basic.
Room was fine - clean and decor ok apart from areas of grey plaster that had not been painted and no room in the wardrobe to hang clothes.
The swimming pool was ok but most of the sunloungers were broken - get the picture?!
Put here by kuoni - not the sort of hotel you would expect them to use really.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiOfGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are concerned to note from your review that your stay with us has not been upto your expectation, eventhough you have experienced some memorable moments with the location and our hospitality. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused with the observations mentioned,grey plastered walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combined with 4 main colours is our main theme,we have now started explaining to our valued customers about it,to prevent wrong assumptions,all other facts have being noted and correction measures are taking place.Thank you for your valued patronage at Hotel Topaz and we hope that this would not deter you from visiting us again when you are in Sri lanka next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We spent 3 nights at hotel topaz as part of a discover sri lanka tour. Overall we thought it was ok, although some poor points. Food was quite reasonable. The rooms were generally ok, although all in our party were on the 2nd floor and all rooms had unfinished plasterwork in the bedroom and bathroom. We couldn't decide if this was some new style of decoration or it just hadn't been finished ! The cleanliness of the hotel seemed fine, although some of the staff uniforms seemed a bit tatty. There is an in-house jeweller shop, the guy is quite persistent in trying to talk people into looking at the goods for sale which became quite annoying every time we needed to walk to or from reception.wifi is free in the reception area and works quite well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for reviewing about your stay at Hotel Topaz, and we are pleased to note that you have been happy with the food we had on offer and have enjoyed your meal with us.The rooms you stayed in were totally renovated and 100% completed rooms and definitely the grey walls in other term ''Titanium finish'' combination with 4 main colours is the common interior used in SL.
Your comments have been well noted and we have warned the party concerned, and changes will be made wherever necessary and possible.
We do look forward to another visit from you sometime soon, and ensure that next time around your experience with us will be unique and memorable in every aspect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On arived made to feel very welcome. The staff were excellent and attentive. As for our room we had the most fantastic view and definately not outdated. My partner does not eat spicy food and that was a concern for us, however that was certainly not an issue at the Topaz. Would I stay here again the answer certainly, we enjoyed ever aspect of our stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m44lk_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Topaz, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Hotel Topaz,with a five star rating. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and loved our location with a unique atmosphere.Your kind review will assist other travelers to find the right place to spend their stay in Kandy. We do believe in your promise that you will stay with us during your next visit to Sri Lanka to experience yet again our true hospitality. We value your patronage & recommendation on this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews