We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth trying”
Review of Queens Hotel Kandy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Hotel Kandy
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Worth trying”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The fact that it is a historic building made this hotel has it own charm. The room rate is not cheap per Sri Lanka standard and also not compatible with the room condition/services that you would expect with that rate, but still, worth to try this hotel. Though, the hotel staffs speak good english.

Pro: Free wifi but only at lobby area. Room is clean though a bit run down. Location is superb, right in city center and all shopping area and pizza hut/KFC either right opposite or walking distance. The Buddha tooth relic temple & Kandy lake are right opposite too. There is a swimming pool in the hotel, good size to dip in.
Con: As mentioned by other review, most probably you will wake up at 5am, due to the ceremony in the temple, also by the traffic noise. You may avoid if you go for room opposite those facing roadside, but you don't get the view then.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room if you hate the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    383
    329
    120
    92
See reviews for
263
384
102
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

In March myself and my Father were fortunate to stay at the Queen's Hotel in Kandy. From the moment staff took my car away to park it, until the moment it was brought back to the front door, we were treated with such incredible professionalism, friendliness and personal service that we both vowed to retrun and to spread the good word about the Hotel. Mr Pubudu, the Front Office Manager was personally on hand to offer help and assistance, as were his colleagues the Restaurant Manager, Executive Chef and our Waiters, both in the Restaurant and in the Bar. It was a wonderful stay and a big thanks goes to the General Manager (unfortunately we did not get to meet him due to other commitments) for organising the suite looking over the Temple of the Tooth Relic. A fantastic stay, but just too brief. I for one shall be back as soon as I can possibly arrange it. I defintiely recommend a stay in the historic and atmospheric Queen's Hotel, Kandy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColomboLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights and loved the atmosphere. Were woken up at 5.30 each morning by drumming and chanting from the temple but got used to it.
Beautiful room with lots of flowers and towels folded into swans. Lovely staff. Good old colonial bar with good service. Lovely swimming pool in the small garden at the back.
Breakfast was dire and we had one meal by the pool which was just about ok, but you are right in the centre of town so no problem to find alternatives.

Room Tip: If you do not want traffic and drumming ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

On the first night we found (very large) cockroaches in our room and we asked to be moved. On the second night, we  were bitten by bed bugs (yes, bed bugs, we examined the mattress and found them). This was followed by breakfast where we saw half a dozen cockroaches crawl around the breakfast buffet.

We cancelled our remaining time immediately and found somewhere hygienic to stay.

I don't think there is any point in commenting on the facilities, location, staff etc. This hotel is not fit for human habitation and, if it were in the UK, would be closed down.

I would not kennel my dog in this hotel.

Stay away.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dlc36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kandy hotels

London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Faded, and a bit scruffy, but lots of atmosphere and right in the centre of town. We stayed four nights and grew quite fond of the place by the end. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

You can't beat the location of the Queens Hotel. Great spot to explore Kandy and stayed here for one night prior to taking the train to Ella. 85 USD for a double inc breakfast was good and althought the place could do with a lick of paint its worth staying if you're in Kandy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucksBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It's true, the location can't be beat close to the Temple of the Sacred Tooth but that means you are in the main traffic thoroughfare with lots of honking at all hours. In addition, the monks start chanting at 5am at the temple which broke us from our slumber. To get to our room, we had to go up the main staircase, down a hallway, up another staircase, another hallway, and up ANOTHER staircase so quite the hike. Lots of tour bus groups checked in. The bar had appallingly poor/slow service although the front desk staff are helpful. Good wifi connection only in the lobby. We found paint plaster crumbling in our bathroom and the shower was in a weird angle from the window so you had to do some acrobatics in order not to be seen from the outside. Historical hotels can be charming; this one was just plain outdated,tired, and old. We checked out early and found another hotel the second night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kandy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#14 of 55 in Kandy
1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
0.2 mi away
Kandy City Hotel
Kandy City Hotel
#23 of 55 in Kandy
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casamara
Hotel Casamara
#42 of 55 in Kandy
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#3 of 55 in Kandy
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel Kandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel Kandy

Property: Queens Hotel Kandy
Address: No. 4 Dalada Veediya | No. 4 Dalada Veediya, Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Kandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Kandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel Kandy 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO QUEEN'S HOTEL One of Sri Lanka's iconic historic hotels, Queen's Hotel, situated in the heart of Kandy, faces the beautiful splendid surroundings alongside the Kandy Lake. With a history of over 160 years The Queen's Hotel is a 90 room British Colonial style luxury hotel. This former Governor's residence is one of the oldest hotels in Sri Lanka which is managed by the Ceylon Hotels Corporation. What's momentous about Queen's Hotel is that it is situated in Kandy, where the world prominent "Temple of the Tooth Relic of Lord Buddha" is. Every country has its pageants and festivals and so does Kandy which has the world famous "Kandy Esala Perahera Pageant" which is held annually. This pageant proceeds along side the Queen's Hotel's East & West wings, providing the most magnificent viewing facilities for the guests who patronize the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Hotel Kandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing