We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Queens Hotel Kandy
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$96
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
US$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
146
414
380
141
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
414
380
141
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage hotelwooden floorskandy lakebygone eraold colonialtooth relicthe location is perfectview of the lakecentre of townbuffet dinnertuk tukdaladabuddhist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
647 - 652 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My wife and I stayed over for two nights at this hotel, I have been to Kandy many times and we have always wanted to stay in this Hotel so this holiday we thought we will do it.
Booking in was straight forward, very pleasant staff. Shown to our room.
The rooms are small and very basic, I was expecting more to be truthful.
Had a look around and the hotel looks very tired, it could do with a bit of a smack to wake it up.
Breakfast was ok, plenty on offer and good service.
It is still a lovely hotel but I don't think it was value for money, expected more.

Room Tip: Remember, your door does not lock when you close it to go out, you have to lock it yourself.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here and enjoyed the charm of this very olf hotel. The sleeping rooms are small but the historic nature (150+ years old) of the hotel made it worthwhile. Has a large resturant and bar. There are many shops just outside the hotel and the lark is across the street for a scenic walk. We found the staff helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool rather than the street for a quiet night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed at the queens hotel for 2 nights and had made a booking in advance from our previous guesthouse on the telephone. When we arrived, they had not made the booking which although a minor inconvenience was no big deal. We were the asked to pay upfront which was a little strange and slightly insulting, given we had provided our passport details and had supposedly made a reservation.

The hotel itself is a lovely old colonial building and had a great charm. The lobby was clean and welcoming and had a lovely old staircase. The rooms were very clean with a tv and bathroom with great shower and hot water. The only downside was the noise from the main road. All the rooms at the front faced the road and noise is a big issue. It was very heavy traffic from dawn till dusk, constant beeping of horns, lorries overtaking etc. it became an issue when trying to sleep and also made the balcony virtually unusable during the day. We were also woken by the Buddhist prayer chanting call at dawn but can't really blame the hotel for that.

The rest of the hotel is very clean and what you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Nice bar area outside pool, which we didn't use, with lovely seating area surrounding.

Breakfast was outstanding with a selection of continental and Sri Lankan dishes and a full cooked breakfast plus fish curry etc, all served with tea coffee and orange juice and a beautiful fruit display and omelet station. Wonderful.

Staff were very friendly as you would expect.

All in all, a great stay, just a shame about the booking issue and the noise at the front. If at all possible, ask for the rooms at the rear.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms at the front which overlook the road. Constant traffic noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbrudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel.
This is a very nice colonial building, very good located, just in front of the tooth temple.
Nice swimming pool. Sympathetic stuff.

Only problem was the room. Windows can't be completely closed and as it is really in the center, in the morning after 8am it was really noisy.
Also the bathroom need some reparation.

There is wi-fi only in the lobby. I know that is not to complicated or expensive to put a router in the restaurant or the pool area or at the floor with rooms.

I don't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I stayed at the Queens Hotel in the recent T20 World Cup. If you are aware of the type of hotel, you will have a great time. The hotel is an old colonial hotel, going back to Victorian times. It is steeped in history and is brimful of character and times gone by. However, it is obviously not a brand new hotel.

The rooms are somewhat spartan although all your basic needs are there. Note that Wi-fi can only be obtained in the hotel lobby.

Personally, I found that any loss of modern amenity was more than compensated by the character of the hotel. The hotel bar is old and traditional, but seems to attract and eclectic mix of people which meant I’d a couple of excellent nights in here. If you enjoy the creak of the wooden floorboards, inspecting old time photographs and generally embracing the old-world charm, you’ll enjoy here.

I found the breakfast ( included in the rate ) as very good with a wide selection of Western and local dishes. The staff were always friendly and pleasant. For location, next to Kandy Lake, it is hard to surpass.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensburgh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews